5 tea-time conversation pieces for my Nana

6 Apr

Last month my Nana very sadly passed away. She was many things: feisty, fun, smart, kind, caring, cunning, devoted, imaginative, the inventor of a game called ‘sleeping lions’. But whatever she was doing, watching football, playing scrabble or just having a good old natter, she was never far from a sweet cup of tea. Tea so milky and sugary it was more like a cup of caramel. So, these conversation pieces are for you Nana, I think you would have liked them. I know I will always think of you whenever I make a cup of tea, sweet or otherwise. Thank you for being you x

1. It’s Nice to be Nice

From Reap What I Sew comes this handprinted silkscreen print with not only a tea-theme but a sentiment that Nana would have approved of… it’s nice to be nice.

nice to be nice

2. Dunk Mug

I think Nana would have liked this mug, even if the handy place to stash your biscuits does sacrifice some of the tea space. It’s perfect for holding a Rich Tea or two. Designed by Dominic Skinner and available at Not On The High Street.

dunk mug from not on the high street

3. Ever So Sweet Cup Cakes

Nana liked sweet things (she was an especially big fan of tablet) so she would have liked these cupcakes by Ever So Sweet. A bespoke cupcakery created by Juliet Tweedie, Ever So Sweet uses only organic, free range and fair trade ingredients so their homemade cupcakes not only look lovely, but are better for you too!

Ever So Sweet cupcakesever so sweet cupcakes 2

4. A Twee Tea Cosy

Now, Nana had a lot of teapots – some standard issue, some shaped like cats or houses – but one of the important things when making a big pot of tea is keeping it cosy. However, most tea cosies are cute but not exactly elegant. So, this little beauty from Knittage caught my eye and I think Nana would have liked it too.

tea cosy

5. A Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Down

I first came across this book (and later website) after I picked it up for £1 at a teddy tumbola (not as fun as it sounds). This great little book has everything you’ll ever need to know about tea’s best friend, the biscuit. Is the Jaffa Cake a cake or a biscuit? Have Wagon Wheels really got smaller or did you just got bigger? Perfect for whiling away the afternoon, discussing the merits of Jammy Dodgers, Boasters and those pink wafer things that no-one ever liked. (They were always the last to go in Nana’s biscuit tin.)

cup of tea

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

5 Responses to “5 tea-time conversation pieces for my Nana”

  1. Pete 07/04/2008 at 7:39 AM #

    I always liked the pink wafer biscuits, myself

    very nice tribute with a ‘t’ 🙂

  2. lou 07/04/2008 at 1:22 PM #

    Zoe, Great post – very Nana. You should email it to Papa as he’s now on the interweb!

  3. Helen 29/04/2008 at 12:36 PM #

    Excellent! Brings back loads of memories. My nana died on the 20th April, and we’ve been making all those awful decisions about what to do with her belongings. Made me cry rather a lot.

    Thank you for featuring my tea cosy; I HAD in fact made one for my nana, but was never able to deliver it, as I had only finished it on 17th.

  4. Lucy 07/06/2009 at 3:26 PM #

    Hey I think your site is most cool. completely cool infact and this dedication to your Nana is very similar to my end of year show when I was at uni. I studied illustration with animation – altho my final project was an installation. Warmth and comfort with a furry tea set, furry table, furry chairs, furry light -you get the picture. I think you would have been one of those odd people that appreciated it. anyway just thought i’d leave this to say loving your work and pink wafers were always my grans biscuit of choice for elevenses.
    p.s Bill Withers Song ‘Grandma’s Hands’ always make me think of my Gran x

    • Conversation Pieces 08/06/2009 at 11:49 AM #

      Lucy, your final project sounds fab… would have loved to have seen it. I don’t know that song so will need to go and check it out.

Leave a little love...

