My vintage metal ice cream sign

22 Jul

Ok, so a wee while ago I said I was going to start posting up some of my thrifty finds – and so far I have spectacularly failed to put up anything other than my pineapple ice bucket. So here (better late than never) is another random discovery that’s just kicking about my flat: a vintage 1970s Lyons Maid ice cream sign.

Now originally I was searching for one that was in near perfect nick, but as you’ll see from the pic, I fell in love with one that’s not only slightly bent and rusty, it’s also had some lame-o try to spruce it up with a lick of bog-standard paint. But bizarrely that’s one of the things I like most about it. At one point we did consider trying to restore it but I think it would lose some of its charm. Let me know what you think.

3 Responses to “My vintage metal ice cream sign”

  1. danny morgan 24/02/2009 at 10:33 PM #

    hi, ive just bought an old shop and have 4 of these signs and just wondered if any one knew anything about them? colectors item? value etc. thanks dan

  2. Conversation Pieces 25/02/2009 at 11:19 AM #

    Hi Danny. Lucky you! Not sure if they’re collector’s items but when I was looking for one they were hard to come by. As for value, in the first instance, I would do a search on ebay for similar sold items and that will give you an idea of what they’re worth. Hope that helps! Z.

  3. Luciloo 15/11/2010 at 2:55 AM #

    Hi, I am looking for one of these signs. My father in law worked for Lyons Maid for many years. I want to buy one for my mother in law who misses him greatly since he passed away 10 years ago and I thought it would be a lovely gift. Do you know where I could get one from?

Leave a little love...

