Things I see everyday in Auld Reekie…

18 Feb

This Edinburgh skyline by Emily Hogarth makes me smile. I’ve lived in Edinburgh since 2002 but it’s only recently that I’ve really started to appreciate its skyline (might have something to do with the fact that I’ve gone from living in a ground floor flat to a top floor with a view!) Anyway, I love how pretty the city looks in Emily’s design – but most of all I’m loving the Highland moos, thistles and stag.

recordofworkdec08017

I met Emily just before Christmas at an exhibition in Leith. Among the many pretty things she was selling was a beautiful papercut ‘Caledonia’s Calling Me’ version of Edinburgh. I was sorely tempted to buy it but then she threw me by saying she did commissions. So since I’ve been racking my brains (that’s such a horrible expression) trying to think of something suitable… Haven’t thought of it yet but will let you know if I ever do!

4 Responses to “Things I see everyday in Auld Reekie…”

  1. Caroline 18/02/2009 at 8:32 PM #

    a lovely skyline 😀
    have you seen rob ryan’s work?
    xx

    • Conversation Pieces 18/02/2009 at 9:13 PM #

      Hi Caroline. Yes, I’m a big fan of his work! Especially the ‘you were in my head’ print and ‘can we shall we one day soon’ one – even if that ones does make me want to ditch work for the day! 😉

    • Conversation Pieces 18/02/2009 at 9:16 PM #

      Oooh, just realised you’re Caroline Dulko… one of my posts ‘in waiting’ is on your Bright Orange City tea towel I saw on Etsy. Loving your work as they say 😉

  2. Caroline Dulko 26/02/2009 at 2:06 PM #

    Oh thank you so much! 🙂
    yes his work is brilliant 🙂 i do work experience for him so i get to see plenty of lovely stuff 😀
    you should check out his shop in colombia road, london!
    x

Leave a little love...

