Love, peace and wallpaper

6 Apr

In the history of our rather long relationship, me and the other half have found we disagree on very few things (partly I suspect because he lets me have my own way more than he should). So we were both somewhat surprised to discover the one thing we couldn’t seem to agree on… wallpaper for our bedroom!

It’s the room in the flat with the least light so I wanted something that would brighten the room up and be quite relaxing. The other half was favouring more impactful stuff which I feared we (meaning me really) would get tired of too soon.

My three choices were as follows (I would show you the other half’s ones too but he’s forgotten what they were!)

1. Saplings wallpaper from MissPrint

saplings_yellow

2. Dotty Ferm wallpaper from 95% Danish

wallpaperdottyrollco

3. Primrose Hill Sherbet from Designer’s Guild (saw this in a magazine and it look really good with dark furniture and splashes of yellow)

wallpaper-primrose-hill-sherbet-print

So we were at an impasse until I was having a look at the before and after pics on the Living Etc forum (currently another obsession of mine) and I stumbled across gemma78’s bedroom makeover with lovely red Orla Kiely wallpaper. Now I have to say I wouldn’t have considered it had I seen the wallpaper not insitu but gemma78’s pics looked so great that I took a visit to Orla Kiely’s website. And there I found the following wallpaper…

hwmstp-500-multi

And the other half likes it too. So looks like we have a winner! 🙂

For those who were curious about the wallpaper we had before (left over from the previous owner) here is as a wee comparison… (I eventually came to see Mexican style Day of Dead skulls in this print!!)

gavins-wallpaper

3 Responses to “Love, peace and wallpaper”

  1. MG 06/04/2009 at 9:13 PM #

    Love the saplings and love your blog, have added you to my blog too which I am just setting up.

  2. Conversation Pieces 06/04/2009 at 9:38 PM #

    Aww shucks, thanks. Look forward to seeing your blog when it’s all set up. Yeah the saplings is lovely but in the interests of domestic harmony I think OK might win. That said I’m sure I could talk him round!

  3. Becky 08/04/2009 at 8:34 PM #

    Sweet! All the same, I will miss the Day of the Dead skulls…but the new choice is a guid ‘un!

Leave a little love...

