Confessions of a magazine addict

20 Apr

Here’s a confession. I’m totally and utterly addicted to magazines. About a year ago I was subscribed to: Elle Decoration, Living Etc, Marie Claire, New Woman and Glamour – and I would still buy more magazines on top of that.

I think my addiction has two roots causes. One I am an ardent reader and always have been. I read everything from literaure to the back of the cereal boxes (a byproduct of being a copywriter is that I’m obsessed with packaging!). And magazines give me that quick inbetween fix… I can read a magazine while watching TV, eating my dinner and chatting to the other half all at once. I have tried doing this with a novel but it gets a bit messy in many respects.

The second reason – and this is the one that I think is most ingrained – is that my mother bought me magazines when I was little as a treat. As she was an 80s aerobics teacher, I wasn’t allowed sweets, crisps or fizzy drinks. (Looking back it might explain why I was a pretty healthy kid.) Instead I was allowed a magazine every now and then – usually Twinkle in the early days.

410983765_3b3c67ed9c

I dread to think how many magazines I have bought since then. And with the new flat budget, I’m trying to be thriftier and save more money – so I’m trying to cut back. Not on Elle Decoration and Living Etc (they are currently important reference materials!) but on Heat, Grazia etc which I read in about 5 minutes anyway. (They’re a bit like the takeaways of the magazine world – fun at the time but you feel a bit sick as soon as you’ve finished.)

To help me in my aim, I have two allies – the free magazines at work (Creative Review etc) and online magazines. If I haven’t mentioned it before – I love NEET.

neet_magazine-1

It started off in December 2005 and I’ve not missed an issue since. It really is a great UK-based magazine that helps profile the talents of lots of creative and crafty people. The only downside is that it may be free but it will make you want to buy things!

I’ve also just discovered (thanks to Decor 8 again) ANTLER magazine. They are “an online magazine which focuses on composing a collection of beautiful, inspiring ideas and designs from all aspects of life.” They’re only on their second issue but so far so good. 

0001-cover2

So if you know of any other fab online mags please let me know – it’ll help me stay away from the evils of Heat, Grazia, Glamour etc!


7 Responses to “Confessions of a magazine addict”

  1. Lynne, Tea for Joy 20/04/2009 at 7:37 PM #

    I have too many mags. I get Living Etc, Time Out, Elle Decoration and now I’ve started Easy Living (which isn’t quite my thing but the design stuff is good.) And I get the Times delivered on a Sat which is brilliant. But now I have decided I can justify them in the name of blog research!

  2. Conversation Pieces 20/04/2009 at 8:00 PM #

    I’m liking that justification 😉

    I’ve also recently bought a few Easy Livings as it does have pretty home pages – does make you want to have a mad spending spree in Heals though!

  3. made-good 21/04/2009 at 7:48 PM #

    Great links to the online magazines… have book marked them. !

  4. Patchwork Harmony 29/04/2009 at 3:38 PM #

    omg, it is like looking in a mirror! I am exactly the same, and my magazine habit is getting out of control! At the min i subscribe to Living Etc, Homes & Antiques, Elle Decoration, Marie Claire & Glamour, and then also buy numerous homes magazines throughout the month….. I never feel like I have enough time to read them all, and it panics me a bit! :))) tee hee!

  5. Conversation Pieces 29/04/2009 at 6:57 PM #

    Patchwork Harmony, you are a girl after my own heart! I’ve been trying to avoid buying Homes & Antiques… I’ve picked it up some many times in the local newsagents but have so far resisted!

  6. kerry (the seventy tree) 10/05/2009 at 5:20 PM #

    I’m the same….it all started with my ‘Twinkle’ subscription! Memories!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. momblogs - 20/04/2009

    Mom Blogs – Blogs for Moms…

Leave a little love...

