Friday I’m in love… with necklaces

1 May

So it’s come to this… I have too many necklaces. I have two of the Ikea trees (in yellow of course) laden with pendants, chains and lockets, I have boxes of pretty perspex things stuffed in drawers and random strings of beads tucked away in my dressing table. I’ve now decided (rather reluctantly it must be said) that I should really do a clear-out of things I never wear.

But having too many necklaces doesn’t stop me coveting more. (It’s kind of like shoes… there’s always more to be had.) So despite having more things to wear round my neck than there are days in the year, these are a few of the lovelies I’ve been admiring (and in some cases buying!) on Etsy…

1. Etc Etc Etc necklace from Stylesmith

Bought this vintage pendant a wee while back and I love it. It feels like it’s the antithesis to the ‘name’ necklaces while actually being pretty similar to them at the same time. I also get the song Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps stuck in my mind when I have it on too.

il_430xn572819001il_430xn57281900

2. NestEgg Necklace from allthosethrees

This is one of those necklaces that I bought to wear to work. I guess for most people this maybe doesn’t look like a ‘work’ necklace but in my line of business I can get away with wearing things a little bit unusual. I quite like this one as it seems quite grown-up in one way and quite childish in another.

It’s also hand crafted in London, and made from “an organic surface (vegan!) layer by layer with 100% recycled fine silver”. The only downside is that the pearl bit is very playable with – so I have a horrible feeling I’m going to break it at some point!

il_430xn59057670il_430xn47317873

3. ‘Darling You Are Boring Me’ Necklace from Hoolala

Now this necklace from London-based Hoolala is more my usual style – pretty with a wee bit of an edge. I have a similar-ish necklace and the only problem is that people want to try the ring bit on… while you’re still wearing the necklace!

il_430xn52093101

4. Branch Necklace from PetitOiseau

This a necklace I never bought – it sold out last June and I’m still wishing I’d got it. (It is the reason behind the search for the perfect yellow necklace.) I have no idea why I didn’t buy this – just procrastnation I guess. But I wish I had. PetitOiseau does do lots of other lovely necklaces and things “made with the good stuff, like genuine, vintage Bakelite from the 1950s and earlier.” But it was the yellow one that stole my heart. (This is why I end up with too many necklaces – because I’m consumed by regret if they sell out. Odd I know!)

il_430xn23331325il_430xn62823810

5. Love Letter Necklace from ThisCharmingGirl

Can’t decide which I love more – the necklace or the seller’s name. Think it might be a tie. I’m so about to put on some Smiths once I’ve finished this 😉

il_fullxfull634424421

6. The Keeper and Mama’s Purse from Opulent Oddities

Opulent Oddities is exactly what you get from Jordan’s shop. I can never quite figure out where I would wear them to – but I love the inventiveness that’s gone into each one (they all have a little backstory she’s created for them) so it’s like a mini museum you’re wearing. According to her Etsy homepage, it says she’s back in hospital at the moment – so best wishes and I hope you get better soon.

il_430xn51115810il_430xn31655685

5 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with necklaces”

  1. Meg 01/05/2009 at 8:26 AM #

    Oooh – thanks for the inspiration. I am a necklace addict as well and my favourite one broke yesterday which was a great tragedy. It’s not repairable but I haven’t quite got the heart to throw it away so it is sitting on my desk in a folorn little heap of beads. I wear it most days so a replacement (or two!) is most definitely needed. I love all of these, especially the one by Hoolala, but I feel your pain at not bagging the yellow one – it’s gorgeous!

    • Conversation Pieces 01/05/2009 at 5:58 PM #

      Oh that’s sad about your necklace – I hate when something breaks and it can’t be fixed. Can you not make it into a new necklace? Or is it really dead dead?

  2. cRY 01/05/2009 at 7:22 PM #

    I collect old vintage jewelry boxes and have so many that all they are doing is sitting so I have been re-furbishing them and giving them to all the special ladies in my life. I should send you a yellow one i have for your necklaces. Maybe you can give the necklaces you go thru to your special ladies too.
    I love the Darling You Are Boring Me’ Necklace and the envelope one, I think I am going to buy my daughter that one someday. I liked the ones with the old pocketwatch and such but it just seemed to big to wear. i love vintage!
    look on etsy and e bay and you might find that yellow necklace you wish you would have purchased. have a great weekend!

  3. Fee 24/08/2009 at 1:41 PM #

    Havent been on your blog for awhile. due to me changing pc’s….but now im back reading! I remembered just how inspiring your blog is.
    I love it. Your very talented.
    🙂

    Fee x

  4. flashy Mc loop 03/12/2009 at 3:31 PM #

    I have been searching for sites related to this. Glad I found you. Thanks

Leave a little love...

