There’s no place like home

2 May

So I’ve just spent the day wandering about in the sunshine and rummaging through stuff at the Funk Fair – which was indeed very funky and saw me part with all of my spending money (and most of the other half’s too). But I’ll leave the sharing of those finds for another day – as today, following on from my earlier post, I’m going to show you my current favourite bits of my home…

1. The view
I’ve mentioned this before but we used to live in a ground floor flat in a not so great area which pretty much meant we had the blinds down all the time – so we’re constantly still amazed by having a view at all… let alone the view we have now.

castle

p1010477

glassroof

2. The period features
The previous owner of this flat did not modernise a single thing in this place. Which might a lot of work for us but also means we have struck gold in having an original working doorbell (it always makes me think of ye olde shops when it rings!), beautiful cornicing and keys for every single door (we’ve left on the labels as we kind of like them).

doorbell

cornicing

p1010479

3. My dressing table
I got this dressing table for free from a woman who didn’t want it any more! After spending months living out of boxes and knowing where nothing is, it’s so nice to sit here and get ready in the morning – and I get a great view of the new wallpaper!

dressingtable3

4. Our bed
It’s yellow for a start, it’s comfy and I love our pillow covers from Lush Designs.

pillows3

(And below is the obligatory pet shot you always get in home photo shoots!)

cat

5. The other half
Well without being too sappy… home is where the heart is so as great as this place is, it wouldn’t be the same without him. (Also for anyone who’s seen our ‘before’ pic, you’ll notice the green is well and truly gone now!)

otherhalf2

P.S. You’ll notice that in the true spirit of being anti-Elle Decoration for one day I’ve just taken a pic of the living room as it is, clutter and all… so you may spot a glimpse of some of today’s finds scattered about the floor and a few of my current projects!

P.S.S. Hope you’re all having a fab May Day Holiday weekend xx

9 Responses to “There’s no place like home”

  1. Laura 02/05/2009 at 6:35 PM #

    Although it seems like you don’t like showing the “inbetween” stages I think it looks great! Looks like your making great progress full of all different goodies! I love that inset bookcase, something I only dream of. Love your little cat too!

    • Conversation Pieces 04/05/2009 at 10:11 AM #

      Thanks Laura. Yeah I think we’re actually making more progress than we realise – guess when you’re living in a place at the same time as doing it up, you just get so impatient! I love the bookcase too – it’s called an Edinburgh Press here – the other half had never heard of that before we bought this place – so he had no idea what the estate agent was going on about when he was saying it was a great feature 😉

  2. melafrique 02/05/2009 at 9:57 PM #

    oh that OK wallpaper looks beautiful. Loving it again.

    • Conversation Pieces 04/05/2009 at 10:14 AM #

      Thanks melafrique, we love it too and it really does brighten the room up… still have half a roll left so trying to decide what to use it for – at the price it cost don’t want to waste it!

  3. Lucy 03/05/2009 at 11:25 AM #

    You have the most beautiful place! I adore it, especially the doors and bell.

    • Conversation Pieces 04/05/2009 at 10:15 AM #

      Lucy, sad to say, but the bell has been pretty much one of my fav things since day one. The other half thought I was going to break it as I kept going to ring it myself! Scares the c**p out of the cats though when it rings! 😉

  4. Kristen 09/05/2009 at 10:08 PM #

    Hey – is that curved cabinet the same as this one?!
    http://busstop.typepad.com/blog/2009/04/cupboard-love.html

    Enjoy yourself making your new home your own. Looks lovely already.

    • Conversation Pieces 10/05/2009 at 11:22 AM #

      Hi Kirsten. Not quite the same but very similar. I love the bow detail on the one you spotted! Ours just has a pattern on the glass and on the mirror inside. We got it from a lovely guy on freecycle – and it’s one of my ‘haven’t quite decided what I’ll do with it’ projects… Sometimes I think it would be nice to paint it red and other times I think it’s fine just the way it is and I shouldn’t spoil it!

  5. Ludivine 30/05/2011 at 7:40 PM #

    Hello !
    What a beautiful blog !
    Could you tell me where I can buy/find this kind of wallpaper ?
    Thank you !

Leave a little love...

