The cat that got the cream things…

4 May

So on Saturday I was at the Funk Fair in Bruntsfield. It’s not on very often so that may explain why I seem to gone a wee bit over the top and bought so much. I also appear to have had a bit of a cream theme happening…

1. Two blank globes

The guy who sold us these wouldn’t tell us what they were (said we had to guess) but we figured they are from an old Louis Vuitton window shop display.

globes

We couldn’t fit the big one into the bag we brought so the other half carried it around all day – it was certainly a conversation piece with everyone we met! Lots of people were suggesting that we could draw the countries on to it or make it into a light – but we think we’ll keep them as they are as they’re more intriguing that way.

2. 1960s Anglepoise lamp

I can’t remember the name of the stand I bought this from – but the woman was very lovely and friendly. This lamp needs a little tlc but it’s working condition and I’ve always fancied one for my writing bureau. Have to say it’s much heavier than I expected but that’s to be expected with vintage.

lamp

3. Milk bottle and butterfly ring

Loved everything that Victoria Berg and Campbell Firth were selling at their stand – I wanted to buy so much more but this was as far as my budget would stretch to. Will definitely be on the lookout for them at future markets.

milkbottle

4. Vintage signs

These cost pennies – which is my favourite kind of find. Think I’m going to put the ‘cloakroom’ one above our coat hooks in the hall – and the ‘lounge’ one, well, I’ll probably put that in the lounge 😉

signs

No idea when the next Funk Fair will be – but you can guarantee I’ll be there – hope it’s not for a while though as I’m totally broke now!

4 Responses to “The cat that got the cream things…”

  1. Tina {Luphia loves...} 04/05/2009 at 10:55 AM #

    oh wow, i absolutely LOVE all your buys!! cream/white is such my “colour”, the blanc globes are amazing!!! i never have so much luck in markets!

    🙂

  2. Conversation Pieces 05/05/2009 at 8:41 PM #

    Me neither normally Tina… think it was just one of those lucky days 🙂

  3. dror 19/07/2009 at 3:32 AM #

    hi there,
    i really like the globes, will you sell them or one of them?
    i collect these,
    thanx
    dror

    • Conversation Pieces 20/07/2009 at 9:54 AM #

      Sorry not for sale Dror… unless you’re offering a complete fortune and then I might reconsider! 😉

Leave a little love...

