My before and after-ish church chairs

7 May

Just after Christmas, I bought six old church chairs for a song (or should that be a hymn?). I liked the idea of painting them each a different colour – so we would kind of have a mis-matching set of kitchen chairs. So I bought a selection discontinued bright coloured paint from Cath Kidston with the intention of painting them that weekend… and then we started decorating the whole flat instead.

chair1chairs

However last week I decided it was time to dig out the paint and get going. I’ve only done three so far (it also turns out some of the paint is ‘furniture paint’ as opposed to gloss furniture paint so I’ll need to varnish them too) but I think they’re looking pretty good so far. They also look really good with the future map in the background too – so looks like that will make it into the kitchen as well.

chairs3

8 Responses to “My before and after-ish church chairs”

  1. Meg 07/05/2009 at 10:32 AM #

    They look absolutely fab! Great minds think alike – I had been thinking of doing something very similar and have been on the lookout for wooden chairs on freecycle. The colours are lovely 🙂

    • Conversation Pieces 08/05/2009 at 1:45 PM #

      ah, freecycle… been meaning to do a post on the wonders of freecycle. we have got a few really nice things off some very nice people in the past. plus I love just looking at the things people are giving away – they’re very funny sometimes. fingers crossed you get some.

  2. Michele 08/05/2009 at 1:08 PM #

    It is amazing what a difference a little bit of paint and elbow grease can achieve.. I love them!

    Michele

    • Conversation Pieces 09/05/2009 at 12:29 PM #

      Thanks Michele – to be honest it was probably more like a lot of paint and very little elbow grease 😉

  3. domestikate84 08/05/2009 at 4:48 PM #

    I am so jealous, these look fantastic. What a great idea!

  4. ...love Maegan 08/05/2009 at 8:28 PM #

    UM …..RIDICULOUS AWESOME

    • Conversation Pieces 09/05/2009 at 12:27 PM #

      Maegan, that might be one of my favourite comments ever! I’m so going to start saying ‘ridiculous awesome’ to people 😉

Leave a little love...

