Rainbow hair

11 May

I naturally have dark hair – but for the last year and half I’ve had dark hair with ‘flashes’ of blonde through it. Now last time I went to the hairdresser she suggested that, if I fancied a change, we could change the blonde bits to purple. Half of me is tempted, half of me thinks it might be a bit mad – but the only thing that’s putting me off is that she said we’ll (don’t you love how people say ‘we” when they really just mean them) have to dye my hair darker…

This might not sound so bad but I’m so pale that I know from past experience that dyeing it darker makes me look like Snow White. (I had this confirmed by a small child in the street who pointed at me and called me Snow White… and no I wasn’t hanging out with 7 dwarfs at the time.)

Anyhoo, all this hair pondering made me think again of this gorgeous gorgeous illustration by UK-based Deanna Halsall (that I saw on the lovely Where The Lovely Things Are). I wish it was a print as I would so buy it in a heartbeat. Don’t think I should show it to my hairdresser though – she might get ideas!

deannahall

4 Responses to “Rainbow hair”

  1. edenrose 11/05/2009 at 10:37 AM #

    Your hair with blonde is lovely! Purple would be fun but check it isnt permenant as you will get bored of it quickly. I am always changing my hair colour but have long hair so would never get it cut off. My hairdresser panics when she see’s me make an appointment because she’s scared i’l want to have it all chopped off, that’s how i know i can trust her, lol. make sure you post a pic of the new hair!

    • Conversation Pieces 11/05/2009 at 1:25 PM #

      Aww, thanks edenrose. Most of my friends want me to keep the blonde and so does the other half – but I feel like I’ve had it for ages! I’ve got a wee bit before my next appointment so I will no doubt ponder some more – think the purple would be permanent though.

      And well done on finding a not-scissor-happy hairdresser! That is quite a find!! 😉

  2. Lynne, Tea for Joy 12/05/2009 at 10:49 PM #

    Great picture! I say go purple if you want – it will always grow out. But too dark hair sometimes doesn’t look right either. By the way, I like that you’ve changed your feed so I can see the full version in my reader – presumably you did something. Thanks! – it’s much easier to read this way.

    • Conversation Pieces 13/05/2009 at 3:45 PM #

      Ah so that did something… as you can tell I didn’t really pay much attention when I set up this blog and was having a check of the settings at the weekend and didn’t think it seemed right. Always good to know I didn’t break something instead!

      And yes I have been there on the too dark thing… it’s not as bad as the time when I was nearly all blonde – doesn’t look like me at all!

Leave a little love...

