Woo, it's Eurovision time!

16 May

Now I discovered Eurovision a bit late in life… I was a student studying in Denmark (which itself is a strange enough fact) and a boy we knew there was having a Eurovision party. I’d thought this would be a party party but instead it was a room packed full of Danes intently, silently, watching the TV screen.

A friend patiently (and quietly) explained the crooked voting system where everyone votes for their neighbouring country and not the best singer – and that the UK commentator Terry Wogan was going to get progressively more drunk as the night went on. By this point I was vaguely confused but enjoying the cheesy randomness none the less.

And then it became apparent that Denmark were winning. The party went mad – and then went even more mad when the Danish entry “Fly on The Wings of Love” was announced as the winner. Afterwards we all went out and danced in a little poky club to that same song all night (I kid you not – they did not play anything else!!) So since then Eurovision has had a special place in my heart.

It’s a bit late to invest in these British pillows and bunting from RE for tonight – but I thought they were worth sharing anyway. If I had one of the cushions I’d be waving it about in place of a flag (but also secretly supporting Denmark and now Norway in honour of my friend Ellen). Hope you have a great night if you’re watching it – I’m off to go and listen to what our UK entry actually sounds like (as you can tell I’m still a bit of a slap-dash Eurovision lover!) xx

1224597964_Silk_Memento_Cushions___Union_Jack___Coronation1225459900_silk_cushion_grande_brit1224597482_144

5 Responses to “Woo, it's Eurovision time!”

  1. Laura 16/05/2009 at 10:19 AM #

    That’s a great little story!

  2. domestikate84 16/05/2009 at 5:37 PM #

    I love Eurovision, and your story! We are going to a fancy dress Eurovision party tonight where you pick a country to support then dress up as something related to the country and/or their entry, and you’ll be pleased to hear that my husband is going as Denmark! Apparently their song was written by Ronan Keating …

    • Conversation Pieces 16/05/2009 at 6:04 PM #

      Ooh I did not know that! Wonder what connection Ronan has with Denmark?

      A Eurovision fancy dress party sounds fun – wish I was going to one of those. Do you get anything if your country wins? 😉

  3. Patchwork Harmony 17/05/2009 at 5:08 PM #

    yay! our friends had a Eurovision party last night! Its a bit of a tradition now, and really just a straight forward drinking game! we all have a few countries each and when one of your countries getting 8,10 or 12 points you have to drink! yes…. it can get messy! 🙂

    • Conversation Pieces 18/05/2009 at 9:22 AM #

      that does sound messy! think we had our own equivalent and that was without the drinking game (I felt a little under the weather yesterday!!) I also phoned my friend in Norway around midnight to say that we were so going to Eurovision next year!! (She wasn’t even watching it so I think she was a little confused as to what on earth I was going on about at first!!)

Leave a little love...

