How do you take yours?

18 May

So as well as celebrating the awesome cheesiness that is Eurovision at the weekend, I went with my family to see West Side Story. (Yup, this weekend was a little camp!) Before the show, most of my aunts and cousins rocked up at my flat – and proceeded to drink an amazing amount of tea. Proper tea too. Four pots worth with proper milk and real sugar. Not like my wussy green tea or Earl Grey in which the tea bag is just waved past the water.

Anyway, it made me think of this brilliant sampler by Glasgow-based Miso Funky that I spotted over at Made By Girl (I was going to save this to include in a future post on samplers but hey everyone needs a laugh on a Monday). I hope to goodness this isn’t true otherwise it means I’m very weak minded indeed!

3497861794_839cc435f5

P.S. How do you take your tea? Are you with me on the wussy tea or are you more of a builder’s brew fan? 😉

14 Responses to “How do you take yours?”

  1. edenrose 18/05/2009 at 12:40 PM #

    Oh, this is so funny! I say this all the time! My friends and family always moan about my strong tea, and i like strong tea, proper yorkshire tea even though i am a soft southener, lol! i need to get this for amy kitchen. x

    • Conversation Pieces 18/05/2009 at 6:50 PM #

      So you’re a strong-minded gal! 🙂 Damn beginning to think I really am a real tea wuss! I think my sampler should say something like strong tea = weak heart as it always makes my heart beat far too fast. I suspect that’s what Yorkshire tea would do to me too!

  2. Jay Tee 18/05/2009 at 2:53 PM #

    Haha I love this. My roommates and I play the “we like our tea like we like our men” game–Beth likes hers light and sweet, Sarah likes hers dark and sweet, and I like mine dark and strong. It’s a huge household joke. Come on, who doesn’t love a man with eyes the color of a cup of English Breakfast?

    • Conversation Pieces 18/05/2009 at 6:53 PM #

      That’s funny – and means I like my men green and mild! My other half has grey eyes so I’m not sure he fits into the tea profile (he’s a coffee man anyway!)

  3. kerry (the seventy tree) 18/05/2009 at 4:28 PM #

    Love it! I’m one of these people that drifts between the lures of green tea and a nice strong, proper cuppa….with soya milk and three quarters of a sugar….that annoys some people!

    • Conversation Pieces 18/05/2009 at 6:54 PM #

      Three quarters of a sugar?! Love it! A girl has to know what she wants 🙂

      (And yay! to another green tea drinker!!)

  4. griffo68 18/05/2009 at 7:15 PM #

    A good strong cup of assam tea with milk and one sugar please! YUM!
    Don’t like my tea too hot either!

  5. Victoria 18/05/2009 at 7:45 PM #

    What a hoot! I prefer my tea strong and black, no sugar, cream or lemon.

  6. Laura 18/05/2009 at 8:53 PM #

    I love strong tea too! Without much milk and my boyfriend loves strong tea (as in brewed for about 10-15mins) nearly cold with lots of milk, EWW.

    You should try rooibos tea or red tea if you like it quite gentle, I have to leave the tea bag in whilst drinking it because it takes a long time to get there!

  7. Slices of Beauty 18/05/2009 at 9:16 PM #

    Luv my green tea strong.
    Beautiful blog!

  8. Meg 18/05/2009 at 10:54 PM #

    I drink my own bodyweight in peppermint tea and redbush throughout the course of each day but if I could handle my caffeine better it would be strong builder’s tea all the way for sheer comfort value!

  9. michele 19/05/2009 at 7:01 AM #

    Well …. I am somewhere between the industrial strength tea that my man likes and gnats *ee….. I do love a cup of Yorkshire tea…. and am rather partial to rosehip in the evenings…. not a dangerous living really!

  10. Conversation Pieces 19/05/2009 at 9:45 AM #

    I feel like I should be putting the kettle on after asking everyone what they would like! Think I would need to write it all down though – we are a fussy lot! 😉

    Laura – on your advice I invested in some roobis tea last night – very nice. The OH thinks it tastes like honey so he’s happy!

    Slices of Beauty – yay to another green tea drinker!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday’s giveaway… Miso Funky « Conversation Pieces - 06/09/2010

    […] in May 2009, I blogged (twice) about how much I loved these uber cool samplers from Miso […]

Leave a little love...

