Friday I’m in love… with bicycles

22 May

And not just any bicycles (of course) but beautiful, bright-coloured ‘sit up and beg’ dutch bicycles. Especially the ones by Electra Amsterdam and Bobbin Bicycles below. They make my heart beat faster in a way I only ever thought shoes could (sorry other half!). I want one so. However with a bathroom to pay for and a kitchen to save for they’re a bit (for ‘bit’ read ‘very’) out of my budget.

cycle_picnic

Which is a bummer not only because they’re so pretty but because my new area of town is a bit of a bus anomaly for getting to work. That means I currently have two options: walk or drive. Walking is fine some days but it’s 30 mins at a fast pace and that’s on a good day. And driving, well, that just sucks. (If you’ve been to Edinburgh lately you’ll know that the trams are busy screwing up all our roads.)

But why do I need one of these bikes? Well firstly I guess ‘need’ might not be quite the right word but I would certainly suit one of these bikes better – and I mean that in terms of practicality. You see I wear dresses a lot to work – and dresses and normal bikes just do not go. The bar in the middle just seems to be designed for you to flash your pants at people when you get on and off your bike. And there’s the safety aspect. Most old style bikes have a skirt guard which stops you from getting your dress caught in the spokes and ending up nose-first on the tarmac.

But despite all the rationalising (and believe me I have more reasons!) the fact remains that all the following bikes cost over £400. So until that lottery win (or I just crack and buy one) I’ll just be like Wanye from Wayne’s World and lust after these like he lusted after that guitar. Oh yes, it will be mine… one day.

3260646355_132e6a6c9c

via Merry~Blues

2644934316_48d66d229f

via yyyartstaryyy

popupgloriegrn

via Bobbin Bicycles

elec09-1

via Bobbin Bicycles

p.s. how beautiful is this bike? I love it but I think I would far too scared to ride it or take it anywhere in case I damaged it!

10 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with bicycles”

  1. kerry (the seventy tree) 22/05/2009 at 9:24 AM #

    Absolutely beautifully gorgeous and delightful bicycles! I lust after them just as much…Where I live is all hills…so I could never justify paying out for such beauty. My bike was second hand from an old lady. It does the job, but it’ll never be one of these. *sob* It’s not fair! I wonder when you’ll crack?!

  2. Conversation Pieces 22/05/2009 at 9:58 AM #

    Maybe soon it has to be said. I’ve been wanting one for months. And a few of my colleagues, who cycle to work, keep encouraging me. I’ve been on the lookout for an old lady bike too – but unfortunately I’m deceptively short and they’ve all been far too tall for me so far 😦

  3. Julia 22/05/2009 at 10:03 AM #

    I am in bike love too Zoe, with a newly purchased ‘Navigator’ made by a company called Trek. Look it up as I think about it sitting in my garage all shiny & waiting to go out as often as a teenage boy thinks about rumpy! It’s like a cross between a Sitty uppy dutch bike and a seventies Red Hand Gang style bike (you are probably too young to know the reference) but it has fat tyres so you can do canal paths etc with ease and it’s great on the road too. I have never loved an inanimate object so much, and it only cost £350. It’s not a lovely bright colour…but then that would juat attract the thieves!

    • Conversation Pieces 22/05/2009 at 1:07 PM #

      Ah, a google challenge! Oooh that’s a very funky bike. Hadn’t heard of the red hand gang but my colleague got very excited when I mentioned it to him 😉

      Yeah have worried about bright colours vs thieves – but neds round here just want to steal mountain bikes etc so my thinking is that a very girlie bike might be safe? (Can’t believe I’m worried about an imaginary bike!!)

  4. Meg 22/05/2009 at 2:23 PM #

    Ooh how lovely! They make me wish I wasn’t too pathetically scared of London traffic to cycle to work!

    • Conversation Pieces 25/05/2009 at 12:44 PM #

      Have to say I’m a little scared of going on the roads too – but there’s two cycle paths near us which are completely away from the road, plus I don’t think the other half will let me go out without all the safety kit on! I’ll look like such a dweeb! 😉

  5. Polly R 22/05/2009 at 5:06 PM #

    Ahhhh I have wanted a pretty bike for ages! How good would one look riding of those lovely bikes in a floaty summer dress and sandals?!! Here in London, bikes are also pretty essential for getting around quickly. I love the bike in the first picture – the polka-dot seat is GORGEOUS!
    Go for it! Buy one! 🙂
    Polly R x

    • Conversation Pieces 25/05/2009 at 12:45 PM #

      Polly R, you are bad 🙂 You know I so don’t need that much encouragement 😉

  6. Tracy 24/05/2009 at 12:28 AM #

    Makes me miss my bike in Copenhagen :< It's just not that safe to ride it around NYC. But I am soon looking forward to a beautiful summer ride on my bike!

    • Conversation Pieces 25/05/2009 at 12:50 PM #

      Tracy, I always wanted to get a bike when I stayed in Copenhagen but being a poor student every penny (or every øre) counted! Enjoy your summer ride 🙂

Leave a little love...

