Claire's cosmic lamps

18 Jun

A weekend spent watching Alfred Hitchcock’s boxset spawned my love of all things modernist. Although known for his leading ladies, it was his lovely lampshades that got me all a flutter. Much scouring of the internet later I discovered that due to an archaic law (that states if a property had been unoccupied for more that 40 (ish) years its contents can be sold at a market) Berlin’s markets are awash with such treasures. One boyfriend’s birthday present later, I came across these beauties below at the Friedrichshain Sunday market. Flowery sixties pattern, spaceship wooden legs, an irate easyjet baggage handler… I’ve been beamed to a retro lampshade heaven!

Spaceship Lamps

Zoë says: Since I’m away, this thrifty find comes from my friend Claire Dowling, who’s a brilliant designer and an equally obsessed vintage-aholic… it’s a wonder we don’t fight when we go rummaging in junk shops!

8 Responses to “Claire's cosmic lamps”

  1. edenrose 18/06/2009 at 12:41 PM #

    I absolutely love these, amazing shape!

  2. biba (inspiration bubble) 18/06/2009 at 9:31 PM #

    Oh my god – these need to be mine! I love them.

  3. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 18/06/2009 at 10:38 PM #

    What amazing lamps, I love the wooden legs. xx

  4. nath 18/06/2009 at 11:37 PM #

    Zoe! yes! do the same things with your shoes – who knows what it will reveal?! i, for one, want to see!

    • Conversation Pieces 19/06/2009 at 5:36 PM #

      Ha! I’m so tempted… think it might reveal my love of sparkly shoes though rather than your classy colour co-ordination! 😉

  5. our little love nest 19/06/2009 at 3:37 AM #

    I missed out on so many fun posts of yours. I think blogger wasn’t updating your new posts on my profile..ergh. Those are the best lamps ever! xo

    • Conversation Pieces 19/06/2009 at 5:37 PM #

      They’re good aren’t they? I too am very jealous. Don’t think Blogger likes me (well not me specifically but wordpress as I use that instead)!

  6. Farah Anwar 24/06/2009 at 4:50 PM #

    That is a ridiculously cool lamp. ridiculous!

Leave a little love...

