And I would walk 500 miles…

22 Jun

Well, not really. After walking 26.2 miles, I think 500 would kill me! (Also you would think those 0.2 miles wouldn’t matter but they so did towards the end!) So I survived the Edinburgh Moonwalk (check out the pic of the pink castle!) and just wanted to say how proud I am of myself and my friends, Jo, Fi and Lou, for making it over the finish line – it was a bit touch and go at one or two points!

_44748997_moonwalkeight

I can honestly say I’d totally underestimated how hard it would be to walk a marathon with no sleep – by mile 24 I was totally struggling to stay awake, which is pretty odd when you’re still walking at the same time! But with the help of Kendal Mint Cake, some pink wigs, a very random game of eye spy and singing a few Jungle Book songs (it’s amazing what your brain thinks of when you’re that exhausted!) we all made it – and without a blister between us.

pinkz2And this is me in my fetching pink wig (which around mile 11 I was saying I might wear to go see Take That – perhaps proof that I was losing it already!).

Anyway, hope you all had good weekends (yes I know it’s Monday already but I’m still catching up!).

I can honestly say that was the strangest weekend I’ve had in some time… a marathon walk followed by a Take That gig – amazing but think it’ll be a long time before I repeat such a thing!!

8 Responses to “And I would walk 500 miles…”

  1. our little love nest 23/06/2009 at 12:34 AM #

    You are too dang cute and I am so proud of people who do this. I wish I had the guts to do a marathon!! Good for you! xo

    • Conversation Pieces 23/06/2009 at 11:40 AM #

      Thanks our little love nest… was feeling anything but cute yesterday. Was just exhausted – I really had no idea it would make me that tired… all for a good cause though!

  2. Meg 23/06/2009 at 9:10 AM #

    Congratulations!! A friend of mine at work did the Edinburgh walk as well at the weekend and now is walking like a 90 year old – hope you are in a little less agony 🙂

    • Conversation Pieces 23/06/2009 at 11:41 AM #

      Thanks Meg… surprisingly I have not a single ache or pain… it’s very weird… not sure how I managed to get away with that! I am ridiculously tired still though if that counts. Congrats to your friend too – hope she feels her normal age soon! 🙂

  3. Kerry (the seventy tree) 23/06/2009 at 4:56 PM #

    Well done you! Loving the wig….hope you enjoyed Take That too. Thanks for your nice comment on me blog! I’ll be back soon…just lacking in inspiration from feeling unwell. I’m still finishing my answers from when you tagged me…never has anything taken so long!!

    • Conversation Pieces 27/06/2009 at 12:42 AM #

      Thanks Kerry. TT were very good – really was quite a show – the fact that I’m managed to stay awake proves that! Looking forward to reading your answers – definitely more fun reading tags than doing them 😉 Hope you’re back to yourself soon x

  4. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 23/06/2009 at 7:22 PM #

    Well done, sounds like you had fun. Great pics, love the pink wig. Very fetching!xx

Leave a little love...

