Happy Birthday

26 Jun

il_fullxfull.70081358-1

It’s the other half’s birthday this weekend. This time last year I took him on a surprise trip to Berlin (he didn’t even know he was leaving the country) for his 30th.

We stayed at the most amazing hotel, Propeller Island Lodge, which has weird and wonderful themed rooms – we stayed in the Flying Bed Room. (If you get the excuse to go there, just do… you’ll not be disappointed even though I doubt it will give anyone any interior inspiration!)

FlyingBed

We did loads of historial stuff (including the very moving Monument to the Murdered Jews of Europe)…

n603850527_981718_4025

As well as more light-hearted stuff like seeing a panda (and some nibbly goats) at the zoo, trying to chart a boat across a lake…

n603850527_981508_4648

… and drinking lots of weisse beer (mine with a shot of syrup in it).

n603850527_981663_8684-1

This year, well my budget is somewhat smaller than last year’s (buying a flat does that to you), but hopefully it’ll be just as good a birthday. As we’re not going anywhere, I’ve planned our own mini festival right here in Edinburgh. (Don’t tell the council or they’ll want me to get a festival permit!) If the other half turns out to like it, then maybe I’ll make it an annual thing. Hope he does.

Happy Birthday other half. Ich liebe dich xx

(Birthday Banner from Something’s Hiding in Here)
12 Responses to “Happy Birthday”

  1. Neil 26/06/2009 at 9:45 AM #

    Sweet, thanks you 🙂 ps people are going to start thinking that I go everywhere by boat…

  2. Tina {Luphia loves...} 26/06/2009 at 2:37 PM #

    sounds like you had a lovely time 🙂

  3. Jenny 26/06/2009 at 3:54 PM #

    Oh wow. I have wanted to visit that hotel for years. Couldn’t believe it when Neil was telling me you have been. I am so jealous though I still am not sure which room I would stay in. Did you have a choice or was it luck of the draw??

    • Conversation Pieces 27/06/2009 at 12:58 AM #

      Hey Jenny. I choose the room (we also stayed in the Glass House too)… you give them a shortlist of your 3 preferred options and they see if they can do them on the dates you want (they’re really very helpful). You should so go – it’s such a good place!

  4. our little love nest 27/06/2009 at 5:16 AM #

    Oooh my goodness, you are too cute in that photo! My love’s birthday is on Monday and I so know what you mean about buying a place, leaving you with a little less cash for celebrations, add to that 4 kids and the budget is diminished to a water balloon fight in the back yard and roasting marshmallows for s’mores as a celebration. I hope you both have a lovely weekend and enjoy the b-day festivities! Happy Birthday to your honey! xo

    • Conversation Pieces 30/06/2009 at 8:09 PM #

      Water balloon fight and toasted marshmallows sounds ace (I don’t think I actually know what s’mores are!) Happy birthday to your other half too 🙂

  5. Slices of Beauty 27/06/2009 at 10:43 AM #

    Beautiful!
    Happy Birthday to your better-half and many happy returns!

    Lovely weekend.

  6. Trishie Koh 29/06/2009 at 2:13 AM #

    Aaaaaw that sounds like an awesome birthday, you’re so sweet to have planned all that! I’m sure that your man will love whatever you come up with this year too!

    • Conversation Pieces 30/06/2009 at 8:11 PM #

      Well in truth Trish I think he preferred the fact that I got him a ps3 more than the festival stuff… but was still a success none the less. He does have me playing Big Little Planet now… not sure I need any more addictions!

  7. My Crooked House 29/06/2009 at 8:43 AM #

    I love the photo of you peeping over the enormous glass of beer…

    I hope you both had a fantastic time this weekend 🙂

    Serena

  8. domestikate84 03/07/2009 at 8:42 PM #

    Wow. That hotel looks amazing! You chose the room well, too, although I’m not sure how well I would have slept on a flying bed.

    How was the festival? Sounds ace! You are so good to your other half!

Leave a little love...

