Ikea… it's a love hate thing

2 Jul

ikea

So the time has come to go to Ikea again… I’m sure I used to love going (probably back when I got my very first flat) but nowadays it just seems like a chore. I don’t want to think about how many hours I’ve spent in that place (5 Ikea minutes is equal to an hour in real time). This all perhaps influenced by the fact that other half greatly dislikes the trip to Ikea – and has to be bribed with ice-cream and veggie hot dogs to go.

That said… I’m a big fan of their PS range, love their range of extremely affordable fabrics and you can’t knock their bright coloured washing up brushes! And there’s nothing better than a revamped bit of Ikea… So despite my unwillingness to go, I’m appreciating Skinny laMinx’s I Wish we had IKEA cushion and tea towel.

il_fullxfull.60789079

il_430xN.71600943

Based in Cape Town, she designed her ‘wish list’ after someone sent her an Ikea catalogue (she’d mentioned on her blog how deprived she felt for not having IKEA stores in South Africa.)

Ikea-sketches2

Ikea-cushionCU2

Which reminds me that it is better to have Ikea than to not! Though I may need to be reminded of this sentiment when we’re still in Ikea debating bathroom taps at 8.30pm!

9 Responses to “Ikea… it's a love hate thing”

  1. Polly R 02/07/2009 at 6:38 PM #

    Ahhh I’m so glad we have Ikea.
    I love it. I went there the other day and came out with… a shelf, two shelf brackets, a duvet cover and two pillow cases, an ice cream scoop, a wok, 1 metre of fabric, two cushion covers and two cushions… costing me £35! Ahh the joys of Ikea….

    xx

    • Conversation Pieces 03/07/2009 at 9:57 AM #

      That’s some haul Polly R! What you planning to do with the fabric? We got the 50s style one with the trees on it a wee while back but are yet to do anything with it… need more hours in my day!

      • Polly R 05/07/2009 at 2:45 PM #

        I found an old stool in a skip in my road (haha I’m such a tramp!) and I’m going to paint it white and re-upholster it with the fabric… one day!

        • Conversation Pieces 06/07/2009 at 11:06 PM #

          Very cool Polly! Can’t wait to see it when you get round to it. I once found a tartan chair that had been embroidered with Rod Stewart’s name on it… was so fab in a kitsch kind of way but the other half hated it so I had to let it go littlest-hobo-style!

  2. Tina {Luphia loves...} 02/07/2009 at 9:44 PM #

    I LOVE ikea, every visit is a trip for me 🙂

  3. Janne 02/07/2009 at 11:21 PM #

    I know how you feel. I have it the same way. I also really enjoy Heather’s cushion 🙂 The PS range is worth going for. Taps… not so sure. Having said that, I think our kitchen sink tap is Ikea…

  4. Gracie 03/07/2009 at 1:19 AM #

    I love Ikea! I’m definitely glad that we have one. It’s great just walking through and looking at displays and wanting to buy things. I’m a fan =)

  5. domestikate84 03/07/2009 at 8:26 PM #

    I feel the same about Ikea, used to absolutely love it and bought pretty much everything we needed from there, and now I’ve spent 6 years living in Ikea flats I’m completely sick of it and keep getting urges to rush out to charity shops and replace all our flat packed furniture, but my other half won’t let me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “I wish we had Ikea” Teatowel. Oh yes. « Li'l Magoolie - 12/09/2010

    […] funny I was just lamenting our lack of Ikea in NZ on Twitter and then I saw this post by Conversation Pieces. Like Zoe, I too have a love/hate relationship with Ikea but I have to say I really miss that pesky […]

Leave a little love...

