Friday I’m in love… with bathrooms

3 Jul

Bathroom_stories_by_nebulaskin

For what feels like months now I’ve been pouring over design mags trying to figure out how to turn our not-so-pretty blue bathroom (see the previous post) into something that’s a little more us. We had tons of ideas so it’s been hard to whittle them down to what we’ve finally chosen (work starts in around 2 weeks!). So here are some of references for the ideas we had (we have loads more cut out of the mags but our scanner died some time ago)…

1. Green
Something about having bought a Japanese-style tub made me want to put green in the bathroom. We looked at loads of green tiles but in the end decided they were a bit too full-on for the space we have. We’re still planning to put some green in… just not using tiles!

Bathroom

main-3

main-7

mosaic-bathroom

2. Mosaics

I love love the World’s End Tiles you see in magazines – but they are very much beyond our budget. And most of the mosaics we saw in the tile warehouses really weren’t our style to put it politely…

main-10

main-5

3. Glass splashback
After going to too many tile places, we decided we’d developed a loathing of tiles and wanted to get a glass splashback instead. But in the end the practicalities got us on this one… Maybe next time!
main-2

main-8

4. Wood
This idea stayed in the running for quite a while… mainly because it felt in keeping with the bath but in the end neither of us were sure we would like it long term.

main-9

5. Wallpaper
Due to our budget (and growing dislike of most tiles) I started thinking about putting some statement wallpaper in the bathroom – which allow us to buy plainer (and therefore more budget-friendly) tiles but still feel impactful. The wallpaper we want is a lot more subtle than these though…

main-11

3290470803_9ca0f6e85b
Anyway think that’s more than enough bathroom stuff for one day. Hope you all have a lovely weekend – and get to enjoy the sunshine. See you Monday – we’re meant to be doing flat stuff as you might have guessed but if the weather stays like this I think a picnic might be in order! x

Photos via Iff Cool, House to Home and Living Etc.
10 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with bathrooms”

  1. Julia 03/07/2009 at 9:09 AM #

    major respect for the task ahead Zoe after just seeing your ‘now’ pics. Doing our bathroom in Sept so inpsiration is much appreciated, though to be honest I would just be happy with something that looked clean after you clean it….never put brown tiles in a shower cubicle!

    • Conversation Pieces 03/07/2009 at 9:58 AM #

      Thanks Julia. Have to say I’ve been more nervous about doing up the bathroom this time round… in my old flat I just went bought some tiles, slapped them up and that was that… this time we’ve put a lot of pressure on ourselves by thinking that we want to get it ‘right’… when will I learn?? And thanks for the advice on brown tiles… will bear that in mind 😉

  2. Lynne, Tea for Joy 03/07/2009 at 10:15 AM #

    Thanks – those two were the finalists! It’s hard to decide because I’m having the same problem you have identified…I have a mix of products, some funkier than others, but my styling is quite girly in some of them (lots of flowers) so I think I will go with the first one, even though it doesn’t look so amazing when it actually mocked up in a website.

    Anyway, I spent ages on my bathroom and in the end went with something quite modern but wall hung as my room is tiny (frameless shower door etc). I actually love the retro tiles and penny rounds look so I think I will go with that if I ever do another bathroom. Good luck! I had lots of built in storage in my tiny area (with a shelf which is toilet roll sized) so that’s the best thing I did.

    • Conversation Pieces 03/07/2009 at 1:18 PM #

      Ah sweet. Good to know our creative judgment is still working on a Friday morning 😉 Can’t wait to see the new shop – I know it will be fab!

      And am smiling at you saying ‘penny rounds’ if they’re the tiles I think they are, they’re the ones we’re thinking of getting for the floor and side of the bath! And yes storage is definitely on my list… trying to get the biggest vanity unit we can without it looking ott.

  3. artemis 03/07/2009 at 12:18 PM #

    I love that bathroom with the map on the wall! Imagine planning your next holiday whilst sitting on the toilet! What luxury. I’m always attracted to those mosaic tiles too they remind me of Art Deco lidos…one day…when I have my own house….oh hum….

    • Conversation Pieces 03/07/2009 at 1:20 PM #

      Ha! That doesn’t sound too classy know that I think about it! Think the other half would draw the line at having a big map in the bathroom – we’ve already got globes in the living room and a map in the kitchen… and my geography isn’t even that good!

  4. Eden Rose 03/07/2009 at 5:44 PM #

    I love the random tile pattern in the pic 4th down, what a great idea! Good luck with your bathroom project, cant wait to see it finnished. We will be doing our main bathroom very soon, i walked in there today armed with cleaning products and suddenly realised that after two years of living in this house we still have this discusting little blue framed mirror in there that matches the blue mermaid tiles, yuk yuk yuk! It’s funny how when you live somewhere for a while you stop noticing things. as it happened i took the mirror down straight away, i would prefer to have no mirror at all then what the previous owners of this house found so horrible even they left it!

    • Conversation Pieces 04/07/2009 at 12:25 PM #

      Yeah it is amazing what you stop noticing – when I came to sell my first flat I realised how many little things that I’d never got round to doing. Good for you for giving it the heave-ho though!

  5. Trishie Koh 06/07/2009 at 1:29 AM #

    Wow! I love that first one, so girly and cute!

  6. frankthree 07/01/2010 at 12:07 AM #

    I am loving the map bathroom wallpaper! Can you remember where you saw this? x x

Leave a little love...

