Us versus the bathroom wall

3 Jul

Now a little while back I did a post on our bathroom, otherwise known as ‘toilet in a tunnel’… and I thought you guys might like to see the progress before the real work kicks off (and because I still can’t believe that we took down a wall ourselves!)

To explain a little bit before I show the pics… most of the pictures are taken from the other side of the bathroom wall which was in the horrible little kitchenette. So here’s where it’s at right now – hopefully in a month it should be totally transformed as work starts in 2 weeks…

1. How the wall looked originally (note the cooker from the 1950s, the sink plumbed in with lead and the nicotine stained walls… nice!)

3375610989_ab9913dcf0

2. The other half checking out the task ahead!

P1010543

3. 1/4 of the way in – no going back now! This was as far as we got on Sunday.
SNC00625

4. Half-way… a rather productive Monday night! Look at the clouds of dust!

wall2

5. Tuesday’s demolition!

wall3

6. Our terracotta army of 200 bricks… which we carried down three flights of stairs! My legs would not stop shaking afterwards…

SNC00648

7. Me in my dusty gear… wearing a rather ironic ‘i am sensible’ tee acquired from the other half. Can you tell I’m about done for the day?! (I’m also thinking I look a little like I’m a Michael Jackson impersonator!!)

meinmydustygear

8. The bathroom before… a quick recap

bathroom2

9. The bathroom now… ok there’s still a bit to go (!) but the window guys, plumber, joiner and electrician start their work in two weeks… I can’t wait!

bathroomnow

5 Responses to “Us versus the bathroom wall”

  1. Meg 03/07/2009 at 2:18 PM #

    Wow – looks a big job but I am also a teeny bit jealous. Our flat needed some serious redecorating when we bought it to get rid of the lovely jade green, yellow and metallic silver the entire flat was painted in but nothing structural. I wanted a total wreck but the thought made my other half too nervous so redecoration was the compromise. I am hoping to persuade him that doing up a wreck is the way forward in our next place so I finally get to swing a sledgehammer at a wall! I should think it is therapeutic if somewhat tiring!!

    Can’t wait to see what you do with it – I am sure it will end up looking fab!! x

    • Conversation Pieces 04/07/2009 at 12:22 PM #

      Wow, green, yellow and silver – that’s some colour combo! I can understand your other half’s hesitation though… my first flat was a complete wreck but I stayed at my dad’s while I was doing it up and it’s a whole lot harder if you’re living in it at the same time. on the other hand, the whole sledgehammer thing is very good fun – as long as you can cope with how dusty everything goes (and I mean everything!) 😉

  2. domestikate84 03/07/2009 at 8:24 PM #

    That’s amazing! You’re so brave – I’d never have the guts to do something like that to our house. Love the t-shirt too!

    • Conversation Pieces 04/07/2009 at 12:26 PM #

      Not so sure we’re brave… we’re just thirfty! It would have cost over £1000 to pay someone else to do it. I did have to keep reminding myself that though!!

  3. Patchwork Harmony 04/07/2009 at 8:44 AM #

    wow! respect! can see it is starting to take shape! I wish I had the guts to be this ambitious! well done. x

Leave a little love...

