A rather fantastic plastic cup lampshade

8 Jul

il_430xN.70304007

Ages ago (perhaps in Marie Claire?) I saw a huge recycled lampshade made of polystyrene cups. I’ve had it in the back of my mind ever since then, thinking could we (more the other half probably than me) make one of those if we had the right amount of cups… And I’ve just stumbled across these plastic cup versions from Julianne’s Atelier. I have a feeling they look simpler to make than they really are but it seems worth a go – must remember to buy lots of cups when I next get a chance to go to Costco!

il_430xN.59673702

P.S. Thanks so much to the very lovely Pretty Pollys Pretty Things for the lovely blog awards – I will pass them on soon.
P.P.S. Thanks to Dreaming of An Aga for the tag too – I have a post in mind for my answer but need to take a photo first 😉

6 Responses to “A rather fantastic plastic cup lampshade”

  1. Victoria 08/07/2009 at 7:02 PM #

    That looks great.

    I’d love to make one of those too.
    Thanks for sharing!

    🙂

  2. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 08/07/2009 at 9:44 PM #

    Such a great effect, I’d have to group three together! xx

    • Conversation Pieces 10/07/2009 at 11:01 AM #

      Yeah I think that looks the best too… does involve making 3 of them though! Will see how we get on with the first one 😉

  3. La Couturier 09/07/2009 at 3:15 AM #

    Oh my goodness; that is unbelievably AMAZING! (: I must try that!

    bisous,
    La C.

  4. Plastic Mug 30/04/2010 at 4:29 PM #

    Great idea! Design and shape are nice! But these are not going to melt, right? 😀

  5. Mary Maxwell 06/07/2010 at 6:41 AM #

    Your lamp shade is really unique! Your ideas are very fantastic. I liked it. Keep on posting! Do you have a sight? Here’s mine http://www.victorianlampshadesupply.com/. Let’s share some thoughts. Hope I could see you there.

Leave a little love...

