You can judge a print by its cover

9 Jul

Last week we reorganised the layout in our bedroom and we’re much happier with it (no-one has to sleep against a wall now) but it’s left a curiously blank wall space opposite the bed. For people who own so many prints and pictures, we don’t seem to have one that suits the space. So I’ve been looking for something suitable and affordable… Which rules out the ‘every day I love you’ wooden sign (though I have thought of doing this diy idea version instead).

Then I remembered that one of the first ever things I wanted in my first flat was the big canvas of the Penguin cover of The Big Sleep from Art Meets Matter… it hasn’t got any more budget-friendly in the intervening 6 years but they now do it as a rather more affordable print. I’m sorely tempted it has to be said…

amppenc015

I’m also coveting by this one for the living room – but I think one Penguin book print is quite enough.

amppenc011

They also do these fab ones for foodies too… I’m loving the ‘tinned food’ one so much!

ampfab051

ampfab050

ampfab030

And of course one for the angsty teen girl inside all of us…

ampfab073

There’s loads more on the site – from T.S. Eliot to Seamus Heany to Children’s Books – which one would you choose?

Follow my blog with bloglovin

7 Responses to “You can judge a print by its cover”

  1. nath 09/07/2009 at 12:32 PM #

    oooh, well. i must go and explore and report my findings.

    it’s a curious thing, we also have a blank wall in our bedroom, i’m not sure at all how to fill it – perhaps you’ve provided the answer!

  2. Kiara 09/07/2009 at 1:04 PM #

    A cheaper alternative to the penguin canvases is to buy the sheets of wrapping paper and frame them.
    Randon 2009 031

    I’m not sure who makes them but I got mine in the art shop in glasgow opposite the GoMA for £1 each.

    • Conversation Pieces 09/07/2009 at 2:26 PM #

      Genius Kiara! I’m loving that idea… will have to see if I can track some down! 😀

  3. Jay Tee 09/07/2009 at 1:41 PM #

    I can’t seem to find how large the Penguin prints are–do you know their size? I’m severely tempted to snatch a copy of “A Room of One’s Own” by Virginia Woolf. It was one of my favorite essays as an undergraduate student, and has become a kind of personal mantra. Plus, my current favorite bedroom colors are purple and white. Fabulous.

    Thanks for this.

  4. Jay Tee 09/07/2009 at 1:43 PM #

    Oh…kidding…I found the sizes. Sorry to be spamming your comments with such frivolity. 😛

    • Conversation Pieces 10/07/2009 at 11:35 AM #

      Ha! Glad you found what you were looking for… Raymond Chandler was a favourite of mine at uni – and I do like sleeping (!) so hence my choice 🙂

  5. drollgirl 09/07/2009 at 9:14 PM #

    these are fanfuckingtastic!

Leave a little love...

