Friday I’m in love… with stamps

10 Jul

Ever since Tea For Joy did a post on her love of stamps, I’ve been intrigued. Up until then I’d never really given stamps much thought – to me they were just little brown things with a frilly edge and a pic of the Queen. Oh how wrong I was. Ok so normal stamps are still pretty much still the same, but the potential of vintage stamps is just brilliant… You can frame them, varnish them to furniture, decorate folders (you get the idea). Check out these brilliant stamps I’ve been coveting recently…

1. Japanese stamps from Three Potato Four
These are so ridiculously adorable… I love the pensive panda, the miserable bunny and the happy elephant the most but they’re all brilliant.
sticker_main

sticker_pandasticker_stamp_butterflysticker_whalesticker_bunnysticker_elephantsticker_stamp_pear

2. Vintage stamps from Present & Correct

I’ve only just discovered Present & Correct’s website (I knew they had an Etsy shop but boy their website shop beats the pants off that!) and already it’s become another minor obsession of mine. They sell lots of beautiful vintage prints and other goodies – including these lovely lovely 1960s stamps from Holland featuring hobbies, animals, beetroot (!) and fairy tales…

kidstamp1l-1

stamps3nether3lbeet2lelf1l

P.S. This Friday I’m also loving (make that utterly obsessed with) Florence + The Machine. Wish I could see them at T in the Park this weekend!

P.P.S. Have a great weekend everyone – hope you’re all up to something fun 🙂

12 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with stamps”

  1. Polly R 10/07/2009 at 10:24 AM #

    Wow I love those stamps! I might have to get some if they’re not too expensive… 🙂
    I am really confused though. Can you actually use them or are they just for decorating?
    xx

    • Conversation Pieces 10/07/2009 at 11:35 AM #

      Decoration only methinks… Royal Mail will probably bin your post if you use these (I suspect they do that randomly anyway!)

  2. .amanda. 10/07/2009 at 3:03 PM #

    oh this is an amazing post! I love it! The graphics and colors are wonderful!

  3. Amy 10/07/2009 at 3:49 PM #

    Cute stamps, but who can be surprised that Holland has awesome stamps? Everything seems to be awesome over there!

  4. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 10/07/2009 at 6:04 PM #

    Excellent stampy finds – Three Potato Four and Present and Correct are two firm favourites of mine. xx

  5. nath 10/07/2009 at 10:40 PM #

    oh i have those beetroot stamps from Present and Correct. i love ’em.

  6. Slices of Beauty 11/07/2009 at 12:49 PM #

    Love stamps too but never seem to get round the collection!

    Enjoy the weekend.

  7. Patchwork Harmony 11/07/2009 at 3:45 PM #

    I’m totally feeling the stamp love too! I’ve passed the shop tea for joy talked about before, and always wanted to go in, now I’m starting to feel the confidence to go in and not feel like a geek! tee hee! 😉

    • Conversation Pieces 14/07/2009 at 10:01 AM #

      Go in… my own foray into my local stamp shop didn’t go that well… the old guy in there just seemed to think I was a teen delinquent or something (which I guess isn’t the worst insult in the world!) 😉

  8. lenorenevermore 12/07/2009 at 1:34 AM #

    Love all the graphics on the stamps…especially the adorable animal series!
    Lovely weekend to you & so glad you dropped by~Thank you!

Leave a little love...

