I'm forever blowing bubbles…

13 Jul

il_fullxfull.77596561

I’m not really but it does feel like I’ve been posting a lot of bubble-related items recently (ok, there’s only been the glass bubble necklace but it does feel like a lot I swear!) Anyway, my ongoing quest to find a ‘conversation piece’ of a kitchen light has grown into a quest to find one for the bedroom too. I really like this one from Jean Pelle – but the cost of shipping from the US, not to mention its chances of surviving the journey definitely rule it out. Anyone seen anything similar? (She asked hopefully…)

16 Responses to “I'm forever blowing bubbles…”

  1. GoldenTouch 13/07/2009 at 7:14 PM #

    I’ve not seen anything similar but it is beautiful…

    xx

  2. our little love nest 13/07/2009 at 7:43 PM #

    I love it! I haven’t seen anything like it either but WOW, it sure is pretty! xo

  3. Shelley 13/07/2009 at 7:49 PM #

    I think that with the right supplies and a little research you could make one of those! you need a handful of sockets and alot of wire (home depot or a ligting store) but it could be done. Other than that these 2 are along those lines… I used to work at lamps plus, I mention that because if you hate it they will let you return it with very few questions.

    http://www.lampsplus.com/Products/Bubbles-13-and-three-quarter-inch-Wide-Ceiling-Light-Fixture__26853.html -$200

    http://www.lampsplus.com/Products/Floating-Bubble-6-Light-Clear-Glass-Ceiling-Light-Fixture__98120.html -$600

    • Conversation Pieces 14/07/2009 at 10:04 AM #

      Think the other half may despair if I suggest another diy project (he’s far more crafty than I am – I’m better at creative direction – so he tends to a lot of the ‘doing’ when it comes to us making things). Maybe after we (he) have had a go at making the plastic cup lampshade though…

  4. professorplum 13/07/2009 at 9:09 PM #

    There is a cafe where I live in Battersea (Gail’s Bread Bakery) which has similar ones, they have them grouped like your picture, and also hung singly over tables and look amazing both ways, probs really expensive but I’m on a mission to find out where from so I’ll let you know x pp

  5. Perfectly Flawed 13/07/2009 at 10:30 PM #

    Hey,

    Where are you based? There is a fab shop in Spitalfields with all kinds of kooky light fittings…otherwise (random I know but….) next, graham and green and also notonthehighstreet.com

    mwahx

    • Conversation Pieces 14/07/2009 at 10:07 AM #

      Thanks Perfectly Flawed… had certainly never thought of next! Is the shop you’re referring to One Deko? It’s round the back of the market… I once spent far too long in there just staring at a chandelier that was covered in dripped, waxy paint! (I’m based in Scotland but I do come down to London a bit as I have family and friends there.)

  6. Cowdy Calling 14/07/2009 at 8:48 AM #

    That’s beautiful – the only thing I’ve seen even vaguely similar isn’t any cheaper unfortunately! http://www.roastdesigns.co.uk/roastrange.html.

    Reeeeaaaal pretty though 🙂

    Serena

    • Conversation Pieces 14/07/2009 at 10:08 AM #

      Thanks Serena (love the new blog name)… those are, well, ouch… lovely but ouch!

  7. RayB 14/07/2009 at 12:47 PM #

    Liberty do a busier looking light that is similar(ish) http://www.liberty.co.uk/fcp/categorylist/dept/home_lighting?resetFilters=true

    • Conversation Pieces 14/07/2009 at 3:34 PM #

      Oh RayB! I love you! That is a fab light… that certainly is the prettiest UK-based light I have seen… Will see what the other half (and the bank manager) have to say! 😉

  8. pixel hazard 14/07/2009 at 1:03 PM #

    I’ve not seen anything similar and i’d probably electrocute myself trying

  9. Hayley Stevens 17/07/2009 at 11:17 PM #

    Hello,

    We have a similiar vintage light fitting for sale at our shop for £85, check it out here: [url=http://www.junkdeluxe.co.uk/junkdeluxe/stock/preview.php?photo=photos/85%20-%20Statement%20Twelve%20Shade%20Brass%20Ceiling%20Light.jpg]Statement Twelve Shade Brass Ceiling Light[/url]

    We also have a matching floor lamp , see here:[url=http://www.junkdeluxe.co.uk/junkdeluxe/stock/preview.php?photo=photos/70%20-%20Eye%20Catching%20Brass%20Six%20Shade%20Floor%20Lamp.gif]Eye Catching Brass Six Shade Floor Lamp[/url]

    Enjoy!

Leave a little love...

