Why I shouldn't be allowed to sale shop…

6 Aug

On Sunday me and the other half took a long overdue trip to Habitat (overdue because I’d sort of been nagging at him that we needed to go as a table we wanted was on sale at a ridiculous price). Turned out to be the last day of the sale so we got some silly bargains – which does make me worry that Habitat are going down the tube – including a Ribbon lamp that I’ve been in love with for ages.

Anyway, we were nearly out of the store – having spent £60 on two tables, one lamp and one pendant light – when I spotted the print/canvas below. And just like that our most bargainess trip nearly turned into a very expensive jaunt.

24-Toumon

But being ever thrifty, I decided to hunt down the illustrator and see if I could find it for cheaper. Which happily I did. His name is Terratag and he does lots of prints and tshirts that are as much Shoreditch as they are Shinjuku.

So I’m very happy with my find but it does remind me why I shouldn’t be allowed to go sale shopping – because I can’t just stick to looking at the sale stuff and inevitably end up falling in love with something that I didn’t need or even know about before I saw it. Not perhaps my worst trait but pretty useless when you’re meant to be saving for a kitchen!

P.S. If you like General Pattern‘s lovely prints, you may either want to make a beeline for Habitat or avoid it depending on your budget as they’re doing huge canvas versions of his prints. They’re also doing a rather more affordable postcard pack too (which I forgot to say was also one of the things we bought on Sunday!)

postcardpack

6 Responses to “Why I shouldn't be allowed to sale shop…”

  1. Britta 06/08/2009 at 5:54 PM #

    Hi there!
    I love these vintage prints, they are gorgeous. Thanks for sharing with us!
    Brit

  2. Lynne, Tea for Joy 06/08/2009 at 7:53 PM #

    I had the opposite thing happen to me (well, sort of.) There was a rug I really wanted from there – and I went to the sale only to see they had all gone except for one dodgy shop-soiled sample – I should have bought it at full price!

    • Conversation Pieces 10/08/2009 at 3:41 PM #

      That sucks Lynne… I hate when things like that happen. I always think with sales, you have to go expecting to get nothing in order to get something!

  3. Perfectly Flawed 07/08/2009 at 1:28 AM #

    Oh I need those postcards!! But am out of the country and mum is in holiday. Poo :o(

    • Conversation Pieces 10/08/2009 at 3:45 PM #

      If you’re really need them Perfectly Flawed, email me and I could grab them for you when I’m next up town.

  4. drollgirl 07/08/2009 at 4:01 AM #

    oooooooooooh! i love the look of this print! very cool. and i would want to buy it, too!

Leave a little love...

