Glasgow is smiles better

19 Aug

bread_apron_detail_web

So yesterday me and the other half went to see U2 at Hampden in Glasgow… which looked a bit like this…

u2spider

Where I looked a bit like this… slightly damp and with far too much flash on me (if I ever needed confirmation that I might be one of the palest people in the universe!)

meatu22

Anyway, it was a fab gig and the 360 degree stage was very cool (that’s the spider thing!)… and the other half (he’s the real U2 fan) certainly seemed to enjoy singing along to almost every song – though not as much as the drunken dads in front of us!

Today we took a trip to The Lighthouse, had a nose at a few of their exhibitions including one about Swiss design studio BIG-GAME who are responsible for ‘that’ moose head…
main_event_512-1

And then decided to look at a few of Charles Rennie Mackintosh‘s chairs… I want this one (though I think it might be a bit out of my budget!)

macchair

We then took a venture up the spiral stairs (that are suspended in what was a water tower) to the top of the building…

stairs

Where the view (on a typically grey Glasgow day) looked like this…

glasgowsky

After all that we popped into Che Camille. I’d heard many great things about this place and it really didn’t disappoint. It’s a showroom for independent design, with a designer workshop onsite, and an exclusive range of design items. The resident design team is called The Glasgow 10 and their stock includes men and women’s fashion, millinery, jewellery, shoes, fabric and furniture. The only downside was that I didn’t have enough brain power left (too little green tea!) to choose between all the beautiful things… so I’ve made a deal with myself that next time I will go back prepared to try things on and part with my cash!

ss09

However one of the standouts (of which there really were many) was Gillian Kyle‘s work… which included the Scottish Pride at the top of this post, as well as Glasgow Tea and Teacake. Perfect for presents I feel and that gives me the perfect excuse to go back and buy myself a present too!

tt_tea1_WEB

tt_teacake_1_WEB

7 Responses to “Glasgow is smiles better”

  1. Slices of Beauty 20/08/2009 at 12:35 AM #

    Wow nice times and lovely finds!
    Love Bono and seems to be only band member…

  2. Petergaye S. Kisielewicz/Yahgie 20/08/2009 at 4:23 AM #

    wow! the second photo is so cool. All my friends are going to U2 concerts so jealous :=)

  3. prettyfarwest 20/08/2009 at 9:58 AM #

    Well, I think you may have just solved the problem of presents for my Scottish husband for several Christmases to come…

  4. Janne 20/08/2009 at 10:31 AM #

    I really, really like Glasgow. Will have to go back there (and to Edinburgh) soon…

  5. Brit 20/08/2009 at 6:53 PM #

    Thanks for your impressions about Scotland. The tea towels are cute. I never went to Glasgow, I really have to go there.

  6. Huma 21/08/2009 at 10:49 AM #

    Loving the milk chocolate tea towels! My cousin lives in Glasgow, she has this beautiful converted flat in an old library. It’s absolutely stunning.
    And here’s something fun for you: http://herlittleplace.blogspot.com/2009/08/giveaway-winners.html
    Congrats lady, email me with an address to send them out to you!
    x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday’s giveaway… Gillian Kyle « Conversation Pieces - 09/09/2010

    […] Sep Last August, just before we got engaged, myself and the OH took a wee trip through to Glasgow – mainly to see U2 – and there I discovered the rather awesome work of Gillian […]

Leave a little love...

