The engagement treasure hunt

26 Aug

P1020070b

On Friday night, the other half got me to pack a weekend bag. He then called a taxi and within half an hour we were on the overnight sleeper train to London.

At this point I had no idea what was going on as he’d told me he was taking me somewhere I hadn’t been before. He then explained yes we were going to London but that he had a list of places (that I was allowed to google one at a time) that I’d never been to in London – either ones I’d mentioned wanting to go to or places he’d found that he thought I would like.

So my googling led me to a gorgeous French patisserie for breakfast, then to The Peanut Vendor for some mid-century furniture hunting (regular readers may remember I really wanted to go there last time I was in London but ran out of time), to an exhibition, to St Paul’s Cathedral (to feed the birds!), to a very posh Japanese-style hotel… and then to see Wicked at the Apollo Theatre.

wickedb

(I first saw Wicked in New York about 5 years ago and absolutely loved it – I’ve even been Elphaba at Halloween – so the other half thought it would be a guaranteed hit.) After all this, he took me out for dim sum (my favourite) and I must admit I was beginning to feel a bit freaked as to what I had done to deserve all this!

Then on Sunday morning, he said I had two locations left to google… one of which turned out to be the Cupcake Emporium.

cupcakeemporiumb

There was no-one else in the place so the other half (who had been planning to propose at the last location) decided this would make a better place to pop the question… and one Red Velvet cupcake later I was a future Mrs! (We were both shaking and grinning so much that we nearly couldn’t eat our cupcakes!)

SNC00952b

The last location turned out to be London Zoo. (If you know us, then you’ll know how our relationship seems to have been punctuated with trips to zoos and aquariums! So it’s amazing that I’d never made it to London Zoo before!) So we spent the rest of the day here, taking pictures of otters, meerkats and monkeys (and the carousel!), phoning our friends and family… and generally pointing out how much the other was grinning. (We both had such sore cheeks by the end of the day!)

ottersb

carouselb

Then we went out for some dinner and celebratory fizz, before heading to catch the sleeper home.

And for the final detail… the ring. After much wrangling, the other half decided that I would probably lose the plot if he spent lots of money on a ring before we even have a kitchen. (He knows me too well!) So until we get a kitchen, I have a perspex diamond ring and after that I get to choose whatever I would like. (Except I have no clue what that would be! So any suggestions welcome!!)

ringb

24 Responses to “The engagement treasure hunt”

  1. Eden Rose 26/08/2009 at 3:12 PM #

    OMG!!! you have the loveliest ‘fiance’ ever!! What a lucky lucky girl you are, your post has made me all teary and tingly. The ring is beautiful and i cant wait for your wedding posts now, yay!! Congratualtions gorgeous couple XXX

  2. Meg 26/08/2009 at 4:42 PM #

    WOW! How amazingly thoughtful!! You must be over the moon 🙂 You have so much wedding planning fun to look forward to. I sometimes wish I could do it all again although if I say that in front of the other half he goes a bit pale (I may have been ever so slightly obsessed with it at the time!)

    A friend of a friend of mine has the most beautiful engagement ring from Alex Monroe http://www.alexmonroe.com/p457/Fine-Twig-Ring-with-Set-Stone/product_info.html but if I were chosing my ring again I think I would want to engage the services of Artemis from Tales of a Junkaholic. The Rust engagement rings look beautiful. Whatever you chose I am sure it will be beautiful and if you are anything like me you will be staring at your hand for days!!

    Congratulations again! xx

  3. Cowdy Calling 26/08/2009 at 4:46 PM #

    Oh wow I’m so happy for you! Whoop! Congratulations!!

    And what an absolutely amazing trip. I’m now convinced of what you already know – he’s obviously one in a million!

  4. prettyfarwest 26/08/2009 at 7:41 PM #

    That’s such a very charming and wonderful story. I’m amazed at how happy I can be for two people I don’t know at all. And your ring is perfect alternative chic.

  5. our little love nest 26/08/2009 at 7:50 PM #

    Jealous of your mild wednesday and thinking that is too fun how your love proposed along with the perspective ring until things are settled. Loving his creative license. You have one really great guy and I am also thinking you look adorable in those photos. xo

  6. Shelley 26/08/2009 at 9:31 PM #

    Cutest story ever. That is so sweet!!!

  7. Meg 26/08/2009 at 9:35 PM #

    RE your comment on my blog – please ask away! There is nothing I like more than talking about weddings x

  8. GoldenTouch 26/08/2009 at 10:32 PM #

    Aww that is so cute!
    😀

    xx

  9. Polly R 27/08/2009 at 9:42 AM #

    THat is the cutest thing I’ve ever heard! Proposing in a cupcake.
    Ahh I can’t believe you went to see Wicked – that is my favourite musical ever! I have seen it 3 times 🙂 Is the new Elphaba good?
    xxx

    • Conversation Pieces 30/08/2009 at 3:30 PM #

      Hey Polly, I thought she was very good – apparently she used to be in the Lion King? – really great voice that just gives you tingles. (Oh how I wish I could sing like that!) The new Glinda was fab too – though Kristin Chenoweth will always own that role for me! 😉

  10. Huma 27/08/2009 at 10:53 AM #

    Congratulations! What an amazing way to propose! XXX

  11. Jo 27/08/2009 at 6:53 PM #

    How cute is the ring!!! So not what I pictured when you said a perspex diamond ring, me and chris were trying to figure out what a perspex diamond was lol – completely adorable and so you 😀 love it xx

  12. Patchwork Harmony 27/08/2009 at 8:19 PM #

    OMG! Congratulations!!!!!!
    I seen your comment on my blog, and came straight over to confirm the news!
    You literally have THE sweetest man ever… he must have been planning it all for ages! 🙂
    So pleased for you. xxx

  13. Jenny 28/08/2009 at 1:07 PM #

    Wow thats the nicest engagment ever. You must have been so pleased with all the surprises.

    Wishing you both (and cat) the best!!

  14. nath 28/08/2009 at 8:11 PM #

    that is pure sweetness. what wonderful attention to detail. congratulations to you both. i love the perspex ring!

  15. nath 29/08/2009 at 1:40 PM #

    and re wedding inspiration – i would’ve suggested once wed (my own wedding is going to be on it soon!), RIFLE http://riflemade.squarespace.com/ – and also for food and place setting ideas try Sunday Suppers http://sunday-suppers.blogspot.com/

    you’re going to have so much fun planning your wedding, there’s so much wonderful inspiration and resources for you to draw from. yay for you!

    on a another random note i have just noticed that you’re a copywriter( i know, durr)! my husband Paul is too! are you freelance?

    • Conversation Pieces 30/08/2009 at 3:38 PM #

      Oooh Nath… I’m loving oncewed – can’t wait to see your wedding there!!

      On the random note, I’m an agency copywriter – I used to freelance (more as features writer than a copywriter) but my working hours swallow up enough of my life so I don’t do that much freelancing any more (unless I quite fancy doing it). Does your husband get asked if he “copies” stuff all the time? I think some people think I’m a photocopier when I say what I do! 😉

  16. jessica / miniature rhino 29/08/2009 at 6:38 PM #

    such an amazing, romantic story! and its great that you’ll have this post to remember the details. thanks for sharing. congrats! and now for the fun of planning, right?

  17. evie 30/08/2009 at 6:54 AM #

    oh CONGRATULATIONS what an amazing story! And a wonderful guy to go to that such length for a fabulous, adventurous proposal. Brilliant! We were grinners too with sore checks after out engagement x

  18. Gordon 31/08/2009 at 6:59 PM #

    Looking at replies, I can see who your core reader is Zoe…I am the first guy to comment on the glorious wonder that is the fiance-ment of you and Neil? One thing, I want to ask is when you say he was going to ask in the location preceding Cupcake Emporium, do you mean Wicked???

    Did the poor guy have to try and sleep knowing that he had to ask the most important question that he will ever ask in his life the next day????? Knowing that like the driving test examiner, his future would be in hands of another? The poor bloke…

    However, if it was at Wicked, how was he planning to do this? Get a witch do it from the stage? Put an advert in the programme? Or just cast a spell on you….:):):):)

    Ignoring all of the above of course, I am jumping over the moon for you both. You are both special specialness

    • Conversation Pieces 31/08/2009 at 8:58 PM #

      Gordon I think you are indeed the first guy… though we do get guys commenting every now and then… not on posts like this it has to be said! 😉

      The last location actually meant last on the list… so would have been London Zoo! Yes he did say he hadn’t been sleeping that well in the run up to it!

      “His future would be in the hands of another”?! ;D That is indeed a boy’s comment!

  19. Kaye 28/09/2009 at 10:41 PM #

    Zoe, N gave me the link so that I could hear/read all about the proposal!!! I’m grinning from ear to ear as I type – I’m a hopeless romantic and i’m so proud of him, what a proposal – AMAZING!!!!! And I just LOVE the ring!!!! xxxxxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Featured blogger…. Conversation Pieces | Blogsmitten Blog - 10/06/2011

    […] best post I’ve written is … cheesy I know, but probably my engagement post because… well, that bit’s quite obvious but also because it reminds me that blogging is […]

Leave a little love...

