Friday I'm in love… with all the possibilities!

28 Aug

It’s strange how one question can open up a whole world of other questions… And here’s the thing – I know almost nothing about weddings! Sure I know there’s a bride, groom, guests etc but I have no idea how you go about having one. Thankfully everyone else I know who’s engaged says they feel like they know nothing either so I’m not the only one.

So for this Friday, I thought I would share a few of the (very random) things me and the other half have discussed. At the moment, all we know is that we want to have a wedding that’s different – fun, informal and very us – but in what shape or form that will be we have no idea. But I like that. I like that we have no definite theories… because currently anything is possible and we can dream big (without even thinking about the budget for the moment!)

Anyway, here’s some possibilities…

2815

12-wedding-cute_sm

12-wedding-dress_sm

IMG_0476

kim2

12-wedding-hug12-wedding-vows_sm

30

6a00d83451c0f869e2011570234e15970c

12-lemons-wedding

12-balloons_sm

12-circus-wedding-kiss_sm12-circus-tent_smbrooklyn.elopment.bikesbrooklyn-elopement4644

P.S. Don’t you just love how happy all these people look? Makes me go awww!

P.P.S. I can so start to see a theme in the pics I’ve picked! (At least in the length of the wedding dresses anyway!!) Anyone know of any other weddingy blogs that are good for my ‘research’?

All pics via A Cup of Jo and Smitten, except photo 6 which is via Ali Blair’s blog.
19 Responses to “Friday I'm in love… with all the possibilities!”

  1. Laura 28/08/2009 at 9:34 AM #

    Looks like not knowing is paying off, all those pictures look great! And fun. At least if you don’t know what to expect you won’t end up with the same wedding everyone else has, mini top hats filled with sugared almonds, burgundy and ivory bridesmaids, a corset dress with a bit of sparkle (you know just to be a bit different, yet everyone chooses that?).

    Anyway I look forward to your wedding, I hope you can make a blog wedding so we can all attend some how.

    • Conversation Pieces 30/08/2009 at 3:32 PM #

      Laura, a blog wedding sounds fab (and very cheap!). I’m sure we could manage it somehow – I expect your best virtual frocks though! 😉

  2. Polly R 28/08/2009 at 11:02 AM #

    I noticed that about the wedding dresses too. They look really nice. You have picked out lots of pretty ideas!

    This is a lovely wedding blog:

    http://www.stylemepretty.com/

    I did come across another sweet one a while ago, but can’t remember the name.

    x

  3. Polly R 28/08/2009 at 11:09 AM #

    I also just foiund a wedding photographer’s blog where you might get more ideas:

    http://www.milliehollomanblog.com/

  4. Becca 28/08/2009 at 11:20 AM #

    Hello, just delurking to say I know a lot of good blogs for wedding ideas! I got engaged in February and the following blogs have been really good inspiration:
    100layercake – they do really good moodboards and real wedding pics. It’s American so doesn’t always apply to our seasons etc but there’s a lot to look at there
    cosmo and juliette – real life bride, she’s DIY-ing a lot and it’s nice to see someone else in the same position!
    credit crunch bride – UK site, really good readings and budget ideas
    kerry morgan – she’s a UK wedding photographer but you get to see a lot of wedding details through her pics
    Manolo for the Brides – American site, good for etiquette tips, ideas for unique weddings and making the wedding your own
    Wedding Planner Blog – Site of a UK wedding planner, isn’t updated as often as some others but some gorgeous pics
    Bridalwave – was part of the Shiny Media group, loads of ideas for every part of the wedding, UK site
    Something Old, Something New – American lady that makes invites, but finds loads on Etsy that I’ve bookmarked
    Brooklyn Bride – Like 100layercake but more real weddings, engagement shoots, save the date ideas
    Paper Hearts and Cranes – couple that recently got married, tells you what they did and things that they’ve seen since that would be good at a wedding

    I’ve also got a tumblr site for all the things I’ve seen online: http://thebeccaboop.tumblr.com/
    each picture has a link back to the site it came from so you’re welcome to have a rummage through all that. I’d recommend having a tumblr site as a scrapbook of nice things you’ve seen, also a paper scrapbook for magazine cuttings.
    Let me know if you can’t find any of the above!

  5. Lynne, Tea for Joy 28/08/2009 at 12:56 PM #

    http://www.oncewed.com and Snippet and Ink (not sure of the address) are big ones I think. Also I like the blog Oh So Beautiful Paper – there are tons of wedding invitation ideas on there (oh and if you go there, look at her own wedding pics – she has the most beautiful dress and lilac flower arrangements). I saw that lemon themed wedding – loved it!

  6. Caroline Dulko 28/08/2009 at 5:39 PM #

    all those pictures made me smile 🙂 I like the idea of bicycles and garlands of lights strug up outside 😀 this is so exciting! 😀

  7. Fee 28/08/2009 at 7:11 PM #

    All the images are so romantic.. I bet you are so excited. I know I was when i got engaged. 🙂

  8. Down Comforter 29/08/2009 at 11:18 AM #

    All those pics looks so fun! Not like a typical stuffy wedding, this is what I wish I could have had.

  9. fat mum slim 29/08/2009 at 9:01 PM #

    They are stunning images. I love the idea of red shoes. How cute would that be!

    We had more of a party for our wedding, and nothing tradtional. It was the best wedding ever… and many people said it too. Have fun planning. I loved doing that.

    I am also popping by to let you know that Operation: Fat Mum Slim will actually start on Monday 31st of August. I wrote the wrong date. Silly brain. I look forward to being all healthy with you. x

  10. Kerry (the seventy tree) 29/08/2009 at 9:38 PM #

    Oooh a lovely collage of ideas…I like it when you don’t necessarily know what you want, but when you look back at the ideas you have come up with, you start to see little themes within. Good dress length. I nearly went for that length myself, but being a January wedding, I went for length! Underneath I wore leggings and sparkly leg warmers! (My little secret)! Actually, that’s a lie…by the end of the night, I was flashing my leg warmers at everyone! Ride up the aisle on your Bobbin I say!! x

    • Conversation Pieces 30/08/2009 at 3:41 PM #

      Kerry… you have my total and utter respect for the leggings and sparkly leg warmers! Love love love it! 😉

      Had considered the Bobbin approach – we’re not planning on being married in a church so it is almost do-able! 😉

  11. Eden Rose 29/08/2009 at 11:24 PM #

    I Love wedding pics!!! The dresses are devine, i’m all for the shorter length dresses. Will send you any good links i find on my travels. Do you read Hannah’s blog Seads and Stitches http://seedsandstitches.blogspot.com/ Hannah posted some pics from her wedding and they were beautiful! x

  12. deb 30/08/2009 at 10:20 PM #

    great selection of photos!

  13. jennifer 31/08/2009 at 1:32 AM #

    oh oh! i love every single one of these, they are so simplistic and beautiful.

  14. drollgirl 31/08/2009 at 7:09 PM #

    oh my! i love these shots! i think you are coming up with a fab theme here! how very exciting!!!!!!

  15. domestikate84 31/08/2009 at 9:40 PM #

    I was going to suggest once wed but it seems some other commenters have beaten me to it! Their inspiration galleries are particularly good for, er, inspiration! Hee hee!

Leave a little love...

