Let there be lights

31 Aug

bar lights

Hello everyone… how was your Monday? I just wanted to say a huge thanks to all of you who have left comments here, sent emails and given me some very helpful/sound advice, you’re the bestest invisible friends a girl could have!

Anyway, with all the excitement that was last week, I totally forgot to share this pic I took recently at the Underbelly – it’s my new reference for how I would like the lighting in my hall to look. Not sure it would look quite so pretty with energy-saving bulbs but I love the different heights and the way they’re clustered together. Now I just need a drill, lots of light cables… oh yeah and an electrician.

I’m thinking it would look stunning in our long hall which has this colour scheme going on…

Bright_front_door+living+etc

Well, we have a black wall and a front door that’s in the process of going yellow. (Need to get my butt in gear and paint it in other words!) As much as I love the black (which I really really do) I think having a lot of lights will help balance out the darkness. What do you think?

P.S. I know many of you were probably expecting a wedding-related post but I’m still going through all the blogs and sites you all suggested! Great fun but making me go ekk slightly too!

P.P.S. If you guys approve, I thought for at least now I would do a weekly weddingy post – probably on a Weddingnesday – that way I can still share some of my finds/thoughts without going too bridetastic on you!

Second pic via Living Etc
6 Responses to “Let there be lights”

  1. nath 31/08/2009 at 11:39 PM #

    well, wow, i love the idea of a black hallway. and yellow doors always catch my eye. the lights are wonderful, you should explore the idea further, what about using these energy efficient bulbs, they almost look the same…

    http://ebulbshop.com/acatalog/Energy_Saving_Osram_EcoClassic30_Dimmable_70_watt_lightbulb.html

    and a regular wedding post sounds fun!

  2. Trishie Koh 01/09/2009 at 3:43 AM #

    Weddingnesday sounds good! Look forward to all your posts.

  3. Samantha 01/09/2009 at 5:21 AM #

    I really should have posted this to the last entry but I thought you might like this wedding blog http://www.oncewed.com/ YAY! Congrats!!!

  4. Fee 01/09/2009 at 3:45 PM #

    Ohhh Brave ideas.
    I dont know if youve looked into the lighting idea but there are some really nice grouped together lights that kind of have the same effect… just not at pricey on the electric/as fussy.
    I think if you have a look on Rockett St George..and have a look at there lighting. ( Just an idea).
    I also love the idea of the bright door to stand out from the black… sounds lovely.

    Fee x

    Ps. Looking forward to your Weddingnesday!

  5. Shelley 01/09/2009 at 6:43 PM #

    Weddingnesday! Perfect! and sneak a few ideas in here and there on other days too 😉
    Love that lighting fixture!

Leave a little love...

