A tale of two birds… and one bathroom

1 Sep

So the other week (Friday 21st to be exact) my little friendship birds arrived from the lovely Huma at Her Little Place. I haven’t found a home for them yet and Huma had suggested that they be featured in a bathroom post so here they are…

photo4

Yes, you’re all going… very good that’s your floor… where’s the rest of your bathroom? Well, it’s 5/6ths there but we still have some tiling to do (the engagement celebrations wiped out our planned day for that), the awol plasterer still has a bit to finish, the radiator needs to go back on the wall… and we put a bit of a spanner in the works (not literally) by deciding we wanted to cover a wall in this wallpaper…

3206734309_15e6389882

Why is this so bad? Because quite simply we can’t afford this wallpaper. Even if we could, a mere 2 rolls costs over £350 to buy and I’m not sure that spending that amount on wallpaper for a bathroom is a good idea! (Especially considering we are wallpaper novices!)

So we searched high and low (if you can do that on the internet) for an alternative and failed miserably until I found a stencil that’s pretty similar. So if we get a full day to ourselves this weekend, we’re going to be brave and give it a go. Well, when I say “we” that probably means the other half is going to do it while I fret behind him!

And once that’s done (and if we’re successful) I can finally show the results! Been a long time coming hasn’t it?

P.S. Huma, I’m actually liking the little birds being in the bathroom a lot!

Second pic via Flickr
6 Responses to “A tale of two birds… and one bathroom”

  1. our little love nest 01/09/2009 at 3:42 PM #

    I like the birds! I am so excited to see the bathroom finished. I wish I was as determined with our home. xoxo

  2. Cowdy Calling 01/09/2009 at 4:28 PM #

    That wallpaper is gorgeous – but if you’ve managed to find a stencil that’s similar, I think it’s probably even better in the long run.

    In my experience, wallpaper doesn’t really like bathrooms all that much… the steam in ours made it peel off the walls :(. We’re only renting though, so not such a disaster.

    I’m so excited to see the finished bathroom results!

    • Conversation Pieces 01/09/2009 at 5:16 PM #

      Oh god, Cowdy, can you imagine if you spent £350 on wallpaper and it peeled off?! You are making me feel so much better now 😀

      I’m excited to see the results too!!

  3. Shelley 01/09/2009 at 6:41 PM #

    Love the floor and the birds!! You can totally copy that look! The fun part about copying that wall paper is… it doesn’t need to be perfect. Just get a couple of different green paints (maybe even water a couple down) and use a sponge or brush. Maybe you can practice a bit on spme paper and see which methods work for you! Good luck!

  4. domestikate84 01/09/2009 at 7:57 PM #

    Ooh that is gorgeous … I’m really into leaves and natural patterns inside at the moment (hence that memo board I’m in love with). You could totally copy that. Can’t wait to see finished photos!

  5. Trishie Koh 02/09/2009 at 1:11 AM #

    Oh, the little birds are so darling! Love the wallpaper but the price is shocking!

Leave a little love...

