Weddingnesday…

2 Sep

n574435334_3144032_2136

Welcome to Weddingnesday… which will (hopefully) become my regular update on all the things weddingy. The plan is this will be a collection of ideas, thoughts and moodboards that may or may not end up help me work out what what me and the other half want to do for our wedding.

A general confession first. Up until about a year and a half ago, I hadn’t ever wanted to get married. Me and the other half have been together a long time and we liked how we were… silly, fun and young (even if we’re not that young anymore). Being married didn’t seem like an ‘us’ thing to do… and as for weddings, well, we were scared stiff of all the formality and expense.

And then my Nana got sick… It was one of those things that you never see coming – how losing someone you love can teach you so much about what you want from your own future. Seeing her and my Papa together in those last months, how much they doted on each other, depended on each other, made us realise how much we had too. And for the first time, we started to talk about what it would mean for us to be married…

After that, we didn’t talk about it for a while until after we found our new place (the dusty old flat I may have mentioned once or twice). We started to talk about how fun it actually could be to have a party/wedding… and then we got to the bit were you can’t talk about it any more as you’re not actually engaged!

Anyway, this is my rather long-winded explanation of why I know nothing about weddings… because I’d never thought I was going to have one and so never bothered to think about what one might be like before now! So I’ve been looking at all your suggested links etc with great interest. The only decisions we have so far made is that we want something fun, informal and a little bit different… and it is also likely to be a humanist wedding (since those are legal in Scotland) and you can have them anywhere you like!

So without much (more) further ado, here’s some of the randomness I’ve been thinking about this week… moustaches, cupcakes and bunting!

tso-0021-1

You might have noticed my moustache obsession already! Here’s what I look like with The Selleck chocolate moustache from Hungry Designs (bought at I Love Candy)… fun but is it a wedding look?!

P1020079

These people think so…

green-bridesmaid-dress-ideas1

19

I’ve also been thinking that it seems very appropriate to have cupcakes at our wedding since one was involved in the other half’s proposal… (I’ve also been looking up recipes for Red Velvet cupcakes that I’ll share soon.)

wedding-cupcake-ideas1

You may have also noticed I have a thing for bunting… the bunting below is 3D and lights up… how DIYtastic right?

diy_june31_7-1

However, this DIY bunting is probably more up to my capabilities…

paper-wedding-banners3

Thought this was a very cute alternative to paper bunting though (and easy to do)… but could be just as pretty with some coloured pegs and string.

wedding-polaroids

P.S. Has anyone noticed that most of the references I’ve been collecting so far are outside? I am forgetting that I live in Scotland?!

1. Taken by my little sis at a Tim Walker Exhibit
2. Miniature moustache stick from Hannah Zakari
3. Me with moustache taken by the other half
4. Via Once Wed
5. ruffled blog via Snippet & Ink
6, 7 and 8. Via Once Wed

14 Responses to “Weddingnesday…”

  1. Polly R 02/09/2009 at 11:26 AM #

    Hi Zoe,
    I love the bunting idea! And the cupcakes sound perfect. If you are still searching for a red velvet cupcake recipe, I used a really good one a while ago. I blogged it back in March:

    http://prettypollysprettythings.blogspot.com/2009/03/red-velvet-cupcakes.html

    It worked really well and they were delicious (if I may say so myself…)

    Polly xx

  2. fat mum slim 02/09/2009 at 11:59 AM #

    You have such beautiful taste. I can’t wait to see more, and more, and MORE!

    I will share photos of my wedding soon for you. You’ll have to remember it was in 2005… so may seem dated now. Oh I’d love to be planning a wedding again. Instead I get to plan girly birthday parties! Yay. x

  3. Fee 02/09/2009 at 6:28 PM #

    You actually made me have a tear in my eye from this!(well maybe afew for than that) I totally understand what you mean.
    My Nan is actually v. ill at the moment and my Grandad has just been so lovely. He was 86 recently and he wrote himself a card from my nan and then told her she’d got him a lovely card. She didnt even know it was his birthday as she got no concept of time anymore.
    It was so so sad but so so loving and that just confirms that I so want to get married and live to be like that.

    On a lighter note, the balloons,the bunting,the cupcakes are all wonderful ideas.. very romantic and fun.

  4. jennifer 02/09/2009 at 7:10 PM #

    i love the hanging luminaries, so fun!

  5. drollgirl 02/09/2009 at 8:30 PM #

    you really have some great ideas here! and the moustaches are hilarious. 🙂

  6. GoldenTouch 02/09/2009 at 9:36 PM #

    Weddingsday! Hilarious. I love the moustache couple and their photo booth!

  7. Patchwork Harmony 02/09/2009 at 10:09 PM #

    what a lovely post! I love everything! esp the moustaches! and cupcakes are definitely a necessity! can’t wait to hear more of your plans! xxx

  8. handmade romance 03/09/2009 at 3:35 AM #

    yay for weddingsday! i will love watching this. you have incredible taste, a lot of the pics you’ve already posted about weddings are in my ‘inspiration folder’. im glad you like the flowers i posted too. i’ve been the same as you never into the idea of a wedding and wouldnt really know where to start, with a family member ill my thoughts have changed recently and i now cant wait for the day i marry the love of my life… : )
    i wish you all the best with the wedding plans x

  9. Augustine 03/09/2009 at 9:46 AM #

    yay for weddingsday! i will love watching this. you have incredible taste, a lot of the pics you've already posted about weddings are in my 'inspiration folder'. im glad you like the flowers i posted too. i've been the same as you never into the idea of a wedding and wouldnt really know where to start, with a family member ill my thoughts have changed recently and i now cant wait for the day i marry the love of my life… : )
    i wish you all the best with the wedding plans x;…

  10. Trishie Koh 04/09/2009 at 6:03 AM #

    The moustaches are hilarious…will make for a really fun wedding i’m sure!

  11. Erin 04/09/2009 at 5:15 PM #

    That first pic with all the balloons is stunning. I’m banking it for my wedding inspiration!

  12. Mmm-mmm-Miranda 08/09/2009 at 12:56 PM #

    Oooh i am so one of those girls who havn’t ever thought of their wedding either. I’m not there yet but I am appreciative of all things to do with hosting a good party so will enjoy following your Weddingsdays! Crumbs and Doillies do some really gorgeous wedding cupcakes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Selleck - 01/03/2010

    […] tasty but they are the perfect prop for photos!  Zoe from Conversation Pieces thinks so too.  Click HERE to be taken to Zoe’s wonderful […]

Leave a little love...

