Friday I’m in love… with the unexpected

4 Sep

It’s been a rather unexpected week. It started out so so happily (as you may have noticed!), then went a bit crappy (a close relative managed to be not so nice about my lovely engagement and other half) and then it got good again as the people who do actually love me rallied round and showed how much they care – with a pizza muffin, some parsnip cake and yellow lilies! (Pizza muffins may be my new favourite snack!)

Anyway, in place of having a random rant (which Wednesday and yesterday I was so tempted to do), I’ve decided to share some very lovely unexpected things that also make me smile. I hope they make you smile too.

1. White Rabbit Lamp from Caravan
It’s a bunny and it’s a light… random, yes, but also rather delightful in an Alice and Wonderland kind of way. (The other half thinks it’s a tiny bit creepy though…)

shop_rabbit_on

2. Butterflies in the Stomach Necklace from Tilly Bloom
If only being nervous was this pretty…

il_430xN.88383871

3. Gather (Square Moss Ring) from Adorn Jewellery
I’ve never had a ring that needed watering and pruning… I’ve also never had much luck with growing things but surely I could manage a ring’s worth?

il_430xN.88226074

4. Ninja vs Pirate Mobile from Salty and Sweet
Ah the age old question who is better… ninjas or pirates? For a very cool baby indeed (though don’t be surprised if they grow up to want to be a pirate or ninja!)

il_430xN.66941032

5. Le Petit Dej’ Breakfast Tray from APlusRStore.com
Just because…

tertaining_ideas_breakfast_tray_with_vase_01_0

6. Ears Cup with Saucer from MomaStore.org
Exactly the kind of cup you need for a girlie catch-up perhaps?

kitchen-decor-ear-cup-moma-01

7. LightBulb Candle from SpoonSisters.com
Love this idea… a lightbulb candle you can ‘plug’ into a lampbase I’m thinking you’d never be able to use lampbase again but maybe it would be good for old vintage ones that are too dodgy to rewire (that’s if you can bare to get them covered in wax)?

creative_home_decorating_lightbulb_candle_01

8. Clutch Light by Scott Jarvie
How fab is this light made of straws? (Yes straws!) So pretty – whether it’s on or off.

ClutchLEAD

Clutch_on-JARVIE

P.S. Have a lovely weekend everyone xx

P.P.S. This is what my pizza muffin looked like…

photopizza

5, 6, 7 and 8 found via Point Click Home
16 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with the unexpected”

  1. Betty 04/09/2009 at 10:24 AM #

    I have the rabbit lamp, I saw one in the window of Liberty’s, but bought my one for half the price at a children’s shop on Columbia Road. My mum laughed but I love her, as does my two year old niece.

  2. evie 04/09/2009 at 2:23 PM #

    pizza muffin hey, never tried that one, looks interesting. good on you for bouncing back after a negative moment in your week. have a lovely weekend x

  3. The Consummate Hostess 04/09/2009 at 2:34 PM #

    The candle is divine! I also enjoy the ring but I am with you, could I actually keep it alive? My track record with plants would say no. Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Stacey 04/09/2009 at 3:03 PM #

    Oh that lamp and tray…I am in love, too.

  5. Waxy 04/09/2009 at 5:43 PM #

    I love the bunny lamp!

  6. Fee 04/09/2009 at 7:35 PM #

    Love the rabbit lamp, very quirky and cute… however i’m so not convinced with that pizza muffin! on the other hand my boyfriend says it looks great.
    Where do you even buy them from, or are they homemade??

    Fee x

    • Conversation Pieces 07/09/2009 at 11:49 PM #

      Fee, we got them from a place called La Cerise which is in Edinburgh (well Leith to be precise) and I can assure you they were very good! Maybe I’ll ask the guy next time if I can have the recipe…

  7. huma 04/09/2009 at 7:39 PM #

    wait, a pizza muffin? Are you serious?! I am enthralled and can not work out if it’s in a good or bad way. As for the relly with the issues, leave them be… concentrate on your own happiness and keep a polite, clueless distance from the ones you are obliged to get along with. Keeping it breezy and light means you never get too close to let them hurt you, and boy, sometimes family really can hurt you. H x

    • Conversation Pieces 07/09/2009 at 11:51 PM #

      Too true Huma. Yup, totally serious on the pizza muffin… Need to go back soon to have another but waiting until it’s a Friday so that it’s a treat!

  8. Eden Rose 04/09/2009 at 10:24 PM #

    eurgh! what is it with people shitting all over people’s happiness?! Do you think it makes them feel better about their lives ? I hope you’re feeling better and can let their negative comments wash right off you, I have a few of those people in my life and they are slowly being cut out for good x. On a lighter note, love love the necklace, what a talking point! The tray is delightful too. x

  9. Cowdy Calling 05/09/2009 at 8:37 AM #

    Oooh – I really want that moss ring (and I don’t even WEAR rings usually).

    It seems very clear to me (hundreds of miles away and we’ve never met!) that you two are going to be an amazing and extremely happy couple.

    I reckon anyone who says otherwise probably has an agenda of some sort, so chin up (a punch on the nose usually does the trick, too :)).

  10. j0annepsi 05/09/2009 at 2:01 PM #

    Hello! I have only recently discovered your blog and just wanted to say how much I *love* it! You find so many beautiful things online, it’s hard for me to stop myself from buying a lot of the things you mention here 🙂

    But I am so buying that rabbit lamp when I get paid!

    Congrats on your engagement btw 🙂

  11. domestikate84 05/09/2009 at 10:55 PM #

    Ha ha, loving the pirates vs ninja’s mobile! And am so glad you posted that picture of the pizza muffin – I had all sorts of weird and wonderful images in my head!

  12. Trishie Koh 07/09/2009 at 6:51 AM #

    Pizza muffin sounds really yum! I really wouldn’t mind one for an afternoon snack.
    Love all the other stuff you featured too!

  13. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 07/09/2009 at 9:03 AM #

    I do love the rabbit lamp – and they’ve also got a rather diabolical kitty playing with a ball of yarn! Congrats on your engagement, that pizza muffin looks amazing. xx

Leave a little love...

