Weddingnesday

9 Sep

love2photo

Yay, it’s Weddingnesday again… I have now been engaged for 2 weeks and 3 days, and here’s what I know so far:

• I’m more of an Offbeat Bride kind of girl than a Brides magazine kind of girl.
We bought the Brides magazine out of interest and then I got completely scared by all the things in it. (Especially the ‘how much the average wedding should cost’ feature!) The cover stories of ‘fairytale dresses’ and ‘new ways with white’ really should have given the game away. Thankfully a friend then lent me the Offbeat Bride book and I’m now feeling slightly less freaked out!

• I’m no longer sure that I want to get a replacement engagement ring.
After 2 weeks and 3 days of my perspex diamond ring, I’ve grown rather protective of it. (Especially after the day we thought one of the cats had eaten it!) There have been a few people who have either been entirely confused by my ring or outright plain rude about it… and it really has made me wonder whether I should get another one or not. I kind of like the fact that it’s a bit more ‘us’ than a normal engagement ring. I guess we’ll see… especially as I’m currently much more obsessed with kitchens than diamonds. (Ours is a crazy kind of love indeed.)

• I’m going to have to face up to the fact that we live in Scotland at some point.
As you’re about to see, I’m still obsessed with the idea of having our wedding outside… I don’t even want to count how many nice days there were in Scotland this year but there weren’t many.

Anyway, on top of all that, this what I’ve been thinking about this week wedding-wise… trees, fairylights and flowers.

Rock Garden

So far me and the other half have only discussed one venue… when we were down in London we saw people getting married in the plant house in the Barbican and since the other half popped the question it did strike me that we could maybe get married in Edinburgh’s Royal Botanic Gardens (above).

Now I can’t quite decide if this is a great idea or just a mad idea. You see we live very near to these Gardens (in fact, we call it our garden) and we’ve been going there for years even when we didn’t live nearby so it is very personal to us. However we had a quick look at the prospectus and it seems, well, a little stuffy… and I’m not entirely sure they’d let me hang fairylights off their trees like these people…

3807311838_42e903848f_o

3807312108_b9ba1822fd_o

How pretty are all those pics? My little sis sent me the link to Scout Holiday‘s wedding and I love it to bits. It has heart-shaped balloons, bunting, fairylights, origami – what’s not to like?

I’m also loving these flowers in jars that I spotted over at Handmade Romance.

leif3leif2

So pretty but also rather thrifty which I’m loving too. The other half buys me yellow flowers probably every fortnight (it started after I accused him of not being romantic about a year or so ago… yes I know you think I’m insane now!) and I keep thinking how pretty the ones we have in the living room are right now. There’s a big bunch of yellow lilies in a vase and one little flower that fell off that’s in a shot glass…

flower

I’m thinking it might be a bad idea to have shot glasses at the wedding though… there will probably be hangovers enough!

Anyway, I’m also loving this wedding… (make that adoring this wedding!)

100lc_rwjeffbrittni1

100lc_rwjeffbrittni5

100lc_rwjeffbrittni10a

I spotted Brittni and Jeff’s wedding over on 100 Layer Cake. How gorgeous is that 200 year old oak tree? I’m also going all girlie over the yellowy theme and her short dress. It will be interesting to see if I still feel the same about short wedding dresses when I actually come to try some on…

Ok, that’s all the weddingy stuff from me for one week. Happy Weddingnesday everyone xx

15 Responses to “Weddingnesday”

  1. Laura 09/09/2009 at 9:20 AM #

    Why don’t you get your current engagement ring made the same but out of a more durable material, after all we hope that you’ll be proudly wearing it for a long time! You could even just add an additional layer of gold or silver etc added to one side of the perspex ring, again to make it more durable but actually keep the initial idea, romance and sentiment there. That sounds good to me.

    Love all the bunting ideas and the flowers in jars.

    “Fairy tale” dresses are also not my thing, but I love watching “don’t tell the bride” was on last night, BBC3 where the guy has to plan the wedding alone. Watching that show would really make you understand what NOT to have.

    • Conversation Pieces 15/09/2009 at 5:10 PM #

      Laura – I love that idea! In fact, so much so that I have been looking into it… I may reveal more tomorrow on Weddingnesday! 😉

      P.S. Have seen a clip of ‘don’t tell the bride’ now… why would you do that? oh dear, oh dear… the groom was in oxfam to pick her dress. (not knocking oxfam but she didn’t look like a charity bride!)

  2. Becky 09/09/2009 at 9:20 AM #

    Loving the maaasssive tree! Where can I get me one of those! x

  3. Fay 09/09/2009 at 10:14 AM #

    Congratulations! The wedding pictures just made me swoon, you must must must use the Botanic Gardens, what a superb location. It certainly beats a hotel or golf club which is popular nowadays. Those wedding magazines make me cringe, glad you’ve spurred them too. Can I just say that we did our wedding on a serious budget and it is totally possible, with the help of your family and friends and being a little thrifty here and there. I look forward to more beautiful ideas! Fay x

  4. EdenRose 09/09/2009 at 3:09 PM #

    I love your ring, you should keep it, I like the idea of adding to it though, perhaps get a diamond inlaid into it on your first anniversary. Garden weddings always look blissful but in the UK you just can’t rely on the weather. Loving the inspiration your having, keep it coming. x ps, i cant believe iv met someone ele (well, via the web anyway) who picks up the poor broken flowers at the bottom of the flower bag and puts them in a shot glass to keep them alive! I do that always, we always have a little rose head or a lily head in a random place in the house. 🙂 x

    • Conversation Pieces 15/09/2009 at 5:11 PM #

      Ah, my broken flower twin! I’d never really thought about the fact that we do that… just always seems a shame that it doesn’t make it to the vase! I’m such a sap…

  5. jennifer 09/09/2009 at 4:39 PM #

    lovely pictures!

  6. Lynne, Tea for Joy 09/09/2009 at 5:54 PM #

    I’ve never been into engagement rings much, I don’t think I would actually have one – I have had a few friends who haven’t bothered.

    I love the flowers in jam jars – I love doing that myself. I love yellow flowers too – I think I would like to get married in daffodil season and just have tons of daffodils.

    I am sure it will be a very stylish wedding indeed!

    • Conversation Pieces 15/09/2009 at 5:12 PM #

      Oooh, daffodil season sounds divine… will be putting that on my wish-list Lynne!

  7. domestikate84 09/09/2009 at 6:04 PM #

    Ooh we once saw a wedding in the Botanics, it was beautiful. They had rows of chairs out in a wee clearing amongst those really tall trees. Looked super! Also, my boss got married outside in May and it was fab, they hired a big house in the Borders and everyone stayed there and they got married in the garden. Be brave!

  8. Trishie Koh 10/09/2009 at 7:49 AM #

    Love the 2nd wedding a lot. Also like how you’re protective of your perspect ring…that is so cute and i’m sure holds special meaning for you…but remember it won’t last forever like a diamond will so take super super good care of it!

    Hmm, I wonder if i’m an offbeat bride or a magazine bride?!

  9. evie 10/09/2009 at 10:27 AM #

    aw the scout holiday wedding is my fav!! isnt it just the cutest. everything about it i love! thanks for sharing your inspiration, i hadnt heard of offbeat bride – sounds good to me. the whole traditional wedding this is extremely daunting i think, not something i would be at all comfortable with. i say do it your way!! an individual wedding that reflects the bride and groom is so special. the last wedding you have posted is a sweetie. love the yellow bunting : )

  10. Pillar Box Post 10/09/2009 at 2:30 PM #

    A former colleague used a non traditional method in regards to her engagement ring, and I always found it so cool! She didn’t have one particular ring, just a giant collection of statement rings, but she ALWAYS had something on that finger. I like the idea of doing that, and picking up different inexpensive rings (or maybe more expensive as well if we’re dreaming big!) from different places you travel together or on other little adventures. It would help if you didn’t wear any other rings, so that you have this statement about your love ( i know corny, but happy as well) but reflects how your relationship/styles evolves. Did I just look way too deep into rings/marriage? I might have, but I definitely like the sounds of it!

    • Conversation Pieces 15/09/2009 at 5:13 PM #

      Pillar Box Post, that is such a cool idea and very unconventional… the other half looked vaguely pained when I read it out to him though! 😉

  11. Joyce 09/10/2009 at 11:40 PM #

    Congratulations Zoe!! Just found out you’re newly engaged! I never used to think I’d enjoy planning our wedding but I’m having so much fun with it!! Thanks for stopping by my blog too!

    I didn’t get a replacement ring but if I did, I think I would have wanted a proper engagement ring anyway. But really it’s up to you because, saying that I hardly wear my engagement ring out. Lolz..

Leave a little love...

