Friday I’m in love… with kitchens

11 Sep

Kitchens? Yup, you read that right. Kitchens. We haven’t even finished the bathroom and already I’m dreaming about the new kitchen. I think it’s a side effect of having the bathroom nearly done – one room has gone from being pretty grim to, well, pretty… and by comparison our kitchen looks even crappier. (Plus our tolerance levels of lack of storage, lack of proper oven etc are wearing pretty thin.)

Right now we’re hoping to either have a kitchen by my birthday or by Christmas (we just need to work out our sums a bit more)… But here are some of the beautiful kitchens we wouldn’t mind Santa bringing (or the birthday fairy…)

Regular readers will know how crazy I am about yellow and black right now… I also am not a big fan of handles and I love glossy doors so this should be my dream kitchen…

main

Except it’s not… this currently is… God, I’m loving that green!

retro+kitchen

f''

Then again… how cheerful would it be to wake up in the morning and come through to this room for my morning cup of green tea (and there’s no handles in this one either)

main-1

This one is also relentlessly cheery… however I think I’m being sucked in by the bunting here (don’t you hate when bunting does that to you?). Actually when I analyse it – this isn’t too far off what we have now. No storage, no oven to be seen and a sink… stick a George Foreman in there and that’s us (just minus the bunting). So maybe not…

main-2

I’m also half tempted by this kitchen but I think that might mainly be because of the yellow chair (and those drawers)…

2969151451_cbef3e8195

This is a little closer to what we have planned… in no way other than we like the idea of having double wall cabinets to give us extra storage. We have a rather odd shaped kitchen with an alcove bit so we want to put cabinets pretty much all the way up to the ceiling – the other half thinks that will make us look like a deli?

cf020299_40996470

Oh bother… all this looking at kitchens is getting me too excited and impatient. At least whatever we end up with it won’t look like this!

P1010243

P.S. The kitchen is in a slightly better state than this now… the walls have been papered, the floor sheeted, we have shade on that bare bulb… getting there slowly but surely! Make that very slowly but very surely!

P.P.S. Have a lovely weekend everyone. Hope you’re up to something fun? xx

1. Via Living Etc
2 and 3. Retro Kitchen designed by Eliana Tomas
4 and 5. Via Living Etc
6. Via Door Sixteen
7. Via The Seventy Tree
12 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with kitchens”

  1. Cowdy Calling 11/09/2009 at 10:43 AM #

    Oooh – I have a thing about kitchens too – I always feel they’re the cosy hub of any home.

    I’m sort of behind the farmhouse kitchen vibe – a bit like the one with the bunting but with that walloping table unpainted.

    And I’ve wanted an enormous kitchen fireplace ever since I saw the Tudor ones at Hampton Court Palace…. impractical or what??

  2. Eliana Tomas 11/09/2009 at 11:35 AM #

    Thank You for mentioning my project.
    First time i see my interior design featured in another blog but mine… funny feeling :):):)

    Let’s keep in touch.
    Kisskiss
    Eliana

  3. Meg 11/09/2009 at 1:16 PM #

    Kitchens are massively on my mind at the moment. We’ve just ordered reclaimed oak worktops for ours which I am very excited about and the room is taking shape very, very slowly but surely. Can’t wait to have it all finished!

    The pics are fab. I love the eclectic kitchen with the pink curtain and the yellow chair – those drawers are fab! And bunting always sucks me in as well 🙂 But all of them are gorgeous.

    x

  4. our little love nest 11/09/2009 at 3:35 PM #

    Wow…I love that top one and the one with the buntings. I can’t believe your drive. I wish I had that much drive and energy when it came to our home. Happy weekend! xo

  5. our little love nest 11/09/2009 at 3:39 PM #

    Ha! I re-read your post and giggled at what I just typed to you. Just a bit daft, I am.
    (I obviously like a kitchen with nothing in it at all 😉 and I adore bright yellow with grey)

  6. huma 11/09/2009 at 6:18 PM #

    that yellow-grey-black one is seriously uber cool.
    you could get that bright yellow jug from Rice too and stick it on the counter!
    x

  7. Down Comforter 12/09/2009 at 2:10 AM #

    I do really like them all, but the yellow and gray is my fave!

  8. Patchwork Harmony 12/09/2009 at 10:34 AM #

    I love number 5 – those drawers look so fab in the kitchen, and I like the splashes of bright pink & yellow.

  9. Poppy 14/09/2009 at 5:13 PM #

    Oooh I’m loving yellow and white though grey and black are good too! Nothing like a gorgeous kitchen to get your creative juices flowing!

  10. EdenRose 15/09/2009 at 1:45 PM #

    I am deeply yearning for a miss matched kitchen with haberdashery drawers, large farmhouse table and open shelves rather then fitted wall cabinets. Why do you torture me with lovely kitchen pics like that, My kitchen is only two years old, i will never get away with a new one for at least another 3 years. 😦
    Cant wait to see what kitchen you go for!!!

  11. Fee 17/09/2009 at 8:34 PM #

    Oh your ceiling height and that window with the shutters! Very lovely… even lovelier when done i’m sure.

    Ive got cream high gloss doors in my own kitchen without handles, on push catches. It looks sooo much better, so easy to clean too.
    The first image is my favourite, very stricting especially love the flooring and the walls. Good contrast.

    Fee x

Leave a little love...

