Weddingnesday… all the fun of a fair

16 Sep

fair

Back before we were engaged, one of the things I had said (more jokingly than anything) was that I could see us doing was something silly like having a fair instead of a wedding. This idea has kind of stuck with us (my little sis is obsessed with the idea of us getting married on a carousel) so I when I stumbled across these engagement photos (does anyone do these in the UK?), I had to share them…

9

(Don’t you love her dress? I so want it!)

856

Then I spotted this couple’s 1920s themed wedding which involves a ferris wheel…

1920s-2

Which is great… but not really very Scottish when you think about it. However, we still like the idea of striped stalls, mini candy floss and coconut shys… Or maybe we’ve just gone a little coco-loco!

The other weddingy thing we talked about this week (in fact, this was our main topic) was my engagement ring… On the other half’s insistence I’ve been looking for a more ‘permanent’ one and so far I’ve found lots of rings that were really lovely but didn’t seem right… However we have stumbled across something that suits us both that we’re both really happy with. The other says I’m not allowed to share it though until he buys it for me!

Happy weddingnesday everyone xx

P.S. On a little aside just in case you’ve noticed it, I’ve set up a Weddingnesday blog… now don’t worry (if you would!) I’m not chucking in Conversation Pieces, this new blog is just so I can group together all the weddingy posts I put up here. I’m more a wordpress girl than a blogspot one so it’s currently pretty rough round the edges. Feel free to have a look but it’s exactly the same babble just on a different site 😉

1. Love is in the Air by irenesuchocki
2. Engagement pics via Snippet & Ink
3. 1930s wedding pics via Project Wedding
8 Responses to “Weddingnesday… all the fun of a fair”

  1. Polly R 16/09/2009 at 11:03 AM #

    I love the idea of a funfair! very romantic. her dress is indeed very nice!

  2. Patchwork Harmony 16/09/2009 at 1:33 PM #

    awh! these are so amazing! you have got so many good wedding ideas – so good plan with the new blog! x

  3. Meg 16/09/2009 at 5:24 PM #

    A friend of mine had a village fete themed wedding complete with a coconut shy and various different stalls. They got some willing friends to dress up in stripey blazers and straw boaters and host the whole thing. They did it with limited budget and a massive amount of imagination to fantastic effect!!

    A funfair would be fantastic – imagine photos of the two of you eating candy floss. Fab!

    xx

    • Conversation Pieces 17/09/2009 at 12:18 PM #

      That’s so fab, Meg. Would love to see pics! And how lovely of their friends to actually dress up 😉

  4. our little love nest 16/09/2009 at 8:21 PM #

    I love those and I so agree with you on that girl’s dress! Too cute! xoxo

  5. Fee 17/09/2009 at 8:38 PM #

    I want to use the word magical for these images! But I wont.

    Her dress goes with the fun fair, wonderful images.

    Fee x

  6. Samantha 17/09/2009 at 9:31 PM #

    I LOOOOVE the idea of a fair instead of a wedding. It is so perfect I thought WHY DIDNT I THNK OF THAT?!?!!? I would kill to be your photographer.

Leave a little love...

