Friday I'm in love… with polaroids

18 Sep

5cf8e212d862302f19da92a412fc2d4d24fe3eb3_m

Ever since I got my iphone and discovered the Polarize application, I’ve been in love again with Polaroids. There’s just something about them that makes them look so dreamy, so summery and so nostalgic – even if you only took them half an hour ago.

Now all this new fangled polarizing is making me think I should really dig out my old Polaroid camera and see if I can track down some film for it. (It’s not an old, old one but one from 1999… though I guess to some of you that’s really old!) There is part of me that’s thinking ‘oh no, you won’t be able to edit out the bad pics’ but then the rest of me is going ‘yay, no more every-flaw-showing-digital’. That and I think people always pull a better expression for a Polaroid camera 🙂

I know I’m not alone in this Polaroid loving so I thought for today’s Friday I’m in love I would share some stuff by people who love Polaroid as much as I do if not more! (P.S. How cute is the Polaroid heart? Such a cute idea.)

1. I Heart Polaroid necklace by Plastic Bat from Hannah Zakari
Why wear your heart on your sleeve when you can wear it on a tiny Polaroid and hang it round your neck? (Answers on a Polaroid postcard please.)

plb-0063-1

2. Good Time Ring by Yellow Goat
I love this idea – a custom-made ring with a mini Polaroid pic of your choice. The only problem I forsee is actually deciding what photo you want (I imagine this might be easier for people with kids or people who really really really love their pets!).

il_430xN.89076531

3. In Loving Memory Brooches from Helpless Romantic
Did you shed a tear the day the Polaroid died? Helpless Romantic did apparently and then they made this tear ring and these cute little brooches. (I now have ‘American Pie’ stuck in my head. Stupid brain.)

300-2300300-1

4. Polaroid Postcard from Tea for Joy’s papermash
Do you love anyone enough to send them a Polaroid postcard? (You can count yourself too you know!)

picnic_polaroid_375

5. Ceramic Polaroid via SwissMiss
This makes me think of those carved headstones you get in graveyards (sorry that wasn’t a very Friday thought was it?). This could be your daily reminder of how much you need a Polaroid camera in your life or you could just use it as a paperweight – your call.

yo_pola_front_xl

********************************************************************************************

On a slightly unrelated note (but I’ve put them in Polaroid-style pics so it counts right?) I got a rather lovely package in the mail the other day…

photo2

It was from the lovely Nath from La Petit Oiseau. I’d decided to use some of our engagement money to buy something I’ve had my eye on for a while… Nath’s Ziggy Stardust plate. (Ok, she didn’t call it that I did!) It’s so pretty and very cool, and I’m so not doing it justice with my iphone pics… if only I had some Polaroid camera film. (See there was a proper link in the end!)

photo

P.S. Are you a Polaroid fan or a digital gal (or boy)?

P.P.S. Happy Friday… Hope you have a lovely weekend x

First pic via Apartment Therapy ohdeedoh
14 Responses to “Friday I'm in love… with polaroids”

  1. Brit 18/09/2009 at 9:49 AM #

    The polaroid wall decoration is very original – funny idea !

  2. Laura 18/09/2009 at 10:01 AM #

    I have a polaroid which I think is from 1999 too. It was like a silver edition or something, and my sisters is a retro one from the early 90’s or late 80’s. Still all good, but shame it’s going to be harder to find film now, although having that application on iphone is a good idea.

    Love La petit Oiseau’s plates too!

  3. jofindlay 18/09/2009 at 11:04 AM #

    I may have to steal the wall heart idea – that is fantastic, I also love the polaroid necklace and your new plates are very pretty (as is the packaging) 😀 xx

  4. Lucy 18/09/2009 at 12:42 PM #

    There is a campaign to get the Polaroid factory up and running again….there is no more film being produced and the last stocks have run out, plus I believe the cameras are no longer in production – boo!

    My favourite cameras are my two Lomo cameras (Fisheye & Holga) which take the most beautiful and flattering photos which you can tint and double expose and…all sorts of crazy things.

    I’m definitely a film girl – I get sooo excited waiting for my film to be developed!

  5. Fee 18/09/2009 at 2:45 PM #

    Love love the ceremic polaroid, so lovely and the postcards, so retro-ish and cute.

    I cant say im into polaroid girl! I like taking too many photos for that. It would cost WAY to much.

  6. Leanne 18/09/2009 at 3:23 PM #

    I love love love polaroids! I bought an old camera from a car boot sale for £2 but never have enough money to buy the film!
    As far as I was aware you could still buy the film (20) from Boots for £19.99 so am suprised and confused as to what Lucy said!
    However I won’t miss out as like your iphone app, I have a polaroid creating software on my computer 🙂
    Happy friday to you too! 🙂 ox

  7. our little love nest 18/09/2009 at 5:20 PM #

    Polaroids are a love of mine….best memories of photography as a kid. I love the heart grouping of them in the top photo. xoxo

  8. Polly R 18/09/2009 at 6:34 PM #

    I really want to start using my polaroid camera again (I got it for my 10th birthday!) but all polaroid film is soooo expensive. Do you know the best place to get some? xxx

  9. Lucy 18/09/2009 at 8:52 PM #

    Sorry, here is the link to the Save Polaroid project….

    http://www.the-impossible-project.com

    Might make more sense now! The Observer did an ‘end of Polaroid’ feature a few weekends ago….

  10. fat mum slim 18/09/2009 at 8:59 PM #

    We have film here in Australia, plus I have stocked up a bit at home. I love polaroids. One of the biggest fans out. Some people take amazing photos with them. Me… not so much. But it’s fun all the same. x

  11. Eliana Tomas 20/09/2009 at 1:52 PM #

    fantastic article… amazing collection of photos.
    i love the polaroid necklace.

  12. GoldenTouch 20/09/2009 at 6:03 PM #

    I love everything you have pictured, seriously.

    And the layout.

    xxx

  13. jessica / miniature rhino 21/09/2009 at 4:58 AM #

    nothing like the instant object of a polaroid. just learned about this polaroid opp…
    http://www.idpure.ch/book_projects/expiredpolaroidproject.asp
    thought i’d share….

  14. Poppy 21/09/2009 at 10:30 AM #

    Oooh i LOVE Polaroid! There’s a Japanese company which has launched a digital polaroid style camera. Very cute and compace, it prints your digital pics straight away!

    http://www.bjp-online.com/public/showPage.html?page=828410

    I want the pink one!

Leave a little love...

