On the fringe of things

8 Oct

So this time last week I got my hair cut… and I got a fringe. Now regulars to this blog may have spotted my fringe longings before and that I also said I knew they didn’t suit me. Well, I forgot that they didn’t suit me and went ahead and got one anyway. I was hoping it would look like this…

6e3309d6e79458d52f696cc90b0db2004e86e3fa_m

Or this…
e0fb2ca9c582ec8aea8e5f7db2951e7dfa4796c2_m

Or even this… (are you spotting a theme here?)
6d6e88bfa4c27fbf961df1e6af1531c3758bffb5_m

But instead it sort of looks more like this… Partly because I’ve been wearing the fringe to the side as I really don’t suit it straight across (it makes me look older and younger at the same time which is just a bit weird!)

501086b9b4a2db84ceb9a948c3f4dc531c1fefb7_m

Not necessarily a bad thing I know but not quite what I was hoping for. And now today I have the ‘dyeing’ bit of my hair appointment (I didn’t have time last week to get a cut and colour) and I’m so tempted to go red… bright red… Florence and The Machine red…

Florence++The+Machine+florence

But the other half has advised I stop meddling for the moment (that and he likes my hair dark)… and he’s usually right on these things.  I’ve also just thought of the lyrics of the Sunscreen song by Baz Luhrmann… “Don’t mess too much with your hair, or by the time you’re 40, it will look 85.” Hmmmm…

All pics via ffffound (except last which is via lastfm)
7 Responses to “On the fringe of things”

  1. nath 08/10/2009 at 10:51 PM #

    sounds cute. and you certainly have an Amelie-esque elfin-ish thing going on in the photograph in the post below this. and i like the idea of going very red. i have been thinking about it for a while but haven’t quite got there yet. Lula is all about the redheads this issue, it’s timely i say!

  2. Janne 09/10/2009 at 10:40 AM #

    Hahaha. Been there, done that! I’ve only just managed to grow out my fringe (which got side-swept and messy for months and months). And now I’m wondering if I should get a fringe again. I think someone’s messing with my head…

    As for messing with your hair – I started dying it out of necessity (OK – vanity) in my early thirties, due to going grey early. Now I’m 40 and about to give up – 4 weeks after my hairdresser appointment I have a silvercoloured parting again… It costs a small fortune every time. What’s a girl to do? Surrender? And look 85…? I’m seeing my hairdresser on Tuesday.

    Good luck with your hair! I’m sure you would look great as a readhead as well as dark, fringe or no fringe.

  3. Cowdy Calling 09/10/2009 at 1:02 PM #

    Oh cripes I can relate to this. Every time I manage to grow a weird cut/colour out, I say ‘thank God for that… never again…’ but somehow the hair devil inside me decides to pipe up a few months later…

    I hate to sound old and boring, but I reckon people’s natural hair colour generally does suit them best!

    • Conversation Pieces 12/10/2009 at 10:46 PM #

      Cowdy I think you might be right (people’s natural hair colour does suits them best) but I went and got it dyed red anyway!

  4. our little love nest 09/10/2009 at 7:29 PM #

    now I am thinking about a fringe too, after those photos but they so don’t suit my square-ish face either
    xoxo
    ~dee

  5. huma 11/10/2009 at 5:04 PM #

    Aw, don’t get upset over a fringe!
    I did this twice – first time, got a fringe cut, initially hated it and spent two months looking like a 12 year old by bobby-pinning it back until it was long enough to sweep to the side. and then when it was long enough to keep on the side i decided I liked it for a while…
    then it grew out, I left it for a year, and then bang! Let’s have a fringe again, and the whole emotional turmoil starts again.

    Now though, twice bitten, four-times shy. Sometimes I play with the idea of “ooh, fringe” when I see people with Great Hair like Zoeey D, but then I am reminded of the initial trauma of the First Fringe Cut.

    It looks cute though in the pic below. And when it’s a teeny tiny bit longer you can muss it up and do all sorts.
    H xx

    • Conversation Pieces 12/10/2009 at 10:48 PM #

      I really should have known Huma… I had a fringe when I was 12 and I’m not sure it even suited me then 😉 It is amazing how much emotional turmoil hair can cause!!

Leave a little love...

