Weddingnesday… rings and things

14 Oct

ringb

So as of last week, I have two engagement rings… I have my original perspex ring and a second, more permanent one. Initially I wasn’t that keen on getting a ‘replacement’ ring. I love the ring the other half picked for me and I didn’t want to ruin the specialness of it (gosh that sounds sappy!) by choosing something else. However the other half insisted that he wanted to get me something… and after the day in which we ‘lost’ the engagement ring I ended up agreeing. (We never actually lost the ring… just put it down on a patterned placemat which turned it virtually invisible!)

Anyway, my hunt for a replacement ring wasn’t really that extensive… I looked at Tales of a Junkaholic‘s RUST rings and the ring that Meg Gets Crafty suggested… all of which were gorgeous but didn’t feel like they were related to my original ring.

So I decided to try and find one that was similar but in metal… and came across this diamond ring by Mia van Beek.

il_430xN.54918122

Now it is a similar shape but a very very very different price to my original… and we started to debate that if we/he was going to spend that kind of money surely it should be something I really really loved… Which just about brought me back full circle to ‘do I need one at all?’

Then I came across this ring by Jeweller on the Roof and thought ooooh this is pretty…

il_430xN.62865789

But it still didn’t really seem ‘right’. And then, via the magic of google, I came across the maker of my perspex ring… and discovered that they would custom make my ring in gold. So here it is…

ring3

(You’re also getting a sneak peek of one of our reupholstery projects there too!) We both really like the gold version but we have been saying the perspex one is still our favourite… I guess we’re like kids who prefer the box to the toy!

And now for the ‘things’ of this post… did you see Anna Friel in her vintage wedding dress? Ok, she was wearing it on a night out but how amazing does she look?

article-1216832-06A30A6C000005DC-997_468x685

It made me think of this wedding dress I spotted over on Etsy from Miss Bombshell

il_430xN.21035308

So pretty but do you think you could still dance in a dress like this?

And talking of dancing… have you seen this wedding entrance video? A friend sent it to me the other day and it almost made me wish we did want a church wedding. How much would you be laughing if you were one of their guests? Brilliant. We might have to work on our dance skills if we wanted to do something like this! ๐Ÿ˜‰


Happy Weddingnesday everyone xx

Anna Friel pic via Daily Mail
19 Responses to “Weddingnesday… rings and things”

  1. domestikate84 14/10/2009 at 10:45 AM #

    Ooh the gold ring is fab! What a great idea, it looks amazing, and is still really fun. Also, is that Cath Kidston fabric I spy??

  2. mysparethoughts 14/10/2009 at 11:28 AM #

    Perfect! I’m really glad that you found what you were looking for. What a brilliant solution.

  3. Rebecca 14/10/2009 at 11:31 AM #

    you could call the gold ring your eternity ring, and the perspex one your engagement ring, since its the one he proposed with, and wear both together with your wedding band ๐Ÿ™‚ I love them both!

  4. Claire 14/10/2009 at 2:03 PM #

    I LOVE it!
    how exciting that it’s here – i think Rebecca’s idea is fab – although (traditionally) eternity rings were given after the birth of your first child so if you use up that “excuse” now that means no more rings…

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Anne 14/10/2009 at 4:37 PM #

    That dress (Anna Friel’s) is absolutely divine !!!!! I really have asoft spot for wedding gowns, too. Thanks for posting all these lovely pictures. I have added some winter wedding accessories to my collection lately – you wanne take a look? cheerio from berlin, frollein von sofa

  6. nath 14/10/2009 at 5:40 PM #

    oh that ring is so amazing, i’d like to see some more pictures of it please. and Anna does look beautiful in that dress, and i think something like that could look incredible on you, you should try some dresses like that on! how exciting!

  7. made-good 14/10/2009 at 7:57 PM #

    I love both rings, in fact I loved all the ones you looked at. Its completely unique and think it will look fab with your wedding ring.. cannot wait to see that and the wedding dress too…

  8. Laura 14/10/2009 at 9:22 PM #

    Your upgrade ring is so nice and I’m really pleased you went with the same ring but in a material that will last forever and you can stack them for sure!!! Personally I think a little sparkle might be missing, but perhaps for an anniversary your other half could get you a baguette cut jewel to fit just snug into the very top of the diamond shape. That sounds yummy. I think I am convincing myself of that too!!

  9. Cowdy Calling 15/10/2009 at 10:09 AM #

    I LOVE the ring – I guess you could even wear them both on the same finger if you wanted to?

    And the vid – yup – absolutely brilliant – I was spluttering into my tea!

    I was a bridesmaid last year for my best mate, and for her first dance we all got up and did this choreographed routine to a song from ‘Grease’ – you know ‘We go together, like shakalakalakalakadingadeedingdidong’?

    Yup – that one :).

  10. artemis 15/10/2009 at 3:34 PM #

    Oh that ring is fantastic! such a good idea that it matches your perspex ring! I agree with Anna’s dress too, I love that creamy satin, it really looks its best when its at least 60 years old! ; )

  11. Conversation Pieces 15/10/2009 at 8:08 PM #

    Rebecca, Claire โ€“ I’d never heard of an eternity ring before now โ€“ can you tell I’m new to all this?!

    Cowdy – I was actually wearing them both on the night the other half gave me the gold one โ€“ think they look better apart but it does work ๐Ÿ™‚ Is there a vid of your friend’s first dance? Would love to see that!

    Artemis โ€“ agreed on the satin โ€“ but I’d be so worried I’d rip it! So glam me!!

  12. Trishie Koh 16/10/2009 at 5:10 AM #

    Love the gold ring! It is cute and just perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Cowdy Calling 16/10/2009 at 9:57 AM #

    Zoe – sadly no video of the dance. Well, sadly for you, good for me :).

  14. Jenny 16/10/2009 at 3:28 PM #

    I love Anne Friel’s dress……

  15. Clare 21/10/2009 at 12:49 PM #

    I think the gold version matching the original perspex is such a lovely idea! If you wear them on the same finger do they both end up looking gold due to the transparency?

    Its very pathetic of me, but eventhough I thought it was a bit cheesy to begin with, that dancing wedding video made me really emotional! I think this confirms that I’m feeling a bit hormonal…

  16. Joyce 25/10/2009 at 6:09 AM #

    I love your ring!!! It’s utterly different and unconventional!!!

    I saw the wedding dance and got all choked up!! Really weird coz it’s such an upbeat entrance too!!

  17. Lila Wolff 09/10/2010 at 3:13 AM #

    I adore your ring, absolutely gorgeous

  18. beautyh2t 30/03/2011 at 1:37 PM #

    I love love love this, those rings are the most unique and amazing things I have seen. Really Stunning! Glad I found your blog ( through Ann and the Glasgow event) Look forward to meeting you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Bx

Leave a little love...

