Blurrgh…

15 Oct

3314967582_b34ec2cbcf

So my cold turns out not to be a cold… Well, I never said I went to medical school but it seemed likely to me. Due to the weird pain I ‘ve been getting inbetween my shoulders, the doctor seemed to think I was having a heart attack when I phoned this morning.

Obviously I wasn’t.

Her other suggestion was that I had a stomach ulcer.

It didn’t seem likely either.

But I went into the doctors anyway, and spent an hour lying almost horizontal in the waiting room while everyone else got seen (I mean everyone else… even people who came in 45 mins after me got seen first… she obviously had decided I wasn’t having a heart attack by that point!)

And so it turns out I have an atypical chest infection. Which is kind of typical of me really. I can’t have a normal chest infection, no, I have to have an odd one. But atypical or not, I now have antibiotics and have been told/ordered to rest. Which is something I’m terrible at but I’m really going to have to do unless I want to feel like this for another 3 weeks.

So what do you do when you’re off sick? Think I need some suggestions as I’m currently just scowling at Colin and Justin’s 60 Minute Makeover… I’m not convinced it’s making me feel any better!

Image via anna melcon bond
16 Responses to “Blurrgh…”

  1. mysparethoughts 15/10/2009 at 2:50 PM #

    Oh no you poor thing. Make sure you do rest!!
    Activities for a sick person; reading, blogging, sleeping, bubble baths, jigsaws, TV boxsets, eating chocolate and ice-cream which will soothe your throat.
    get better soon.x

    • Conversation Pieces 15/10/2009 at 7:56 PM #

      TV boxset would be a plan… might have to force other half to rent me something from blockbuster… Think I’m too impatient for a jigsaw – that and I think I would get halfway through and a cat would probably come and sit on it! 😉

  2. Becca 15/10/2009 at 3:15 PM #

    That sounds awful, I hope you feel better soon!
    I was off ill last week and found myself playing Plants vs Zombies on my laptop (a free Pop Cap game, ridiculously addictive) and reading far too many blogs. I thought it might be ideal internet time to be spent on finding wedding inspiration but that much time gets you a bit weddinged out!
    Ooo and I caught up on the tv series’ that I hadn’t got round to watching, watched girl films that the other half would hate.
    I also ate a lot of sweets but I have sweet consumption amnesia so I might have been good!

    • Conversation Pieces 15/10/2009 at 7:59 PM #

      Oooh so going to have to check out plants vs zombies… have been playing my friend’s game superpocus on facebook today and it does seem to take the brain off the general feeling crappiness. Unfortunately don’t have any appetite at the moment which is a bit rubbish as the other half has gone and bought me lots of nice things to eat… you know you’re feeling bad when you can’t manage chocolate buttons!!

  3. tejidosyrarezas 15/10/2009 at 7:42 PM #

    sorry to hear about your sickness.. i had been follow your blog for a while.. is great¡¡¡

  4. nath 15/10/2009 at 7:43 PM #

    oh dear. that sounds pretty rough. start watching True Blood or Dexter or Six Feet Under. that should keep you out of trouble for a while. otherwise i think mysparethoughts has covered it all. luxuriate (as much as someone with an atypical chest infection can), in time to do with what you will.

    • Conversation Pieces 15/10/2009 at 8:01 PM #

      I haven’t seen any of Dexter… a friend recommended it ages ago but I haven’t had the time yet… so that might be the very thing. Also yes to True Blood… I’m hooked already… don’t have fx though so can’t watch any more episodes than there’s been c4. Think there should be a special allowance made for people with viruses so they can watch anything they like on TV and not be stuck with countdown!!

  5. evie 15/10/2009 at 9:19 PM #

    oh that sucks i really hope you get better soon x
    and i love the gold version of your ring in the below post such a wonderful idea!

  6. Trishie Koh 16/10/2009 at 5:09 AM #

    Oh dear….hope you get better real soon.
    Last time i was sick, i did a whole lot of cross stitching, it helped pass the time.

    • Conversation Pieces 16/10/2009 at 1:36 PM #

      I was thinking yesterday if I only I could remember how to knit (and still had knitting stuff!) that would be something to keep me occupied.

  7. cathi 16/10/2009 at 7:16 AM #

    feel better soon….i usually watch alot of movies when I am sick….!

  8. Lynne 16/10/2009 at 8:38 AM #

    I’m a bit sick too, and I’ve just been online for an hour and I have a headache so I may have to give that up. I think I have some West Wing to catch up on. I watched Lipstick Jungle when I was sick last time which was a fun series, very escapist New York. I find you can get little jobs done, sorting out bills etc…but really you should try to sleep. By the way, I love your ring too. And I can see you in one of those slinky vintage dresses you’ve been showing.

    • Conversation Pieces 16/10/2009 at 1:36 PM #

      Aww thanks Lynne… hope you feel better soon. Maybe we have blogger flu or something?

  9. nath 19/10/2009 at 7:57 PM #

    you can watch True Blood online here – http://www.yidio.com/show/true-blood/season-1 – it’s how we have managed to watch all three series. yes, all THREE! (you’re gonna wish you were still off sick)

  10. abigail 28/10/2009 at 11:19 PM #

    Love 60 Min Makeovers and Jsason and Colin make it even better than before! xxx
    Abs xx

  11. Elwyn 23/11/2009 at 3:01 PM #

    To follow, without halt, one aim: There’s the secret of success.

Leave a little love...

