Friday I’m in love… with Halloween

16 Oct

shirts

I’m still sick so this Friday I have postponed what I was going to post on so I can post on Halloween. Now that may seem a bit weird but I love Halloween so this is an attempt to cheer myself up.

Actually love isn’t a strong enough word for how I feel about Halloween. I have more boxes of Halloween decorations than I do Christmas ones (and I actually prefer Halloween to Christmas… there I said it!) Why? Well, a couple of reasons. The most obvious is that my birthday is around then so almost every year we have a Halloween party. I can honestly say that opening our front door to see what our friends have chosen to come as is one of my favourite things – everyone always makes a real effort (even those who say they don’t like dressing up) and it makes me love them all the more!

In previous years, I’ve been a dead doll (in the New York Halloween parade… amazing! These were the best vids I could find online… sound is pretty ropey but you get the idea!)…


…I’ve also been Elphaba from Wicked (in retrospect I should have painted myself green properly as you can’t see in the pics that I’m covered in green sparkles)…

elphaba

…and the Kate Beckinsale character from Underworld (you’ll not be surprised to learn that was the other half’s suggestion!) And yes, I don’t remember the bit in the movie where she was pissing herself laughing either!

vamp2

vampz

(Yes that is Wonder Woman behind me with a machine gun… it was a good vs evil theme that year and all the ‘good’ people ended up stealing all the guns, swords etc!)

This year, we’re having an 80s themed Halloween party… think Ghostbusters, Count Duckula, Lost Boys etc… so it’ll be a little bit less Halloweeny than previous years.

80s

I’m currently trying to compile a big list of 80s food and looking for decoration ideas so if you have any suggestions they’ll be most welcome. (On the list so far… creamola foam (if only it was still around), pop tarts, pot noodles, marshmallow top hats, half orange with cheese and pineapple sticks, soda stream, slush puppy, findus crispy pancakes, and my little pony fairy cakes you make from a box! God, the 80s were unhealthy!!)

Anyway, that’s enough of my babble, here’s the Halloweeny things I found to share…

il_430xN.94905724il_430xN.93112050il_430xN.83169633il_430xN.90425744il_430xN.89167451il_430xN.95584066il_430xN.95799554il_430xN.94919308

And I had to include these from Cut Out + Keep… A Halloween eye ball made from a swiss ball and milk carton ghosts!

eyeball_2Byoga_2Bball_2BHalloween10182008204_1224524186

1. threadless
2. thebeeskneesdesigns
3. pamwares
4. crafterella
5. mrYen
6. FunFavors
7. topsyturvydesign
8. lupin
9. whiskerkisses
6 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with Halloween”

  1. Jo 16/10/2009 at 2:38 PM #

    I LOVE the Kate Beckinsale gun pic, even though I did take it myself 😀

    Hope you’re feeling a bit better and managing to do lots of relaxing xx

  2. Jenny 16/10/2009 at 3:26 PM #

    I love love love Halloween- My outfit this year is one I am recycling from a few years ago – Little red ridin’ n da hood – Featuring bling and a decapicated teddy (though someone else will have to do that for me) for a hen night!!
    Also on Youtube there is a girl called Kandy Johnson, who does full make-up lessons there is some really get stuff there including Jem (from the 80s) make-up. Check it out!!!
    Hope you are feeling better. PK Chair looks fantastic too. Its inspired Sandy & I got get come Cath Kitson fabric to make cushions for our non existant dining table chairs…..

    • Conversation Pieces 16/10/2009 at 3:44 PM #

      Oh wow Jenny… loving Kandy’s Jem make-up! (You must be telepathic as that’s what I’m thinking of going as!!)

      Very cool on the little red ridin’ n da hood… I did normal red riding hood one year and the other half made my red hooded cape – it was very awesome!

      Aww thanks on the PK chair… needs a cushion I feel but that’s for another day!

  3. cathi 16/10/2009 at 3:35 PM #

    wonderful post! feel better! happy weekend to you…:)

  4. Lynne 16/10/2009 at 6:34 PM #

    Last year I went to the Procession of the Ghouls (or something like that) in St John’s Church in New York – you would love it! Oh, and by the way, I wanted to recommend http://www.ted.com as a sick resource…the talk by Elizabeth Gilbert is so inspiring.

  5. Liz 20/10/2009 at 11:30 AM #

    You are a girl after my own heart!! x

Leave a little love...

