Friday I'm in love… with grey

23 Oct

grey

It has to be said I adore grey. We recently painted our living room floorboards a gorgeous dark ‘anthracite’ colour and I couldn’t stop staring at them afterwards and going ‘oooh’.

We’ve already got grey walls in our bedroom to offset our Orla Keily wallpaper, almost purpley grey walls in the living room,  a so-dark-grey-it’s-almost-black in the spare room and near black walls in the hall. And I just want to keep going… especially with the floor paint. (It really has made  a huge difference… will hopefully take some pics soon to share. I know I’m bad at doing that!)

The surprising thing is that I had no intention for this to be a ‘grey’ flat.

After having lived in a basement flat that had almost natural light and was painted white to compensate for it, I was determined this flat was going to bright and light and colourful.

But I hadn’t reckoned on two things…

• the fact that our new place gets lots and lots of light (so we never have to worry about it being bright, it does that all on its own)
• and that when you have lots of colourful things (as we do) you need a background that’ll make them ‘pop’

Anyway, when I saw this sign in a shop window in Islington when I was last down in London and I thought it was a perfect answer to why you end up living in a grey world.

Hope you all have a great weekend. I’ll be spending it going out to my favourite veggie restaurant (an engagement treat from friends), meeting a friend who’s up from London for an early birthday celebration, hopefully heading to craft market Marche Marche… and of course having a paint brush and a pot of grey paint in either hand (I might even do some painting with them!). xx

13 Responses to “Friday I'm in love… with grey”

  1. Eliana Tomas 23/10/2009 at 10:46 AM #

    i love colour and grey is indeed part of the group 🙂
    love the sentence very very much. it gives honour to grey as it deserves 🙂
    have a good weekend too.

  2. Jenny 23/10/2009 at 10:54 AM #

    I love grey & green though ground floor limits me to light colours (with a tarragon green wall)
    I think I will make the trip to the Bowery too. There is tons of stuff I want to get for the house and i am off the EASY off pilrig st so will be near by!!
    Also what is your fav veggie restaurant? Mine which I never visit as much as I should is Black Bos – though it is alway too cold!!
    Have a great weekend

    • Conversation Pieces 23/10/2009 at 6:29 PM #

      Mine is David Bann… I’ve tried Black Bos a few times but my heart belongs to good old Dave. However I am in love with Chop Chop at the moment but mainly because I adore dim sum… going there on my actual birthday 🙂 Maybe see you at Marche Marche 🙂

      • Jenny 26/10/2009 at 2:59 PM #

        Oh have you tried Meadowfield or Meadowbank noodle bar on Bread st? It is fab and stocks Bubble tea- if not check it out. A lovely wee relaxing place. Not made Chop Chop yet though Will add it to the list.
        Only thing I got at Marche Marche was Cuff links for Sandy but also got loads of ideas too.

  3. Fay 23/10/2009 at 11:16 AM #

    I’m really warming to grey too. I think it was living with a boy and having to allow him some say in colour choice that opened up my eyes to the beauty of grey. We had quite a strong grey in the bathroom of our old flat that made it the most relaxing room in the house and now have a very soft grey in the bedroom. How inspiring that you used that shade as floor paint….you may well have solved a floor problem we’ve been pondering!

    • Conversation Pieces 23/10/2009 at 6:30 PM #

      Fay, I say do it… we used to have painted white floorboards in our old place and they looked good but kind of cold… but painted dark grey floorboards… both me and the other half seriously love them so much! We can’t believe it took us this long to get round to doing it!

  4. Laura 23/10/2009 at 11:30 AM #

    ooo i love grey too & i just printed some grey coasters. I was going to do green, but I though well you can’t go wrong with grey!!! For my first set atleast 🙂

  5. Polly R 23/10/2009 at 12:19 PM #

    I love love love grey. I love to wear it too. I have a lot of grey clothes! Grey goes with everything and you can get so many different lovely shades. x

  6. Rebecca 23/10/2009 at 9:32 PM #

    I vlove charcoals, and lead colours, they do, as you say, make bright colours pop. (a wedding colour idea perhaps? the grey might reflect the edinburgh weather, but brighten it up with poppy shades!)

  7. Top Bird @ Wee Birdy 23/10/2009 at 10:03 PM #

    Meeting up with friends, craft markets and veggie restaurants sounds like a grand plan for the weekend. Hope you have fun. xx

  8. Golden Touch 24/10/2009 at 9:26 PM #

    Ooh I love grey, I have so many grey clothes! I bought a gorgeous grey cardigan the other day, I love it 🙂

    xxx

  9. Melafrique 27/10/2009 at 4:20 PM #

    All sounds lovely. What colour did you paint the bedroom wall. Cheers.

  10. Huma 27/10/2009 at 6:36 PM #

    I want to see the bedroom with the orla kiely wallpaper! I bought some of her mugs over the weekend – the grey one and the yellow one (http://www.herlittleplace.com/2009/10/shopping-shopping-shopping.html)
    seeing as that’s still my favourite scheme too.

    Sounds like you’re making good progress on the house!
    H x

Leave a little love...

