A belated happy Halloween

3 Nov

cupcakes 3

Before it completely turns into Christmas (I went birthday-money-aspending today and the way the shops were blaring out Xmas songs you would think it was mid-December already), I thought I’d do a rather belated Halloween post.

We had a great one โ€“ having a family Halloween party during the day and a 80s Halloween party at night. Strangely enough though we woke up on Sunday and have sworn off partying for a bit!

Anyway, I thought I’d share a few pics from the day…

At the top of this post are some of my lovely cupcakes my other half and my friend who lives in Germany got me from Cupcakes and Ribbons. They were divine โ€“ I so recommend them if you ever need cupcakes in Scotland!

And here’s our selection of 80s trash food… also rather yummy but so so wrong!

food

During the day I looked this…

fangszee

I was calling this look Count Zuckula! (Yes I am that sad!) And no those are most definitely not my own teeth… a subject of much speculation by my 6 year old cousins! ๐Ÿ˜‰

And then in the evening I transformed into Jem from the 80s cartoon Jem and the Holograms. She looked like this (for those who don’t remember or are too young!)…

jem annuals

And this was me…

zee jem cp

If you’re wondering what’s on the walls… one of my best friends sneaked into the flat (more secret stuff organised by the other half!) and put up tons of pics of me! Very funny but very disconcerting to see so many of yourself all at once!

I also have to give a big shout out to D Jenn who made my belt… it truly was outrageous!

jem zee 2

I also have to share the ‘chestbusting alien’ the other half made for his costume…

n&z cp

…he made it from scratch using clay, latex and paint. As you can tell he’s much craftier than I am!

11446_171380725527_603850527_3336594_1251999_n

Anyway, how was your Halloween? What did you do? Did you dress up? Do know let me know โ€“ I’m so not ready for it be to all over so soon ๐Ÿ˜‰

P.S. Thanks for all the birthday greetings โ€“ you are all very sweet indeed!

10 Responses to “A belated happy Halloween”

  1. Serena (Cowdy Calling) 03/11/2009 at 11:28 AM #

    Wow you looked fantastic! (and obviously very photogenic). And your other half really freakin’ looked like he had an alien bursting out of his chest – it’s amazing!

    I chuckled at the beginning of the post – before I realised it was a bat, I thought someone had made you a cupcake with a moustache on it :).

  2. Conversation Pieces 03/11/2009 at 12:28 PM #

    Aww thanks Serena โ€“ think that’s the first time anyone has ever said that about me! And the other half is well chuffed with your comment too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And yes it does look like a moustache now that you mention it… I wonder if anyone has done a moustache bat yet? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Jenny 03/11/2009 at 2:48 PM #

    I can’t believe that belt. I had two Jem dolls growing up (Both were birthday presents) and I had totally forgotten about the belt it’s the exact match! Looks fab.

  4. Patchwork Harmony 03/11/2009 at 6:50 PM #

    OMG! I LOVED Jem! I had the VHS and knew all the songs! very cool costume! xxx
    (happy belated birthday too! xx)

  5. Rebecca 03/11/2009 at 9:29 PM #

    Hahaha, serena, I totally thought it was a moustache cupcake too! Zoe, theres a little award or you over at my blog, enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. EdenRose 04/11/2009 at 12:07 PM #

    You looked so fab!! Thanks for reminding me about jem, i used to love her, had the dolls and vhs, my fav being the doll with the glittery hair and the earings that flashed, ace! Really going to have to watch that again some time.
    Glad you had a great halloween X

  7. Amy- No.15 04/11/2009 at 9:11 PM #

    Great costumes! I loved Jem and the Holograms as a kid, used to watch them every Saturday morning to the annoyance of my brother who wanted GI Joe.

    P.S. Everyone likes your castle view. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. our little love nest 05/11/2009 at 4:36 AM #

    Awesome costumes!! You are too cute!
    Don loves your guy’s costume….I think he is a wee bit jealous!
    xoxo

  9. Golden Touch 06/11/2009 at 7:05 PM #

    I love your costume!! xx

  10. evie 11/11/2009 at 12:30 PM #

    oh the memories. jem and the 80’s! your outfits rock!! look like a fun time : )

Leave a little love...

