Crazy about charity shop china

24 Nov

I may have mentioned once or twice my love of charity shops… but being me I hardly ever get round to sharing my finds. (Partly because I tend to write this blog late at night and that doesn’t work so well with taking pics.) However I had a bit of free time on Saturday and a charged camera so finally I can share some of my thrifting.

First up I thought I would show you some of my charity shop china.

This is something I can’t help but hunt for in charity shops and the other half has dragged me away from many a tea set pointing out that we already have more plates, tea cups and saucers than we can ever use.

Anyway here’s a few of my favourites… Hope you like them.

1. Yellow dinner set
This set called to me from the window… it’s yellowy, with that gorgeous green colour and golden gilt, and the pretty flowers inside. The only problem was that there’s a lot of it – and I had no idea how to get it all home. (I only took a pics of a few pieces but there’s cups, plates, bowls, saucers, side plates, soup bowls and two gravy/milk jugs.) Thankfully, every single piece made it home in, eh, one piece.

2. Blue gravy boat
I’m a sucker for that gilt edge it has to be said… and I loved the shape of this one. Plus it cost 20p. You can’t really argue with that.

3. Golden teapot
My little sis found this teapot… and I use this pretty much every day. I love it and swear that it makes better tea than my other teapots.

4. Indian Tree plates and others
In one of my favourite charity shops (they play 1950s music and have cute chairs for the old dears to sit on when they get tired while browsing) I found a huge collection of Indian Tree china. So huge in fact that it made 1 1/2 dinner sets. I love that although it’s all the same design, the pattern is slightly different depending on the maker. We discovered recently that the other half’s Gran has exactly the same china.

5. My favourite bowls ever
I adore these bowls. I really do. They are my favourite china find ever. I wish they’d had more than two – but it’s certainly better than having none.

12 Responses to “Crazy about charity shop china”

  1. Lisa-Marie 24/11/2009 at 11:10 AM #

    That golden teapot is amazing! I must have one! Your china is very pretty. One of my favourite things I own is a set of wedding china that was my great-grannie’s. She gae it to my nana, and my nana to me!

  2. Golden Touch 24/11/2009 at 11:38 AM #

    LOVE seeing charity finds, post about them more often! And the first set, my mum has a little bowl and a ornament from the same range, same pattern of flowers on.

    xxx

  3. Becky 24/11/2009 at 2:28 PM #

    Love it all! (Especially the first set)

  4. jane 24/11/2009 at 5:43 PM #

    Ooh, what a great collection, thanks for sharing! I especially like your favourite bowls and the golden teapot – so so pretty! Charity shops are unbeatable for stuff like that. I keep meaning to buy some vintage teacups as I read a great tutorial online for making teacup candles, they were so lovely and would make great presents too so I really must do it soon!

  5. our little love nest 24/11/2009 at 7:00 PM #

    Sweet collection! I bought that top set for my mom from a charity shop in Edmonton, Alberta. You have beautiful taste in dishes.

  6. R 24/11/2009 at 7:02 PM #

    A gravy boat? You mean you don’t just put it in a pyrex measuring jug or pour it straight from the pan? How civilised – I must try harder. Loving the collection, makes me want to trawl the shops, and get some bigger cupboards to store it all.

    show more, show more, show more (she chants like a small child)!

  7. evie 25/11/2009 at 10:57 AM #

    beautiful! thanks for sharing. i especially like the items in no1 & 4. cant wait to see what other lovely things you have thrifted.

  8. Polly R 25/11/2009 at 7:30 PM #

    That gold teapot is lovely xx

  9. Kristen 25/11/2009 at 7:49 PM #

    Ooh lovely – I’m a sucker for charity shop chine too! That golden teapot is so beautiful. And a gilt edge does make a cup/bowl/plate extra special doesn’t it? Am seeing so many sets I love that I now have to photograph them on the shelf and walk away, to stop me buying!

  10. Nina 27/11/2009 at 3:02 PM #

    Hi Zoe, perhaps a little bizarrely I can only focus on the colour of your floorboards?! Can you tell me what make and shade it is?! I’m looking for an almost black!

    • Conversation Pieces 27/11/2009 at 7:48 PM #

      Hi Nina. It’s Anthracite by International. It’s a fab colour – we’ve pretty much painted all the floors in it!

  11. anna and the ring 10/12/2009 at 1:05 AM #

    Gosh, how wonderful. Grr London with its crazy naughty prices!

Leave a little love...

