Friday I’m in love… with Edinburgh

27 Nov

The interesting thing about blogging (and one I never expected it) is how aware it makes you of where you are from. Most days we all live our lives hardly noticing the city/town/place we live in – and only really notice how interesting it is when we have to show someone else round or we’ve been away for a while.

So for today’s Friday I’m in love, I thought I would celebrate the city I now call home… and take you on a tour of Edinburgh courtesy of the brilliant M. Sasek.

The steps leading to the train station are known for being very windy on a blustery day!

This the view from the Mound… I live somewhere in the distance!

Scottish grey rain clouds gather over the Castle… even on a sunny day!

One of my fav streets for shopping as it has The Red Door Gallery and Totty Rocks on it. The lovely Godiva is nearby too.

I adore the Penguin Parade at Edinburgh Zoo… every day the penguins come out for a walk (if they fancy it) and waddle about, quite the thing, getting their pictures taken. Some of them are so cheeky!

This is the gardens that I live minutes from… me and the OH like to pretend its our garden. It’s got the fattest pigeons I’ve ever seen.

This is harbour that I see every morning on my walk/drive to work… except those men aren’t standing there!

Hope you enjoyed your Edinburgh trip… for once it didn’t rain!

Have a lovely weekend wherever you are x

P.S. I’ve also added a new links section called ‘Why Scotland rocks’. I’ll be adding to it as I go so feel free to drop me a line if there’s someone you think I’ve missed or would suggest adding.

14 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with Edinburgh”

  1. Lexi 27/11/2009 at 1:08 PM #

    🙂 I live about 2 minutes from that harbour! (if it’s the one i’m thinking of, right across the street from porto&fi!) That’s such a lovely wee drawing of it! Awesome book.

  2. Laura 27/11/2009 at 2:36 PM #

    I love these books!

  3. EdenRose 27/11/2009 at 2:46 PM #

    Iv only visited Edinburgh once and i loved it, such a beautiful city and the shops are great. This is a lovely book thanks for sharing.
    x

  4. Slices of Beauty 27/11/2009 at 7:34 PM #

    Edinburgh is lovely.
    Happy Friday.

  5. deb 27/11/2009 at 8:19 PM #

    Great, really enjoyed your tour of Edinburgh with the help of M. Sasek. Looks a fab place to visit, will get there one day!

  6. Melafrique 27/11/2009 at 9:23 PM #

    Came to Edinburgh for OH 40th birthday and stayed in georgE street. I heart Edinburgh too.

  7. Eliana Tomas 27/11/2009 at 11:01 PM #

    I love Edinburgh. Went there once to welcome New Year. Spent 3 days and wish to go there again soon. The city is beautiful and people are very charming. A city i always recommend.

  8. Serena (Cowdy Calling) 28/11/2009 at 1:08 PM #

    These illustrations are fantastic. I particularly like the amazing colours and tones of the flowers in the garden pic 🙂

  9. Lucy 28/11/2009 at 5:42 PM #

    Wow, I’ve never seen M Sasek’s stuff before – thanks for sharing (now I have to buy one!)

  10. domestikate84 29/11/2009 at 12:15 AM #

    What a brilliant book – I love it! I love Edinburgh too. I’m so glad to call it home!

  11. Stéphanie 29/11/2009 at 7:26 PM #

    I love Sasek !

  12. Amy- No.15 01/12/2009 at 1:04 AM #

    What a great book! Love the illustrations and the tour. Have a great week!

  13. Jenny 01/12/2009 at 3:48 PM #

    I am so excited about this book. I am going to get it for my Goddaughter and my other friends little girl so they can see where I live. Thank you!!

  14. George's Mum 01/12/2009 at 9:35 PM #

    I love Edinburgh- I went there for my honeymoon this year. So glad you posted this book up I’m getting it for my husband! Yay x x

Leave a little love...

