A fair of the heart…

16 Feb

So Valentine’s Day… how was it for you?

We had a lovely time down in Newcastle. We went to the Affordable Vintage Fair, ate sparkly cupcakes, drank tea, went to an art gallery, listened to a ukulele collective (!), meandered about, chilled out in a spa and generally just had a very relaxing time indeed.

Here’s a few iphone pics from our ‘Paris of the North’ trip…

First up, my heart-shaped tea spill. Very appropriate don’t you think?

Beautiful vintage French magazines…

Love the packaging on all these vintage hair slides… especially the one where the slides make up part of her dress.

The little tin cars we decided we couldn’t go home without…

Our stamped hands… they really should have a more boy appropriate stamp at these fairs!

Our yummy cupcakes…

Mine was the sparkly one in case you hadn’t guessed!

Will share a few pics of the amazing artists we came across later this week. They all made me wish I had enough money to buy ‘proper’ art!

11 Responses to “A fair of the heart…”

  1. little pink room 16/02/2010 at 10:33 AM #

    sounds perfect.

  2. S 16/02/2010 at 10:42 AM #

    Those cupcakes look divine!

    S
    http://notjustmedical.wordpress.com

  3. Lisa-Marie 16/02/2010 at 11:00 AM #

    Sounds like a pretty perfect day!

  4. Ruby Rosamund 16/02/2010 at 11:35 AM #

    wow those cupcakes look amazing! What a great, properly romantic, valentines day out!

  5. Polly R 16/02/2010 at 8:41 PM #

    I love that heart shaped tea spill. was it an accident?! I have that bird stamp 🙂 and those cupcakes look so good! xx

    • Conversation Pieces 17/02/2010 at 9:44 PM #

      Total accident Polly… I don’t think I could have done it if I tried 😉

  6. Rebecca 16/02/2010 at 11:28 PM #

    Oh, I love the pattern on that table cover…

  7. Louise 17/02/2010 at 3:57 PM #

    Ahh love that heart-shaped tea spill. Gorgeous cup too!

    By the way, I found that dress via your blog I think! Looove it. Sadly out of my budget at the mo but I’m saving away!

    • Conversation Pieces 17/02/2010 at 9:46 PM #

      You’ll have to let me know if you ever do buy it… I so know I’m going to do one of these things were I’ll ponder over it until it’s out of stock and then regret not getting it! High chance it might not suit me of course!! 😉

  8. Patchwork Harmony 18/02/2010 at 12:17 AM #

    awh! sounds like a lovely day out! 🙂
    x

  9. Mrs T 25/02/2010 at 1:26 AM #

    So love vintage fairs. That must have been loads of fun.

    P.s. Just added you to my blogroll. I thought you were on there already – but you weren’t! My bad.

Leave a little love...

