Weddingnesday… can we borrow a barn?

24 Feb

The wedding venue search continues… at a snail’s pace. I think if we’re being honest it’s because we’ve already found where we want to get married.

In fact as soon as we drove down the path towards it and discovered that the whole outside was teaming with chickens, we kind of just fell in love. Yup, we want to get married on a farm, in a barn… with chickens. (Is it just me or does that sound like something from Dr Seuss?)

I could blame the fact that I grew up next to farm for the first couple of years of my life (there are some amazing pictures of me with lambs when I’m wee) but I think it’s got more to do with the fact that it just seems like somewhere that would be relaxed and fun.

Right now, our plan is to see some more venues – just to make doubly sure there isn’t something else out there – but in the meantime, I’m busy decorating the place in my head.

So I thought for today’s Weddingnesday, I’d share some other barn weddings…

(Via Once Wed)

(Via Naturally Nina)

(Via Storque)

(Via Style Me Pretty)

(Via Once Wed)

(Via Once Wed)

P.S. Our barn/farm plans currently involve no cowboy boots or line dancing! Just in case you were wondering…

18 Responses to “Weddingnesday… can we borrow a barn?”

  1. Becca 24/02/2010 at 7:19 PM #

    We’re not getting married in a barn, but it’s as close as we could get in LA. We chose it for the same reason you mentioned: “it’s got more to do with the fact that it just seems like somewhere that would be relaxed and fun.” I love these photos.

  2. Caroline, No. 24/02/2010 at 7:49 PM #

    Go with that! There you go. Decision made. I bet it will be lovely.

  3. Tonia 24/02/2010 at 8:33 PM #

    One of the best weddings I ever went to was held in a barn: the rain was hammering down throughout the ceremony but as it ended and we walked out, the sky cleared and the Red Arrows flew over (unplanned). the whole day was full of amazing little happenings like that.
    Barn weddings rock!

  4. kerri 24/02/2010 at 9:27 PM #

    aww this is so cute! (is it bad that my favourite photograph is the one with all the cowboy boots? . . .) x

  5. Rebecca 24/02/2010 at 9:39 PM #

    can I say do it? If you can, I know its more difficult in the UK but I think scotlands ok? I’ve made several decisions now based on the fact that I was going round and round in circles not knowing what to do, or knowing what I wanted but thinking that my parents owouldnt like it. do what you love, you only get one shot at this!

  6. Lisa-Marie 24/02/2010 at 10:11 PM #

    If you think it’s the venue, then go for it. We chose ours because of the view and the boats (our wedding was in Kip Marina in Inverkip). We didn’t even look at anywhere else. x

  7. mysparethoughts 24/02/2010 at 10:26 PM #

    *whispers* Zoe and OH, please get married in a barn it sounds amazing. shhhhh.

  8. handmade romance 24/02/2010 at 10:27 PM #

    oh a barn would be beautiful. i love the doctor seuss line… perhaps your invite could reflect this style : ) it would be fun! have fun decorating in your head xx

  9. Gaynor 24/02/2010 at 10:31 PM #

    You should def book it if you love it, you wont find anything as good!

  10. Jesselyn 25/02/2010 at 12:46 AM #

    Honestly, at least put a soft booking. You don’t want someone to tag your date. I knew where I wanted to get married in after being in it for less than 2 minutes. They offered me a discount and I was sold! Get married in a barn! Do it! Do it! Do it!

  11. Mrs T 25/02/2010 at 1:20 AM #

    A barn wedding sounds amazing. I love the idea of being surrounded by chickens! Would make for some rad photos.

  12. giovanna 25/02/2010 at 5:48 AM #

    i love, love, love barn weddings. do it! i love the pics above with the bridesmaids wearing cowboy boots too. that’s cool.

  13. Polly R 25/02/2010 at 5:35 PM #

    Oh it will be so pretty and lovely and relaxed! You have to have fairy lights strung across the beams!! And lots of flowers. xxx

  14. showpony 26/02/2010 at 3:55 PM #

    My sister got married at Mar Lodge Near Breamar
    http://www.marlodgeestate.org.uk/functions.htm the reception was in the barn at the side, no ordinary barn though. The walls of the Stag Ballroom are completely covered in stags heads. Awsome and a bit scary all at one. worth a visit though

  15. Conversation Pieces 01/03/2010 at 3:19 PM #

    Awww thanks everyone for your encouraging comments… me and the OH were reading them at the weekend – it’s funny how a little encouragement makes you think hell yeah! – and we’re going to book a ‘soft’ date this week! Eeek!

    @tonia – I was at wedding a few years back when the red arrows flew over… maybe it’s something they do for fun? 😉

    @kerri – no, not bad at all! can’t see me wearing cowboy boots with a wedding dress though – I would be forced to do some line-dancing and cattle-rustling!

    @lisa-marie – that’s very reassuring to know that someone else felt like they didn’t need to see anywhere else. I got a row at the weekend from a girl who said I wasn’t putting in enough ‘hard work’ in terms of wedding planning! (I hope I never say anything like that once I’m married!!)

    @showpony – oooh that looks amazing. will have to check it out!

  16. claire 11/03/2010 at 5:15 PM #

    I love these pics! We too are getting married on a farm – though not in a barn. The barns I saw were not rustic enough for me… (haha!) so we’re having a ceremony on the edge of a forest, with the reception in the tudor farmhouse and in a marquee. And yes, there are chickens and goats and lovely dogs running around!

  17. Peonies and Polaroids 16/03/2010 at 11:14 AM #

    A barn! How did you find a barn in Scotland? One with chickens? We looked and looked for a barn (with chickens. Or any venue with chickens really) but we ended up with a stupid old castle.

    • Carmel Wiggins 20/03/2011 at 10:18 AM #

      Hello! These are some gorgeous pics. I’m also looking for a barn/farm wedding around Edinburgh and can’t really find anywhere – does anyone have any tips?

      Carmel

Leave a little love...

