Friday I’m in love… with feltidermy

26 Feb

I’ve never been a big fan of taxidermy. Sure it looks cool in magazines etc but in real life, it’s just a bit disturbing.

Our office – as with all creative offices – went through a kitsch 70s phase where we had a fake lounge for reading books/meetings etc. As this lounge had a fake fireplace in it (obviously), the window cleaner (again obviously) decided he would bring us in a stuffed animal from his collection for us to put on the fireplace (I don’t need to say it again do I?).

He brought us in a stuffed stoat.

It was weird. I tried putting a red bow on it to see if it would make it less weird. It didn’t.

Whereas feltidermy… even the word is fun to say.

So I’m loving these little critters from girlsavage. All of which would look super adorable with a bow – and not super creepy!

Hope you all have a lovely weekend.

I’m off to a cowboy-themed party tonight (yeeha!) and then off to Vegas (the club night, not the city) the following night. Think I’ll be spending Sunday snoozing somehow!

Images from girlsavage’s flickr
21 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with feltidermy”

  1. rowanjoy 26/02/2010 at 10:03 AM #

    they are actual amazing, i think i want a squirrel one!

  2. CP OH 26/02/2010 at 11:32 AM #

    Liking the ferret 🙂

  3. mysparethoughts 26/02/2010 at 7:27 PM #

    I was quite scared to open this post, wasn’t sure what to expect having no clue what feltidermy is. I want the rabbit.

  4. Beth 26/02/2010 at 9:00 PM #

    Too cute!!!!!

  5. Kylee 26/02/2010 at 10:39 PM #

    Very cute. Btw, did you know that this site has been added to stumbleupon?

    and, because I cant resist the urge to tell a flamer how stupid they are, @redneck: 1) She’s a girl, not a guy, so your comment about no self respcting guy etc etc has no real effect or purpose. 2) What’s wrong with being gay? Most of the half decent men I know are gay. The majority of straight guys are like you. Trust me, that’s not a compliment. and 3) Zoe is a very pretty name, so dont you go insulting it.

    • Conversation Pieces 01/03/2010 at 3:21 PM #

      Thanks Kylee… I ended up deleting the weirdo’s comment – mainly because this is my blog and I can do that! 😉 But thanks for the sticking up for me – always nice to know that the nice people outweigh the bad here in blogworld!

  6. Kendra 26/02/2010 at 11:32 PM #

    You need a dragon for your mythical creatures wall 😉

  7. Samantha 27/02/2010 at 12:14 AM #

    These are cute. I’d totally do that.

  8. Clare 27/02/2010 at 12:35 AM #

    How adorable!! I think I like the deer best or maybe the squirrel. In any case I want one!

    (ps regarding the odd comment further up, there really are some strange people on the internet…)

  9. Polly R 27/02/2010 at 11:39 AM #

    OMG that is SO cute! I love it! i love the little seal/ walrus thing (actually i dont even know what it is!) These would look so cool in a baby’s bedroom or something. xxx

    • Conversation Pieces 01/03/2010 at 3:23 PM #

      I think it’s a narwhal Polly… only because I recognised it from Elf!!

  10. hannah 28/02/2010 at 10:27 AM #

    wow, i love these!Such a brilliant, brilliant idea! thanks!

  11. Serena 28/02/2010 at 4:17 PM #

    OK, so I think I may actually want all of them.

    I guess the ‘saving for a house deposit’ plans may have to be put on hold!

  12. Trishie Koh 01/03/2010 at 1:39 AM #

    When i first saw them i thought they looked cute, but then on 2nd thoughts i was wondering “WHY?” i think you might be right about them looking disturbing in real life.

  13. Mrs T 01/03/2010 at 2:13 AM #

    That whale is hilarious

  14. Lulu 01/03/2010 at 4:05 AM #

    those are so stinking cute! i must get one! what a lovely lovely idea, eh?

  15. americananthro 02/03/2010 at 2:14 AM #

    love it, reposted it.

  16. whitespacers 05/03/2010 at 2:18 PM #

    These are super cool!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feltidermy FTW « A Side of Sundries - 02/03/2010

    […] Conversation Pieces – Friday I’m in love… with feltidermy Leave a Comment No Comments Yet so far Leave a comment RSS feed for comments on this post. […]

Leave a little love...

