Weddingnesday… you’re invited to a very important date

3 Mar

So we’re booking a soft date for our favourite venue (thanks everyone for your encouragement on that!)… which got me thinking invites.

There are so many really pretty ones out there – but what would make ours very me and my OH?

And what about ‘save the date’ cards… Do we need them? Do we want them? Are they the done thing or over and done with?

Anyway, with this in mind, I thought I’d share some of the invites I’ve bookmarked over the last wee while.

I like trying to guess what type of people the invites were for… before I read their story. I think it’s more fun that way!

1. For those who like to break it down…


2. For those who like Mexico, skulls or zombies…


3. For the weepy ones…


4. For the bookworms…


5. For the very patient…

(See the tutorial on how to make them here)


6. For the hoarders… (of vintage wallpaper)

(Ok, so this was for Project Wedding as opposed to a real invite but it’s still adorable!)

7. For those who first snogged in the stationery cupboard…

Happy Weddingnesday everyone xx

P.S. What’s your thoughts on save the date cards?

1.by studio on fire via beastpieces 2. by ilovelolliblog via rocknrollbride 3. via design sponge and via greenweddingshoes 4. via once wed 5.via greenweddingshoes 6. via 100layercake 7. ‘Pencil it in’ save the date via once wed
21 Responses to “Weddingnesday… you’re invited to a very important date”

  1. Lynne 03/03/2010 at 10:08 PM #

    Ooh, when I saw each one I thought – that’s my favourite! Then, the next one, that’s my favourite! I can’t decide! Save the date cards – waste of money I think, send an email! I like the pencils.

  2. Amanda 03/03/2010 at 10:12 PM #

    My partner and I are getting married in July 2010 and we haven’t given any invitations out yet. We haven’t really decided on an actual date yet. I love these ideas, they are so inspiring and I can’t wait to think of how Colin and I will design our save the dates. Thanks for sharing! ^_^

  3. hannah 03/03/2010 at 10:21 PM #

    Ooooooo zoe- these are brilliant, and like lynne thught they were all my favourites!

    im undecided about save the dates. if it adds a piece of prettiness that will bring you and the receivers joy, and as long as it isnt too stressful, then why the hell not. but if it causes stress and lots of work and time and money- especially if any of those things are in short supply then no.

    excited you chose your venue!

  4. Kiara 03/03/2010 at 10:33 PM #

    We didn’t really need them either but I had fun doing them. We did moo postcards which were cheap, easy and people liked them.

  5. Pillar Box Post 03/03/2010 at 11:59 PM #

    I think it also depends on where your guests are coming from as well. We had three families from across the globe all converging on one spot, and therefore had to make sure people knew the logistics well in advance to be able to book flights/holidays. People were pestering me for save the dates while I was frantically trying to come up with a theme (but thats more because I wanted to design them myself and am absolutely horrible at making decisions that don’t involve who i want to spend the rest of my life with…) That bought me some time so that the real invitations went out round two months before the wedding (traditional timing I believe). Our save the dates were quite simple, just postcards I printed from home with the date and location of the world!
    Another thing that may or may not be an issue is that lately it doesn’t seem obvious whether you are invited to a wedding. We know about five people who got married in the past year or so and only one has actually had a ‘traditional’ invite people type bash. Everybody is slinking off for private beach ceremonies!…so now that my misters cousin is getting married in Florence he is thinking ahead to the holiday and i’m going…ughm, are we even invited? Might be nice to put people at rest. But don’t add unnecessary stress!

  6. Mrs T 04/03/2010 at 12:56 AM #

    I am all about those tape deck invites. SO COOL. And letterpress – does it get any better?

  7. Tonia 04/03/2010 at 8:57 AM #

    Loving the stationery boxes! Friends used save the date cards: good job they did, the invites got messed up and delayed – were finally sent out only 3 weeks before the wedding!
    Moral of the tale? Be very organised or use save the date cards.

  8. Fay 04/03/2010 at 10:35 AM #

    I think save the date cards are unnecessary and an added expense and bother. But then we did send out emails and made a facebook group (bit geeky) so that our guests could ‘save the date.’ I really should put up some pictures of my invitations and orders of service as I am so proud of them and they took me flipping ages to make.

    So pleased that you have gone with your favourite venue and are booking it, very exciting indeed!

  9. JosieJo 04/03/2010 at 11:18 AM #

    Undecided on save the date cards, we just got engaged at the New Year and we’ve just started looking at things, so thanks for the inspiration. We found an amazing invite that’s a gig ticket! Which for me and my OH is perfect as we spend a lot of time at gigs and he’s in a band. We’re in Edinburgh so ANY local advice would be fantastic.

    Jo x

    • Conversation Pieces 06/03/2010 at 10:57 AM #

      Congratulations JosieJo – I’ve had lots of advice from other people on edinburgh (and general) wedding stuff so might share that in a future post 🙂

  10. Jo 04/03/2010 at 1:13 PM #

    Seeing the love heart invites made me think of the little parcel boxy things you used to make as children where you would pick a number and move the made up folded bit of paper that you hold with both index fingers and thumbs and move the appropriate number of spaces, then you get to read a little bit on the inside before you finally open up your message… ok probably not very appropriate for a wedding invite, but it just took me back to them… do you know what I’m talking about? my description is awful 😀 x

  11. Claire Hurd Design 04/03/2010 at 4:23 PM #

    I have just sent out our save the date cards. We decided to send some as we are having a late summer wedding and wanted to warn everyone before they booked their summer holidays!
    I have just blogged about them HERE if you would like to see pictures.

    Claire x

  12. seesaw 04/03/2010 at 5:59 PM #

    gorgeous.

  13. Lisa-Marie 04/03/2010 at 7:24 PM #

    We didn’t have save the date cards, I think they are a waste of money. They are quite an American thing too, I’ve never been to a wedding where they have had them! Save the pennies for some extra honeymoon niceness!

  14. glasgowbride 06/03/2010 at 8:00 PM #

    Gorgeous invites, I’m slightly obsessed with stationery.

    We are doing Save the Dates, but hopefully very cheaply. We’re going to send them as soon as flights from Ireland become available so that our guests can book while flights are cheap. I think they make sense if your guests will need to make significant arrangements to come to your wedding.

  15. Serena 07/03/2010 at 3:33 PM #

    Oh cripes… my friend is getting married soon, and she is going to be very VERY excited by this blog post – brilliant selection!

  16. Peonies 15/03/2010 at 12:19 PM #

    I love the bookworm and Mexican ones!

  17. Sarah 30/03/2010 at 8:58 PM #

    Hey Zo,

    Like the post…..too late for us, got my Dad to work something up…..as you will have seen! It did take a while and now accommodation is all booked up, so I do think a save the date email with info re accommodation etc is a good idea

    See you soon I hope.xx

Leave a little love...

