Wallpaper, wet weather and another chair

2 Apr

It’s been a weird old week.

After all the rushing and stressing of the past few weeks, which included a whole weekend of helping out with a music video shoot at the Barrowlands…

…I was all ready for some serious relaxing.

And then the heavens opened up.

Yup, it’s been foul this week in Scotland.

But thankfully it’s not been all doom and gloom.

This week, we’ve got wallpaper up in the living room, wallpaper up in the kitchen and started to reupholster another chair.

So here’s our week in pictures…

The April showers may have started early… but we now have our sunshiney Miss Print wallpaper up in the living room – and some cheery daffies too.

And as much as we love that wallpaper (it’s so happy), we are completely besotted with our kitchen wallpaper.

Regulars might remember my previous post on wallpaper… it inspired me to buy the Thornback and Peel wallpaper I’d had my eye on for ages. Doesn’t come out too well on the iphone but I’ll do better pics once the kitchen is done. (Promise.)

After all this diy fun (which has included a week’s worth of stressing over flooring for the kitchen and the hall… why is it so hard to find a rubber or vinyl that looks nice, doesn’t scratch and isn’t a ridiculous price?) we got cracking on another of our chair projects.

The last Parker Knoll we needed a bit of help on so we were determined to do this one all ourselves. Thankfully, our lastest freecycle/freegle Parker Knoll acquirement has no broken springs or internal problems so that’s been a big help!

But of course we forgot to take a proper ‘before’ pic… so here’s the midway pic:

And here’s is the prepped chair, ready for its new fabric… looks rather smart already I think.

And here’s the fabric… a rather budget-friendly, Japan-inspired one from Ikea. (As you might have guessed I’m loving all their Japan-themed fabrics at the moment… especially the one with Godzilla attacking Stockholm!)

Can’t wait to see how the final thing looks – hopefully we’ll get that done this weekend (inbetween munching Easter eggs of course!).

Happy Friday everyone – and hope you all have a lovely Easter weekend xx

P.S. A belated thanks to This Girl for the happy blog award – I’ll get round to passing it on soon.

20 Responses to “Wallpaper, wet weather and another chair”

  1. jane 02/04/2010 at 9:17 AM #

    Wow, look at you go! Amazing stuff. I *love* that wallpaper and the chair project is really exciting – i’m very impressed! I could never do anything like that although would love to learn. looking forward to seeing the results!

  2. Lisa-Marie 02/04/2010 at 9:53 AM #

    Zoe, I am V envious of your wallpaper! It is swank! The Parker Knoll looks very promising indeed!

    The weather has been atrocious. I got unexpectedly caught in snow on Monday, it was not fun. However, I am set for a weekend full of joy. I hope you have one too!

  3. Jules 02/04/2010 at 11:04 AM #

    Man I LOVE that sunshine yellow wallpaper

  4. Elizabeth 02/04/2010 at 12:25 PM #

    I love your wallpaper! It has inspired me to rethink the plain, barren, sad, old walls in my Dad’s house. Thank you!

  5. Tonia 02/04/2010 at 1:46 PM #

    great wallpaper choices: how lovely to see someone doing something other than white walls!

  6. Louise 02/04/2010 at 1:54 PM #

    I looove your sunshiney living room wallpaper!!!!

  7. Cathy 02/04/2010 at 3:01 PM #

    Holy Fabulous Wallpaper Batman! I’ve never wanted wallpaper so much in my whole life. The jelly, the cake…the whole kitsch victoriana of it, wow!

    I adore your yellow wallpaper too.

  8. little pink room 02/04/2010 at 3:43 PM #

    love the wallpaper!!

  9. Joanne 02/04/2010 at 5:56 PM #

    Oooh do you remember the name of that origami fabric? I’ve just looked on Ikea’s website and can’t seem to find it. I think it’d make a lovely dress.

  10. Ayden 03/04/2010 at 1:57 PM #

    Gotta love the barras 🙂 The weather indeed has been pants! Cant wait to see the finished chair xx

  11. lucy 03/04/2010 at 2:23 PM #

    I love the wallpapers but they are soooooooo expensive!

  12. Becky 03/04/2010 at 9:14 PM #

    Oh wow, the jelly wallpaper = fabulous! Also, can’t believe the origami fabric is Ikea, wow, looks v. elite designer. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  13. Clare 04/04/2010 at 9:00 AM #

    I think you might just have the most beautiful wallpaper ever! How amazingly lucky you are.

  14. domestikate84 04/04/2010 at 12:04 PM #

    Oh my goodness, love love LOVE that yellow wallpaper! And there’s nothing cheerier than daffs in jam jars, especially when the weather is as miserable as it has been this week!

  15. glasgowbride 04/04/2010 at 6:35 PM #

    Love your wallpaper, ever so slightly jealous! Also very impressed that you are re-upholstering furniture, I wouldn’t have a clue where to start.

  16. evie 05/04/2010 at 5:41 AM #

    loving your diy bits, the wallpaper is so happy : )
    and i cant wait to see the finished chair.
    barrowland looks awesome from the outside, ive never heard of or seen this before but it made me laugh because my partners last name is barrow and his sister always says to me when talking about me marrying her brother ‘welcome to the barrows’ hmm i wonder if they are from somewhere called barrowland! ; ) x

  17. Mrs T 06/04/2010 at 3:54 AM #

    The wallpaper you picked looks AWESOME!!

  18. Conversation Pieces 06/04/2010 at 9:33 AM #

    @jane @glasgowbride – this chair has actually been quite simple… mainly done using a staple gun and iron-on hem. maybe should do a how-to for the next chair project (this is our 3rd so there will be a 4th!)

    @lisa-marie – I haven’t heard the word ‘swank’ in ages… brilliant!

    @elizabeth – glad to have been of service… those walls sound like they need it!

    @tonia – I had white walls in my old flat, so this is my ‘opposite’ flat!

    @cathy – love the batman comment!

    @joanne – it’s called CHARLOTTA VILD… would love to see the dress! http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/products/20173373

    @lucy – yes it is… but we’ve only done small walls and we worked out that on a cost per day value it worked out pretty well! 😉

    @evie – maybe he should go to Glasgow and claim his land! 😉

  19. sarah 09/04/2010 at 12:31 PM #

    that wallpaper is INCREDIBLE. both jellies and yellow. Wish I owned rather than rented, and wish my young man wasn’t quite so conservative – suspect he’d hate the gorgeous jellies!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When you’re tiling, the whole world tiles with you « Conversation Pieces - 08/08/2010

    […] the hunt for cool tiles that would suit a white kitchen that will have a grey with dots floor and pink jelly wallpaper… […]

Leave a little love...

