Weddingnesday… our Vegas wedding

7 Apr

So very soon we’ll be in Vegas.

(After going to San Fran, Yosemite and a few other lovely places first!)

And we’ve agreed NOT to get married there.

Well sort of.

The discussion went like this…

OH: Can we not get married there? And get married here too?

ME: What have two weddings? I don’t we’re allowed to get married twice…

OH: Surely the one in Vegas wouldn’t really count?

ME: Hmmm…

OH: Maybe we could just rent a tux and a wedding dress – and pretend we’re going to get married.

Now with this plan, I think there’s a high chance we may end up getting married.

But I have to say I don’t really mind… I like the idea that if we fancy it there and then, that we can.

I mean how fun does this mood board look?

And if we do, we are heading straight to the neon graveyard to get our pics taken…

I promise not to stand like this however!

Of course, even if we don’t become Mr and Mrs over there, then we still have to go… just so I can get my pic taken next to a giant slipper!

What do you think? Should we go for it – or stick with our original, next year, barn in Scotland plan?

Happy Weddingnesday everyone xx

P.S. A massive congratulations to Gaynor over at Our Day By Design who tied the knot last Saturday!

P.P.S And a big yay! for Fee at Makeup Savvy who is definitely getting married in Vegas later this year!

1. travelblog.viator.com 2. snippetandink 3, 4 & 5. greenweddingshoes 6 & 7. cyanatrendland.com
26 Responses to “Weddingnesday… our Vegas wedding”

  1. Abbi 07/04/2010 at 11:46 AM #

    Go for it!! It’s spontaneous & what weddings are all about, just you two. People get bogged down in things like seating plans & not upsetting people & it ends up being less about the two people. Depends if you’ll miss having a big white dress though…

    xx

  2. Becky 07/04/2010 at 11:55 AM #

    My boss is getting married in Vegas today, all planned and with friends/family heading out there too rather than an elopement, but it all sounds like so much fun. Hadn’t heard of the neon graveyard, but looks brilliant! Good luck whatever you decide to do!

  3. Fee 07/04/2010 at 12:51 PM #

    Oooo I never knew about the neon graveyard/scrapyard! I will sooo have too go in my wedding dress!

    Make sure you post pics when you do go there and you can tell me where it is. πŸ™‚

    Fee x

  4. Tonia 07/04/2010 at 12:59 PM #

    At least you don’t to worry about cranky relatives or catering crises with a Vegas wedding!

  5. Cat 07/04/2010 at 1:26 PM #

    Oh wow! I heart the neon graveyard πŸ˜€

  6. Rachel Dale 07/04/2010 at 1:32 PM #

    Do both! πŸ™‚ What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas πŸ˜‰
    I’d never heard of the neon graveyard but it looks AWESOME. Would love to go check it out sometime.

  7. Caroline, No. 07/04/2010 at 1:58 PM #

    Do you EVEN have to ASK?

    VEEEEEEEGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSS!!!!

    Hire a red 80s convertible, and do a drive-in wedding! That’s how I’m going to do it. (i.e. in great style.)

    Totally think you should.

    When are you there? I think I’m going to be in VEGGGGGAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSS! the first week in July…

    Cx

  8. glasgowbride 07/04/2010 at 3:17 PM #

    Do it!

    The more I plan a big wedding, despite it being what I want, the more I think how nice it would be to do something that was just the two of us as well. I would LOVE to do the Vegas wedding thing, IB would hate it though.

  9. Patchwork Harmony 07/04/2010 at 4:16 PM #

    both! like your OH says, the one in Vegas wouldn’t really count – BUT you can still tell people you got married in Vegas! πŸ™‚
    but the barn one sounds so lovely too! x

  10. Josie 07/04/2010 at 5:37 PM #

    Do both I say. Get married in Vegas (it does count) and have the barn wedding too!

  11. Lisa-Marie 07/04/2010 at 5:58 PM #

    Do both! You’ll be in Vegas anyway, and it’s fairly cheap to do! By law I think you can be married in Vegas and then here, as here it’s a civil partnership. You could wear a 50’s dress and be married by Elvis!

  12. mysparethoughts 07/04/2010 at 6:25 PM #

    I totally can’t decide between Vegas or the barn/stables – so I think you should do both.

  13. jane 07/04/2010 at 7:24 PM #

    The neon graveyard is hilarious and brilliant! Maybe you do photos there even if you don’t actualy get married?! Love the sparkly shoes too.

  14. trishie 08/04/2010 at 2:43 AM #

    Have a great time in Vegas, whether you get married or not! heh.

  15. Marc 08/04/2010 at 4:25 AM #

    If you get married in Vegas, I’ll scowl at you in San Francisco. Just sayin’.

  16. Catherine 08/04/2010 at 10:10 AM #

    the neon graveyard looks fabulous!! my boyfriend is obsessed with the idea of getting married in vegas, but the scottish barn sounds sooo dreamy.

    if you’re serious about vegas, how about spontaneous and special-just-for-two nuptials in the city of sin, and then on your one year wedding anniversary, a big barn party in scotland with all your nearest and dearest! that way you get to have both πŸ™‚

    xo

  17. HannahB 08/04/2010 at 12:34 PM #

    BOTH BOTH BOTH! Wow- i love the neon graveyard, imagine the pictures!

    Your trip sounds droolworthy too. I cannot wait to see the pictures! One day my mister and I are going to do a giant road trip around America over a few months in a campervan! One day…

  18. Mrs T 09/04/2010 at 7:14 AM #

    DO IT DO IT DO IT. If Vegas were in the same country as us we would have totally been there. And photos in the neon grave yard are to DIE FOR!

  19. mysparethoughts 09/04/2010 at 10:43 AM #

    Yesterday afternoon the colleague that sits next to me squealed with excitement and clapped her hands together. Life isn’t that interesting in our office so I was immediately curious as to what was going on. She had just had an email from her friend who is returning from a work conference in LA (I’m totally in the wrong job). Her boyfriend had joined her in LA and they travelled up to Las Vegas and got married! Please go to the neon graveyard and take lots of photos.

  20. bonniek21 12/04/2010 at 12:06 PM #

    FABULOUS pics!! I want to renew my vows in Vegas- would be amazingly good fun!

  21. evie 12/04/2010 at 12:21 PM #

    i love it. i love it. i love it. and will be super jealous if you do : ) love the silver shoes in the mood board x

  22. Serena 12/04/2010 at 4:36 PM #

    Ooooh, the suspense! I reckon I know what you’ll end up doing… let’s see if I’m right! Hope you’re having a super time πŸ™‚

  23. Bethany 21/04/2010 at 4:38 PM #

    Very cool post – I had never heard of the Vegas Boneyard. I wanted to get married there so badly, but my mom wouldn’t fly. Boooo. Anyway, if I ever go I am so doing a photo shoot there!

  24. Erika 22/04/2010 at 3:08 PM #

    My husband and I had three different weddings in three totally different places (but only one of them is “official”). And since you don’t live in America–so it might not really count unless you report it in Scotland–why not have a super awesomely-cheesy Vegas wedding?! (But definitely wear those silver shoes!)

  25. Conversation Pieces 28/04/2010 at 6:24 PM #

    Abbi – don’t think I’m a big white dress person, but turns out not a getting married in Vegas person so maybe I am!

    Fee – yes, do go there… you have to! will tell you why soon!

    Tonia – a very good point!

    Caroline No – I should have guessed that would be your answer πŸ˜‰

    evie – me too on the silver shoes!

    serena – now wondering what your guess was? πŸ˜‰

    erika – three weddings? now that is cool! did you have three times as much wedding planning though?

  26. Gaynor 05/05/2010 at 10:15 PM #

    Thank you for the lovely mention!

    Hope you had a fantastic trip away too and im glad you stuck with the original barn in scotland plan too.

    x

Leave a little love...

