Friday I’m in love… with holidays (and a mystery giveaway)

9 Apr

Right now, it’s Friday 2am and I’m just about finished packing.

(I really am terrible at it – how on earth are you meant to decide what you’re wearing so many days in advance?)

Suitcase stress aside, I’m looking forward to a truly awesome trip (even if I do say so myself!).

Over the next wee while, I’ll be hanging out with friends in San Francisco, not getting eaten by bears in Yosemite Park, considering saying “I do” in Vegas, and maybe going “oooh” in the Grand Canyon.

As I’m in such a good holiday mood (and to celebrate that I’m ‘blog of the week’ on HomeShoppingSpy) I thought I’d do a little blog giveaway.

So if you’d like a mystery present from my trip, just leave me a comment.

I have no idea what it will be – but that’s part of the fun right?

I’ll do the draw when I get back so it’s open until then.

See you all in a bit – unless I do get eaten by a bear! xx

Pic via yvetteinufio
36 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with holidays (and a mystery giveaway)”

  1. Clare 09/04/2010 at 7:14 AM #

    Ooo… have a good trip 😀 Dont let the bears bite!

  2. ForDGRedial 09/04/2010 at 8:16 AM #

    Oh I love holiday gifts. In our family we have a traditional…or maybe I should call it a competition where we try to buy the tacky-ist gift possible. Because we’re catholic I once bought a bracelet covered in ‘Marys’ as a funny gift…it was in Vogue magazine a week later… haha

    x

  3. Claire (and Gordon) 09/04/2010 at 10:05 AM #

    Have a fab trip Z and OH – didn’t realise you were going so soon! Say hi to Yosemite for us – it possibly is my fave place in the world.
    see you when you’re back
    xxx

  4. Claire (and Gordon) 09/04/2010 at 10:06 AM #

    Oh – and it’s not the bears you need to watch out for. Its the rattlers…
    xx

  5. Catherine 09/04/2010 at 10:49 AM #

    Yippee! Hope you have a fabulous trip and whether you say ‘i do’ or not, that all goes according to spontaneous plan xo

  6. Lucy 09/04/2010 at 11:35 AM #

    Wow, sounds like an exciting trip!

    I’m not good at packing either, and generally pack so much stuff my OH has to sit on the case(s) to try to get them to close, then I worry for the entire trip that they will burst in the plane and all my clothes will meet a tragic end!

  7. anna and the ring 09/04/2010 at 11:45 AM #

    I love the idea that spontaneity will rule supreme in Vegas!

    P.S. There is nothing spontaneous about being eaten by a bear. Totally planned and rather uncool!

  8. Claire A 09/04/2010 at 11:53 AM #

    Jealousssss! I love San Francisco so much! Be sure to check out North Beach, it is amazing 🙂

  9. sarah 09/04/2010 at 12:27 PM #

    Me, me! Hope you have an amazing time – I’ve just come back from CA & wishing I was there.

  10. Rachel Dale 09/04/2010 at 12:27 PM #

    Woo hoo! Enjoy your trip. Going new places is such fun. It IS hard to pack and not want to take everything with you. 🙂

  11. mysparethoughts 09/04/2010 at 3:39 PM #

    When I was 14/15 my family did practically the same trip over 3 weeks and we had an amazing trip, although there was no chance of a vegas wedding there were some bears, thankfully no munching.
    http://content.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt1s201858/?layout=metadata&brand=calisphere
    this link should take you to a photo of two dancing ladies on an edge at Yosemite – it is my Mum’s favourite picture and she has the poster in her office, if you fancy sending me a post card???? And you find this shot????
    Anyway enough about me, have the most fantastic trip I’m extremely jealous but already looking forward to hearing all about it.

  12. Polly R 09/04/2010 at 3:42 PM #

    Have fun! (Don’t get eaten by a bear!). Can’t wait to see what the mystery prize is! xx

  13. Claire 09/04/2010 at 3:59 PM #

    Have a wonderful time! I went to SF and LV on my honeymoon. It was ace. Hanging off a cable car at dusk breezing down a hill in SF was amazing! I love surprises, so I hope I win 🙂 but most of all, I hope you take the plunge and marry in LV -what a story to tell the grandkids! Bon voyage!

  14. Rebecca 09/04/2010 at 5:25 PM #

    ooh I love mystery holiday prizes 🙂 I really hope you do get married, ( if its what you want!) you could always get a wedding blesing back in england that all your family comes too?

  15. Tonia 09/04/2010 at 7:06 PM #

    Have a fabulous time: so jealous! we’d planned to go to san francisco in a few years but the time span keeps getting longer!

  16. JosieJo 09/04/2010 at 8:34 PM #

    Enjoy the hol, so jealous! I believe if you don’t rub yourself in honey the bears will leave you alone 🙂
    Oh exciting trying to decide if you’ll get married in Vegas!

    Have an amazing time.

    Jo x

  17. Fee 09/04/2010 at 9:55 PM #

    Ohhh I wonder if you will come back married!
    Have a lovely time if you haven’t gone already.

    Lovely idea about the giveaway 🙂

    Fee x

  18. Claire Hurd Design 09/04/2010 at 10:01 PM #

    Have a wonderful time away, we look forward to hearing all about it (particularly the possible ‘I do’ bit!).

    So kind to do a giveaway, sounds intriguing!

    Safe journey, Claire x

  19. Kerry 10/04/2010 at 6:44 AM #

    Have a fantastic time Zoe! Thanks for the comments you’ve left me over the past few months. All is well thanks, and I had a little boy called Bertie back in January. I’m starting to get into the blogging thing again, so it’s nice to be back. I’ve still been following yours daily! Look forward to hearing about the trip. Kerry xxx

  20. dysmorphia 10/04/2010 at 11:44 PM #

    Holidays are a must and fantastic timing just after Easter – completely sidelining the kid’s holidays…sort of.

  21. Najwan 11/04/2010 at 12:54 AM #

    Ahhh I need a holiday! I hope you have lotsa fun! x

  22. Najwan 11/04/2010 at 12:55 AM #

    Ahhh I need a holiday! I hope you have lotsa fun!
    xx

  23. rebekah 11/04/2010 at 12:50 PM #

    if your going to vegas can you bring me back Bette Midler?

    i’m a terrible holiday-packer…but remember to always leave space for the holiday-shopping!

  24. Megan 12/04/2010 at 10:09 AM #

    I am late to comment so I realise you will already be well on your way but hope the trip is fantastic! Looking forward to seeing whether you come back a married woman.
    Meg x

  25. Lynne 12/04/2010 at 11:03 AM #

    Last night I had a dream about Vegas – inspired by your wedding post, I’m sure! Hope you had a great time, giveaway sounds great.

  26. JJ 12/04/2010 at 4:50 PM #

    Just stumbled across this lovely blog, and from a fellow Edinburgian as well. Plus my big dream is to go travelling across America so I will look forward to hearing your tips. Plus I can’t resist a giveaway! Happy travels.

  27. Ange 13/04/2010 at 4:29 AM #

    Oh this is such a good idea! Have a good trip!

    x Josie

  28. Mrs T 13/04/2010 at 4:53 AM #

    Mystery gift – count me in. Have a great time. Vegas = DO IT!!!

  29. Jennyff 13/04/2010 at 10:22 AM #

    Do have a great trip, love all the places you are visiting except Las Vegas. So don’t get married there unless you go the whole way and your intended dresses as Elvis.

  30. Lisa-Marie 13/04/2010 at 12:04 PM #

    Zoe, I hope it is tons of fun! you deserve a good fun trip. I hope if it feels right for you, you get married too! xxxxx

  31. nath 13/04/2010 at 9:01 PM #

    wow! what excitement! love the look of the neon graveyard. have a splendid time dear!

  32. Rhianne 14/04/2010 at 10:09 AM #

    wow, have a fantastic time, sounds like a great trip 🙂

  33. katie 15/04/2010 at 12:54 AM #

    have so much fun!! tell america i said hello and i miss it. cannot wait to see pictures!

  34. Jenny 19/04/2010 at 11:17 AM #

    Hope you both are having fun. You can tell Neil the building has not fallen down yet…. We are just starting our Route 66 holiday planning. Hope it’s a lovely as it seems in all the engagment shoot I have seen from South Cali!!

  35. SaRaH 20/04/2010 at 3:46 PM #

    olala you’re certainly still there, because of the volvanic activity… I should be there too, but our flight has been delay to saturday. So we wait. Hope you had fun anyway.

  36. Conversation Pieces 28/04/2010 at 6:32 PM #

    ForDGRedial – love the Marys bracelet! my friend and I used to do something similar – buy each other the tackiest thing we could find! not sure it meets either of our design ideals nowadays 😉

    Lucy – that would be a bad ending! ours is usually trying to keep the cats out of the suitcases… so my fear is that we arrive somewhere with one of them stowed away!!

    anna and the ring – planned being eaten by a bear wouldn’t be cool – agreed!

    kerry – double/triple yay! have missing your blogging… and congratulations on bertie!! fab name 🙂

    rebekah – afraid I didn’t steal Bette Milder for you – think she was a mite big for my suitcase!

    katie – america says hello back and that it misses you too! (or at least an american that I read your comment out to did!)

    jenny – need to hear more about your route 66 holiday!

    sarah – actually we weren’t stuck. all the flights were cancelled until the friday and we were due to fly back on the saturday… so we didn’t get any extra days. is it wrong that I’m slightly disappointed by that?!

Leave a little love...

